We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Rio Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Casa del Rio Melaka to your Saves list
Casa del Rio Melaka
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A wonderful hotel/resort in the heart of the historic centre of Melaka. We stayed here from 19-21 March 2013. Staff were friendly and helpful, from check-in to check-out. They remember us, were always to happy to provide any further assistance, even leaving a small teddy bear in the room for our baby. The quality of the hotel was truly five stars, with the room décor being of high quality and stylish and a decent size. We stayed in a king river view room with a lovely balcony, very enjoyable to watch the river come to life at night. The public areas of the resort were spacious and tasteful, with the restaurant, bar and pool all a lovely place to use. I would stay here again and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    199
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
196
233
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked 2 lago rooms on the first weekend of April. We arrived at 2pm and they were waiting for our arrival.

General location:
Hotel is located on Jonker. Kind of a good location. Many shops, stores, stall around to seek gifts and foods.

Checking in:
While waiting for check-in they serve us with some welcome treat. The choice of treat was not sure ok or not if one is having sore throat. Anyway we waited about 15 minutes before they give us our room cards. They escort us to our rooms on level two. They even showed us the facilities inside the room.

About the room:
Room size and layout is ok. Décor and choice of materials is ok. 40” LCD TV and a small hi-fi set. The toilet is pretty well layout with large tub, large separate shower. But somehow the toilet is too big and making the bed room space seems smaller. Yes they have a balcony overlooking the large pond on the ground floor. One thing for sure; they have many plug points (power outlet) and you can even charge your laptop or mobile phone while keeping them in the safebox/bunker; interesting! Not so sure why they used central switch to control most lighting in the room. I believed most modern hotel allows each light in the room to be control/turn on/off individually.

Facilities around:
Ample parking in the basement. However they need to put up clear sign to the car park. Swimming pool on the 3rd floor facing the river/sea is kind of kewl “infinity kind of setup”. They have a small shop selling some stuff at the lobby. Next to the shop is a small and private library. You can use the computer there and yes they have a free flow of coffee and tea. Lighting inside the library is poor and its seems bit dark.

Morning breakfast:
Morning breakfast in the hotel is nothing to shout about. The choice is educate and taste is ok. Mmmm.. Maybe I am already used on frequent visits at Concorde’s Premier Floor and Hard Rock’s Kings Floor.

Checking out:
Yes I know the checkout time is at 12PM. Nevertheless most hotels give additional 30-60 minutes. But this hotel; they had a group booking yet to check in on that day. None of the staff informed us that we need to be out from the room by 12. Man such a poor communication and incompetence front desk. You should train your staff to constantly inform the guest if you require them to be out.

Overall experience:
Frankly speaking, not sure I’m ever coming back again to this hotel in the future. Don’t feel a good welcome after such experienced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This lovely hotel offers rooms overlooking the courtyard lago (decorative pool) or the River Malacca.
Well, I'm a great one for observing life around me and the river view provided this. Apart from watching life across the river, you can watch the river trips making their way up and down the water full of happy tourists, the vuvuvela salesman demonstrating his 'musical' skills on the far shore and the colourful Trishaws blasting their intermittent Western music transporting people around the city. You are woken most mornings by the Muslim call to prayer and birdsong. What better.....then there is the ghostly 'blowing over the top of a milk bottle' sound of the rush hour traffic! Took us a couple of days to work out what that was! With all this and an early coffee on the balcony after a great shower and good night in comfortable beds in an attractive room, you are set up for the day to explore Malacca.
The rooms overlooking the Lago are, I think, quieter. The view is very attractive as all rooms have flower boxes which add great colour to the external walls of the three sided courtyard and are irrigated and well tended.
The choice is yours,
Staff are lovely, attentive and helpful. There were one or two small
issues with trainee staff ( placements, I believe) but we all have to learn our trade somewhere.
Food is pretty good. Breakfast isn't the best selection we've ever had, but more than adequate. Other meals look good, but we chose to eat out every night. Yum.
Do go and have a look at the view from the rooftop infinity pool, even if you don't want to swim in the invitingly warm water.
Enjoy

Room Tip: Room 13...big balcony, morning sun, cooler afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My hubby and I stayed here for 3 nights over the weekend. The hotel is in a strategic location and it's accessible to Jonker walk, thus we have no worries about parking when going to the weekend night market. There's no need to queue for check-in as the staff will lead you to a resting area where refreshments and towels are served while they took your passports for registration. After check-in, the staff will bring you to the room and explain the room facilities one by one. Onde-onde, a Peranakan delicacy is already served in the room as a welcome dessert.

