We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great new place ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donald and Lily's

Donald and Lily's
No 16 (Ground Floor) , Jalan KSB 1 | Taman Kota Shahbandar, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 366 Restaurants in Melaka
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Nonya
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food and great new place ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Now located at Kota Laksamana in Malacca, the new shop is larger and had a lot more parking.

Food is great as always and the blue rice with chicken rendang was good. The cendol was mind blowing, a lot better than the ones you get at Jonker Walk.

Definitely worth a visit even if you are here for a short time in Malacca.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    29
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent and authentic Malacca Nonya food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

New location is excellent with heaps of parking. Best of all the food and family service is excellent! We had Nonya Laksa, Nasi Lemak, cendol and rojak as a family of five. Highly recommended for those who enjoy authentic Malacca Nonya food dishes with a difference. Would definitely re-visit this again when we are next in Malacca.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Good location, easy to find. Nice laksa and nasi lemak. The restaurant having limited seat and we queue up at least 5 minutes for a table, but it worth!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious Laksa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We passed this place at about 3pm and decided to try the Nonya laksa and it was 'lemak', spicy and delicious. For RM$5 per bowl it was good for value. We ordered cendol and found it to be a bit too sweet for our liking. We went back the next day about the same time but they were sold out, thus no chance to try other dishes. Perhaps the next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Less is More Part 106 - Losing her Charm, Taste & Authenticity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We've been to the previous (original) outlet behind Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock numerous times and had always appreciated the casual home-style approach there - the curious entry through the ramshackle back door, up the rickety timber staircase, into colourful rear extension from the original family kitchen. It was a little messy, old, cramped, noisy, family-runned in many respects but all that contributed to the real experience of being in Heritage Malacca. That was THE POINT - GET IT?!

This is very sadly NO MORE. Having relocated into a new nondescript modern shop lot several kilometres away in a ugly, spartan, cold, urban development, the soul of the original has been completely swept away by relentless commercialisation in pursuit of the mighty ringgit. My local source informed me that it was difficult to resist the millions being offered for the original family property.

Arriving on a public holiday clearly meant that most of the camera-toting customers were from out of town. Weak attempts were made to reference the new to the old with nostalgic framed pictures scattered on the walls. To strategically handle the bigger premises and even larger crowds, foreign workers have been brought in. On busy days such as these, the menu is expediently limited to several 'favourites'. (I suppose they just want to get as many customers in and out as quickly as possible.) The must-eat Nyonya Laksa is absent and so are the Kueh Pie-tees (Top Hats). We ordered the Chicken Pongteh & Ayam Rendang rice sets, Mee Rebus, Mee Siam, Rojak & Cendol. There was nothing much of anything else to try for our party of 8. Service is spotty with some of the orders going AWOL (language problems, I guess). The taste is still fairly decent but the home cooked flavours are fast disappearing (at least psychologically). Prices have not spiked up much in spite of the business going big time - a drawing point. While most tourists seemed to be satisfied by checking this off their culinary bucket list, at least one other tourist will now be in search of something offering more authenticity than this.

(PS: I "CAN'T WAIT" for the final straw when the original Donald & Lily are retired and this turns into another corporate franchise outlet)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donald and Lily's also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Donald and Lily's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donald and Lily's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.