We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roof Top Guest House Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Roof Top Guest House Melaka to your Saves list
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
39, Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 184 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Really friendly, helpful owners who provided us with a city-map and many useful information and who we could ask anything anytime. The guesthouse is super clean and safe, beds are compfy, rooms have a/c, the roof top is a nice place to hang out, as are kitchen and TV-room. Good WiFi. And the most awesome: Mani is baking heavenly cakes and cookies every day. Eat one peace with a cup of coffee (tee and coffee for free) and you don't want to leave ever again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    51
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
110
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mae Hong Son, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Really loved this place.. Very cosy home away from home!!! Clean comfortable air con rooms... very comfy beds and was so nice to be given an actual duvet a change from the usual thin blankets you usually get!! We stayed in the dorm room, double room and twin room all lovely clean rooms!! Also has a couch and tv downstairs with a wide range of dvds!!
All staff are so friendly the cleaning lady is so sweet and especially Raymond and Mani the two owners are so friendly and welcoming! Mani bakes the best cookies and chocolate cake :) you're in for a treat :) book in advance as this places gets pretty booked up! Also I must note it says online that breakfast is not included but throughout our entire stay bread jam tea coffee and mani's cakes were supplied daily!!

Really nice place to stay!!! :) Highly recommended!! :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australien
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Arriving in Melaka I stayed here for one night only.
I was greeted with a welcome drink (wow, awesome gesture!) and have been handed a map and provided with information about Melaka.

I stayed in the single room, which was a bit plain but ok. It was clean and had aircon - much appreciated! I slept very well that night, because the house was very quiet.

The whole house has a "barefeet policy", but is absolutely spotless (including bathrooms). It's made to make you feel very homely with the nice decorations and flowers on the roof top!
Plus: Free Wifi, loved it!

I found it a little bit strange that it was soooo quiet. Nobody in the living room or at the reception all the time. But it did not bother me.

The owners were very friendly. I can only recommend staying here. I just left because I was on a tight budget and managed to get something cheaper nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanah Rata, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It is wonderful thing when you just stumble across a place that has everything, clean, quiet, great owners, Mani and Raymond make you feel at home.
Mani cooks the most wonderful cakes and fresh fruit is available when you like.
Showers and rooms are wonderful, as is the rooftop garden.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street maybe a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I rate this place as average because, to be honest, I expected a place that would be far better based on the rave reviews here.

I had a single room that I stayed in for two nights and it was basic but clean and very quiet, despite it being next to reception/near the front. The problem with this room was that it was pretty much the furthest from any bathroom and slightly inconvenient as I needed to walk past guests/reception to and from the bathroom.

There wasn't anything special in the room to make it feel cosy (no wardrobe or TV), though there was a desk and aircon/a fan.

The location is excellent, and very close to everything that Melaka has to offer.

Although I had a reasonably pleasant stay (and the staff is friendly), I did expect this place to be absolutely amazing as it's listed as number one on TripAdvisor in its category. I have stayed in hostels around the world, and this wasn't any better than some of them.

Not a bad option, but I'd say for slightly more money, you would be able to get better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

After a month travelling, nobody has welcomed us like Mani did. Everything was planned to make our stay easy: a useful map full of delicious restaurants and services we needed, the city tours we could do according to the lenght of our stay and all the information we asked for. They were always willing to help and with a smile in their faces.

Plus, rooms are big, clean, comfy, and with air conditioning. Shower at the roof top is something I miss in the morning.

We weren't looking for party, but for rest and good food. The city and the accommodation fulfilled our expectations and more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Checked in after midnight. Greeted by the friendly owner. Simple check in process done in less than 5 minutes. Payment for room rate paid in cash. My single room is RM55 for bath room sharing and my friend's double room with bath room attached is RM75. Both rooms with air condition and ceiling fan too. Friendly owner gave simple introduction to the place and brief tour to the kitchen area and mentioned about free flow food for anything placed on the dining table.

Located roughly 5-10 minutes walking distance from the famous Jonker walk and few more attraction places and less than 50 meters from Melaka river. Lot of parking places infront of the guesthouse.

Very quiet and clean place, worth to be considered as 'home sweet home'. Most interesting, the roof top open shower and rest area. Reasonable room space with double beds. Nice decoration for walkway and guest area.

Worth the value and definately will visit this place again next time. Thanks to Mani & Raymond (based to the name card on the reception table)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roof Top Guest House Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof Top Guest House Melaka

Address: 39, Jalan Kampong Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Roof Top Guest House Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roof Top Guest House Melaka Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roof Top Guest House Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.