We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travellers Planet Hostel

Save Saved
You added Travellers Planet Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers Planet Hostel
1-19, Jalan PM3, Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
kuala lumpur
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Spend my weekend in melaka town with my family and staying in this place as we just want to stay in budget place.pay rm85 per nite in room with ac and private bath.we got a big room and quite happy with it.the place is very central to most of the interesting place that we want to visit and there is even a nite market which is just few steps from this hotel.we really happy with our choice to stay in this place as the manager george is very friendly and very2 informative thats make our trip so easy same goes to the other staff ana and nash who had treat us like family and even the owner is very humble and professional when we had a few conversation with him on our finsl nite there.overall the place is very clean and the environment is superb as guest from all around the world meet in this fabulous place that had fabulous people who work here.i will definitely recommend this place to everyone and sure me myself I will comeback whenever I in melaka..keep it always like this guy and thank for having me here

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    42
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
56
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Great staff, spotless rooms,(ours had air con with private bathroom for only RM55 per night!), superb communal area with countless dvds. Cards/Jenga also here and the beer is as cheap as the supermarket! Walking distance to Jonker Street (Friday, Saturday, Sunday),5 minutes and to the malls also! Anna Speaks great English and is a very welcoming host! You will not be disappointed for such a high level at such a low price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Room and toilet was cleaner than expected! The room was pretty spacious. It was a comfortable 2 nights stay for the price we paid. The owner there spoke fluent English and was really welcoming and friendly. The hostel is also within walking distance to the malls and Jonker Street. Overall, a good location!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I found this place after walking out of another. The room was bright and sunny with a window that opened out into the street. The bed was comfortable and the fan worked well.The shared shower had lots of hot water and was clean most of the time. Anna, the assistant manager, had good English and a warm personality. The only downside was that the kitchen was a bit small and personally I felt the place was lacking in ambiance when Melaka has such a vibrant historical culture. The location is a bit of a hike to Chinatown, but it is close to the museums. I would have liked to have seen more information on local transportation and things to do both inside and outside of the city. For a hostel it is lacking in information for backpackers. Regardless, I felt safe and it was a great place to rest!

Room Tip: Upstairs better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I would stay here again. Anna and her daughter are such sweet hearts and I also met some great guests while here. The communal area is cozy and the room was spacious. The only down side was the breakfast that is included was only basic bread and jam as well as tea and coffee. Also it was an additional fee for sheets and towel, which I believe should be included. The fee is so low that is seems silly to argue it, but it should be a standard inclusive and just add a dolour to the room charge.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Really friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, as much toast, tea and coffee as you want for breakfast (and there is now a toaster, sugar, creamer, butter, jam etc) lovely airy, light common room and great location. Not 5 star but exceeds expectations for the price!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

As soon as we got off the bus at Melaka Sentral, George approached us and gave us some info on Travellers Planet. he wasn't forceful, just helpful and friendly. we liked him and so went to the hostel. Travellers Planet is very clean, very relaxed, has fairly comfortable beds and nice big windows in the rooms, and is very reasonably priced. but in our experience, the staff make it special. ana is lovely and a great cook, nash is funny and helpful, and george is very funny and informative. they are all warm and welcoming. we loved travellers planet, and for cheap and clean accommodation, its as good as any hostel we've been to in malaysia. highly recommended! Cheers Travellers Planet, we'll be back! - Seb and D'Arcy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travellers Planet Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Planet Hostel

Address: 1-19, Jalan PM3, Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers Planet Hostel, Malacca is a modernize architecture building painted with striking orange outlook. Featuring 13 various budget rooms to standard deluxe rooms. When it comes to accommodation, we really meant business to cater for all. Located in the heart of Melaka (Malacca), city of UNESCO historical site. We are just minutes away from all tourist spot such as the Jonker Walk (Chinatown), Fort A'Farmosa, St. Paul's Church, The Dutch Square (Stadhuys) and even all the famous museum. This is the latest and newest backpackers travelers hostel in town. Friendly environment and fairly cheap price for rooms. Rooms availability from Single/Double/Triple Fan / A/C / Attached Bathroom. The best part is the atmosphere here is so laid back and fun, plus the great locality which is near to all sightseeing sites, but not on the main road. So the place is peacefully quiet at all times. Unless the socializing travelers are having a great fun... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers Planet Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Planet Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travellers Planet Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.