We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roof Top Guest House Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Roof Top Guest House Melaka to your Saves list
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
39, Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 184 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oelsnitz
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best places I ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place is amazing. The Dorm is great...four beds, no bunks. The private rooms are great as well. As far as I am aware they all have AC. The only small downside for me was, that one of the rooms I stayed in didn't have a window...but saying that, it's just me prefering a room with a window.
Everything is amazingly clean. There is a comfy common area downstairs and a GREEN rooftop. You can feel that the owners, especially the landlady set it up with love.
Breakfast is not included but saying that, the best breakfast I ever had was there...the owner bakes breads and cakes every night and they are delicious! There are also fruits on the table every day. She is so lovely!
Coffee&tea are available all day long.
I stayed 3 nights.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms without a window...ask ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    51
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
110
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osnabruck, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This has to be by far the best Guesthouse around, the best one I stayed in so far for sure.

Drinks and some Information on Melaka as a welcome, freshly baked Cakes and Bread in the Morning aswell as Fruits, Raymond and Mani just make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: The 4share "Dorm" for 25$ is the best Value for Money I came across in the Year ive been a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

But this is actually the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Warm welcome with a drink, a map, and a sit down with either Mani or Raymond who will recommend places to see and eat and introduce you to the city; 4 bed dorm with some great folk; daily morning treats baked by Mani (lemon meringue and English muffins one morning, carrot cake and fruit bread the next!!); a roof top area to relax in; and this is the first place I've ever stayed in that has a sink set aside especially for washing clothes, along with a clothes drying area on the roof! Melaka itself is lovely, but this place made it special. Thanks Mani and Raymond!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place made Melaka for us. The perfect place to relax. A great mix of options for all budgets and tastes. We had a standard double for 3 nights, clean, spacious and brand new aircon! The shared bathrooms are good with hot showers and a great garden bathroom on the topfloor terrace.Then an en suite for 2 nights great room with a great, modern bathroom. The kitchen downstairs allows for some basic self cooking. If your lucky some food maybe provided in the form of bread, cake and fruit but only if the hosts have the time. The lounge has a tv and good dvd selection for rainy nihts in. The hosts are both lovely people and always happy to help. This is a must visit homestay style guesthouse that deserves its back to back trip advisor awards!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Your greeted by Raymond , who takes the time to welcome you to not only the guest house, but also Melaka .
The map and information he provided made our stay in this charming historical place memorable .
And the home made cakes provided put icing on the cake!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We been here for 2 nights and we have no regret to stay here. I wish all the guesthouses were like these!

As mentioned in other reviews, it is very popular, so book in advance! We had gladly the last room.

Assets: cakes, guesthouse owners, location, roofterrance, gardenshower!, good bed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Like a home away from home, with plenty of communal spaces, we loved staying at Roof Top Guest House. Mani, the owner, bakes cakes every day and you can eat them, plus free fruit, drinking water, tea and coffee whenever you like. It was great to be able to eat something after getting up in the morning, but without having to wake up early for a fixed-time breakfast.

Our room, on the top floor with ensuite bathroom and air-con was comfortable, though we suffered a bit from the noise of people talking loudly on the roof terrace late at night.

The location was excellent, away from the smells of the river but within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to visit, and the card access system made the hostel feel secure.

Room Tip: The ensuite room on the top floor is nice, but noise from the roof terrace is clearly audible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roof Top Guest House Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof Top Guest House Melaka

Address: 39, Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Roof Top Guest House Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roof Top Guest House Melaka Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roof Top Guest House Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.