We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, service & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Rio Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa del Rio Melaka to your Saves list
Casa del Rio Melaka
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Amor el Rio
Ranked #3 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
asia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, service & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent only 1 night last weekend at this hotel on a short getaway from Singapore with our elderly parents. We booked reluctantly because most of the boutique hotels were not available.

The hotel, service staff, and amenities were beyond our expectations.

The staff showed great professionalism and were extremely helpful. There were little touches that made a difference such as escorting us to their library (fully airconditioned with coffee & tea) while we waited for our rooms to be ready, and cleaning our car windscreens prior to our departure.

We chose river facing rooms. They were spacious, tastefully decorated, and equipped with all necessary amenities. One drawback for us was the steps between the entrance/bathroom and the bedroom - something to take note of if you're with the elderly/disabled.

Location wise, the hotel is along the river (across from the terminal where the river boat cruise is) and 3 mins away from Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock and Jonker Gallery (night market).

We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear dhilaws

Greetings from Casa del Rio Melaka,

It's wonderful to read that your expectations were exceeded, although your stay was short we are happy to know that you enjoyed your visit.

Hope to welcome you back again someday.

Best Regards

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager Casa del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    191
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
188
223
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had such a lovely time here!!

We were greeted by a fab reception and got given a lemon and ginger sorbet whilst checking in.

Room was very spacious and bathroom was huge. All was very clean and lovely view of courtyard.

Infinity pool on roof is an added bonus and they gave us complimentary watermelon. Nice touch!

Hotel is in central location!!

Only downside was that breakfast was not included in our price and that the complimentary wifi was slightly problematic but they sorted us out as soon as we asked!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear bristolbakedalaska,

Greetings from Casa del Rio Melaka,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are happy to see that you enjoyed the location, services and the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again someday soon.

Kind Regards

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager Casa del Rio Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My family of 4 ( 7year old twins) stayed here over the weekend for quick getaway. It was a nice, fuss-free holiday that we really needed. From the reservation call ( thank you Ms Wendy Wee), to the check in and check out, everything was near perfect. I love this hotel. Service was prompt and the room was wonderful. From the front desk, to the valet cum bell boy, to the turn down service and the service at the restaurents and bar, no complaints. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax but also discover Melaka. I will definately be coming back for more.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Sujatha B,

Warm Greetings from your home by the river.

Thank you for staying with us, we are delighted you and your twins enjoyed the hotel, I hope they enjoyed themselves at the rooftop pool, this is a great place to relax after a stroll around the heritage city.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager Casa del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here over a night last April 6 and it was the most relaxing moment of our vacation. They welcomed us with their specialty herb infusion sherbet and cold towels. We were able to get rooms by the river having tranquil aura and relaxing scent of herbs. The bathroom is very spacious you can have shower or use the bath tub with those aromatic soaps they offer. They have so much of very soft pillows which I would love to bring home too (just kidding). I like the infinity pool a lot and the receptionist/lifeguard was very entertaining. He gave us refreshments and his very nice work of fruit carvings. We even did not ask for it. I love the herb aroma of the toiletries. We bought a set of it to bring back home. The staff are very warm and good English speakers. The location of the hotel is indeed perfect and very accessible to wonderful sites of Malacca. The library is very cozy and helpful. Breakfast is excellent offering the best harvests of Malaysia. I would prefer to stay here again. I am encouraging you also to experience it. I think it is also a perfect place for couples to spend their honeymoon here.

Room Tip: Get an accommodation by the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear jessamyn_genise

Greetings from your home by the river.

Thank you for staying with us on your visit to Malacca, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel overall, all our bathroom amenities are made from natural ingredients, this ensures that you have a friendly product to use, I am happy to know that your brought some home with you.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back someday.

Best regards

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager Casa del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Excellent hotel with a lovely ambience, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is great. The room overlooking the river was tastefully decorated and the beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in, lovely to sit on the balcony and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear ditzSydney

Greetings from Malacca,

Thank you for staying with us, we are happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel, hope you had a safe return to Sydney.

We look forward to welcome you back if your travels cross back to Malacca.

Kind Regards

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager
Casa del Rio Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

is the Casa del Rio! The rooms are Spanish decorated. The bathroom is large and the dressing room is attached. There is a wonderful view from the balcony on the river.
You find everything what makes a stay comfortable. From bathrobe to Mosquito Spray, Coffee
maker, tea, water complementary.
The breakfast is excellent. Half Buffet and half order. The best Chicken Rendang we ever had. The staff is outstanding nice and helpful.
Only the staff at the Front desk need some more training.
In the evening is Happy Hours at the Bar with Live music. Beautiful view on the river.
The Infinity Pool on the roof is breath taking nice.
Location of the Hotel is fantastic. In five minutes walking distance you reach the boat for a River tour which is a must in Malacca and all the other attractions like Christ Church or Jonkers Street. Don't forget to walk at the side streets from Jonkers with all the
temples, nice, special shops and Boarding Houses.
Malacca is a wonderful town with many intresting places and very friendly people.

Room Tip: Rooms to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Susangermany

Greetings from Casa del Rio Malacca

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, and most of all had a good holiday in Malacca.

We hope to see you again sometime.

Kind Regards

Aarron Nelson
Hotel Manager Casa del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were a small group of three couples – my wife and I and another couple had stayed here before and loved it, which is why we returned with our friends. I arranged for the hotel transport from KLIA to Melaka, because I had been left down by local KL transport the last time. The vehicle and driver were waiting for us as we exited the arrival hall. All the staff that we spoke to were helpful and friendly. We asked for suggestions for eating out one evening and we were directed to a Pakistani restaurant where we sat in the car park, because the restaurant was packed inside. An interesting experience, but a very pleasant one, because the food was great.
Casa del Mar rooms are large, with plenty of storage space to unpack and spread out. Our room overlooking the central lago pool and had a large balcony with table and chairs. Breakfast was a mix of buffet and al a carte – the hot food being al a carte, which was a nice touch. One could sit in the air-conditioned dining room or on the outside balcony area overlooking the Melaka River – this was our choice. This is a very comfortable hotel with a private library, card key access only, with a large selection of books that can be borrowed. The temperature of the horizon pool on the roof was just right, and you have the ability to swim up to the poolside bar if you want a drink. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Melaka.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Nels0n, Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Ellenga,

Greetings from Casa del Rio Melaka

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again with your friends, we are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and had interesting experiences around the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon and look forward to welcome you home soon.

Warm Regards

Aarron
Hotel Manager Casa del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Address: 88 Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#3 Family Hotel in Melaka
#3 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka is part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minutes walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches.Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Rio Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.