We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid disappointment, go here first!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travellers Planet Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Travellers Planet Hostel to your Saves list
Travellers Planet Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   1-19, Jalan PM3, Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Haverhill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid disappointment, go here first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great staff, spotless rooms,(ours had air con with private bathroom for only RM55 per night!), superb communal area with countless dvds. Cards/Jenga also here and the beer is as cheap as the supermarket! Walking distance to Jonker Street (Friday, Saturday, Sunday),5 minutes and to the malls also! Anna Speaks great English and is a very welcoming host! You will not be disappointed for such a high level at such a low price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    51
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
63
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Room and toilet was cleaner than expected! The room was pretty spacious. It was a comfortable 2 nights stay for the price we paid. The owner there spoke fluent English and was really welcoming and friendly. The hostel is also within walking distance to the malls and Jonker Street. Overall, a good location!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I found this place after walking out of another. The room was bright and sunny with a window that opened out into the street. The bed was comfortable and the fan worked well.The shared shower had lots of hot water and was clean most of the time. Anna, the assistant manager, had good English and a warm personality. The only downside was that the kitchen was a bit small and personally I felt the place was lacking in ambiance when Melaka has such a vibrant historical culture. The location is a bit of a hike to Chinatown, but it is close to the museums. I would have liked to have seen more information on local transportation and things to do both inside and outside of the city. For a hostel it is lacking in information for backpackers. Regardless, I felt safe and it was a great place to rest!

Room Tip: Upstairs better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

I would stay here again. Anna and her daughter are such sweet hearts and I also met some great guests while here. The communal area is cozy and the room was spacious. The only down side was the breakfast that is included was only basic bread and jam as well as tea and coffee. Also it was an additional fee for sheets and towel, which I believe should be included. The fee is so low that is seems silly to argue it, but it should be a standard inclusive and just add a dolour to the room charge.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Really friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, as much toast, tea and coffee as you want for breakfast (and there is now a toaster, sugar, creamer, butter, jam etc) lovely airy, light common room and great location. Not 5 star but exceeds expectations for the price!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

As soon as we got off the bus at Melaka Sentral, George approached us and gave us some info on Travellers Planet. he wasn't forceful, just helpful and friendly. we liked him and so went to the hostel. Travellers Planet is very clean, very relaxed, has fairly comfortable beds and nice big windows in the rooms, and is very reasonably priced. but in our experience, the staff make it special. ana is lovely and a great cook, nash is funny and helpful, and george is very funny and informative. they are all warm and welcoming. we loved travellers planet, and for cheap and clean accommodation, its as good as any hostel we've been to in malaysia. highly recommended! Cheers Travellers Planet, we'll be back! - Seb and D'Arcy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We also were told of this place by meeting someone at the Bus Station when we arrived in Melaka. He gave us a map, told us the pricing so it was an easy option considering we hadn't booked anything ahead. Not luxury, but for NZ $11 per night perfect. Very clean, great staff, free toast for brekky, kitchen available for use at all times, can get laundry done, common room, tea & coffee, great location, friendly, helpful staff, fantastic location. That said, room very small, had fan but still really hot, occasional smell from drains from street, quite noisy, bed broke so ended up on mattress on the floor and low water pressure for showers. Overall good value for cost, and biggie for me was cleanliness.

Room Tip: If you're not getting air conditioning be prepared for hot nights - sleep with a small wet towel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#3 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#20 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Planet Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Planet Hostel

Address: 1-19, Jalan PM3, Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travellers Planet Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers Planet Hostel, Malacca is a modernize architecture building painted with striking orange outlook. Featuring 13 various budget rooms to standard deluxe rooms. When it comes to accommodation, we really meant business to cater for all. Located in the heart of Melaka (Malacca), city of UNESCO historical site. We are just minutes away from all tourist spot such as the Jonker Walk (Chinatown), Fort A'Farmosa, St. Paul's Church, The Dutch Square (Stadhuys) and even all the famous museum. This is the latest and newest backpackers travelers hostel in town. Friendly environment and fairly cheap price for rooms. Rooms availability from Single/Double/Triple Fan / A/C / Attached Bathroom. The best part is the atmosphere here is so laid back and fun, plus the great locality which is near to all sightseeing sites, but not on the main road. So the place is peacefully quiet at all times. Unless the socializing travelers are having a great fun... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Travellers Planet Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Planet Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travellers Planet Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.