We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Armada Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added L'Armada Guesthouse to your Saves list
L'Armada Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   No36-A,38-A, 36-B & 38-B Jalan Kampung Hulu, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great location and nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stay at L Armada Guest House for 3night. Location is near Night Market, great location. Staff is friendly. We discuss and wathching television together every night. Recomended place... about rate, this guest house is cheap

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
11
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

there is a lot of mosquito get in from the window, because it's really hot there , so we decided to open the window the allow the wind blow in, no air-con for 3 bed room ( i asked for extra bed, they didn't ask me to pay anything)

it's really quiet at this location, difficult to find the restaurant to eat, and we have to walk like 10-20 minutes to Jonker street ( Jonker street will be crowded during weekend )

We had a bad experience to this hotel, at that time, very early in the morning, while we wait until 8 o'clock to go to Melaka Sentral ( Melaka Bus station ) we decided to go out and find sth to eat, before we get off from the hotel , I went to wake the staff up and remind him to call the driver for us.
When we got back , the door was locked automatically, we don't have key card , we tried to use the link phone in front of the door, but nobody replied . we wait like 30 minutes then somebody came out then we could get in. they told me, the staff was sleeping !!! and he was also a driver for us, he should drop us for free for his penalty that we were late to the bus station, no time enough to use the toilet but he still asked us for dropping fee (3USD)
so make sure that the staff give you a key card before you go out from the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The rooms seriously need ventilation. If you're the type to hang your socks and clothes around the room, you might have a problem with the odor. During the day the room it's so hot and dense to the point of difficulty in breathing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

26/4/13 this a first time me at Malaka i went alone and stayed here only 1 night (26/4/13) it was amazing i loved it in the morning on 26/4/13 i had went to KL .i had wonderful time and very happy enjoyable stayed there .all people here make me happy and help full i promise i come back again as soon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

there is a french expression to say : do not rely apparances....that's mean when you enter this place its' look cheap but believe me after the first night you will love it ! rooms and shower are realy clean, staff realy helpfull , i like the tv and the nice choice of dvd for a big rainy day.. there is also free coffee and tea and we easily feel like at home..i would come back..the only negative point is peoples smoking in common room and the swimmng poll is far away from the hostel...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

L'armada Guesthouse was definitely a great value. I stayed here for one night in a single room. The bathroom was kept very clean, and the sheets on the bed appeared to have been washed. The location is also excellent, as Chinatown and the old city were very close by. If you are looking for cheap, no frills accommodation in Melaka, then I definitely encourage you to stay at L'armada guesthouse.

Room Tip: You can hear the Imam make the call to prayer as a mosque is just across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

rooms are small, very small. no air conditioner. in this part of the world, if you are coming from Europe or America, you must have an aircon. Noisy place. One can easily hear all the cars passing by the guesthouse. Lizards are in the rooms; you sleep, then open your eyes and you can easily spot them. Mosquitoes are everywhere; the comfort level of the hotel, even for a well-tarveled person, is not good at all. To enter the guesthouse you need to go up the stairs 4 floors. I am totally fine with going up there but going up the stairs with no lift gives you a strange and uncomfy feeling. The only positive sides about this guesthouse are (1) location and (2) the host.
Location is close to sightseeings, the host was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Armada Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Armada Guesthouse

Address: No36-A,38-A, 36-B & 38-B Jalan Kampung Hulu, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — L'Armada Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to l'Armada guesthouse….We are conveniently located; for starters your trip from Melaka Sentral will take about 15 minutes (see map and direction). We are a new guesthouse in Chinatown. Just a 4 minute walk will bring you to the heart of it all. We will help you explore wonderful cuisines at great prices. As you walk through the city the architecture and history blend together in such a unique enjoyable way. After a full day of sightseeing and picture taking you will look forward to our serene and quiet place on the Malacca river. Features:- Massive 14m x 6m (52ft x19 ft) common area allows multiple activities with space- Free internet without time limit- Free wifi- Smoke free inside, smoking on "balconies" and on roof- Bicycles for rent- Usual guesthouse freebies and facilities. WE ACCEPT GROUP BOOKING (MAX 37 PEOPLE). Additional Information: COMFORTABLE, ALWAYS CLEAN AND CHEAP. We provide :- 12 beds in Dormitory (carpeted) with windows- 6 rooms for Twin (with/without windows) laminate flooring- 9 rooms for Double (with/without windows) laminate flooring- 4 common bathrooms tile with shower- spacious common area (carpeted), airy with river view- free internet service and Wi Fi- make yourself at home, free coffee/tea, hot/cold drinking water- smoke free; smokers don't worry....u can smoke at the balcony with wonderful riverview- Friendly atmosphere; we like people- we provide laundry services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your L'Armada Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Armada Guesthouse Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Armada Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.