Room is long and spacious. When you stepped in, it's the walk-in wardrobe, followed by bathroom, then you walked 2 steps down to the bedroom and there's a private balcony. The bathroom is spacious and the bath tub is big. The amenities are quite complete in stone-feel containers. The rain shower is powerful. Their bath towels are huge and are so far, the biggest that I had ever used in hotels before. Bed is comfortable but pillows are a little too soft. There's turn-down service in the evening. Breakfast is nice, you can choose your main from the a-la-carte menu and enjoy the rest (bread, juices, rice, noodles, pancakes, cereals etc.) from the buffet spread. The infinity pool is great where you can enjoy different views. There's also a nice gesture of the hotel where they helped you clean your car front wind screen (saw a little note when we collect the car at the car park). Overall, it's a great stay that we fell in love with the hotel and we will be going back in May.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We chose this hotel carefully having stayed at other chain hotels before, however the Casa del Rio is the place, we did an inspection of the majestic and the reviewers are correct its in a terrible location and is misrepresented, this is why the casa is the best:
The location - its a resort, lots of space, beautiful public areas and facilities to enjoy, walking distance to all of the main Melaka attractions, near the river to enjoy the boats and the people - make sure you do the 45 min river cruise its great at 9pm the lights are amazing and book through reception for the best service for pick up and drop off
Location is important in melaka because it is so very hot all the time
The rooftop pool is stunning - every time we swam we had the pool to ourselves it has a great bar up there also and everything you need to enjoy from a five star property
Also the spa is a must do- the therapists were experienced and knowledgable I wish we had of had more time to have more treatments - wonderful
The breakfast was terrific - all of the breads on the buffet are made in house - the chefs are attentive checking things all the time , the staff go out of the way to be friendly and flexible
there was plenty of choices we are fussy breakfast eaters and could not complain, the restaurant itself is huge with water views seating inside and out - what more could you ask for ?
from check in to check out we really enjoed this property its the whole package - luxury accomodation the rooms have everything you need and the library is a great spot to cool down and relax
If I was to provide some feedback that the hotel could learn from is that there should be more flexbility with the shuttle bus service- it only does 2 runs a day to the shopping centre but we would have liked the option of being taken to the bus station which is close by, the staff at reception are all young and seem to like leadership and experience whilst being friendly and trying hard,
there is not any tourist info available except for a small map on check in and its an area with so much to do and see you do not realise what your options are
It was our anniversary and we were left a card from the GM however felt that the hotel could have extended themselves a little further than this for our 20th anniversary special stay
The turndown service also could do a little more- they leave full bins of rubbish do not replace towels and acknowledge only one occupant of the room
Happy hour should extend to cocktails - not everyone likes beer
The restaurant for dinner we tried twice the food was fantastic - try the tom yum and crab rice , the salads were amazing and the prawns
we will be back next trip to melaka and stay at the casa del rio

Room Tip: we chose the river king room with a large balcony - TERRIFIC views and great with the lights at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days over Good Friday weekend and least we expected, the customer service was top notch and full of personal touches. Upon arrival, we were served little ce cool desert, but at one corner of the tray, they wrote "Welcome home, Mr XXX ", which was my husband's name. That really surprised us. When we arrive, there were one small bowl of Ondeh Ondeh (a traditional Nyonya desert) on the TV table for us as well. That's not all, every morning, they will take the effort to clean my husband's car's windscreen. The check in was very fast.

We booked the river view room and the view of Melaka was awesome. You can stay by the balcony to read a book while watching the river flows, and the world opposite bank goes buy, all day. Of course, you could also opt to read at their Library which is located at the groundfloor, where they have complementary coffee. The SPA located at Level 3 was good and relaxing. The pool was awesome, and they even have pool side meal service.

In terms of location, Jonker Street is just a stone throw away, and you are always within walking distance from the famous with long queuing food stalls and restaurants such as Nancy's Kitchen, Hoe Kee Chicken Rice etc. Makota, a shopping mall is also 10 minutes walk away.

In terms of breakfast buffet, the choices are limited, but if you are in Melaka, better save your stomach for the great foods along the food streets.

In all, the experience was wonderful and would definitely like to re-visit again the next time.

Room Tip: Do note wifi speed was only good enough for FB and Whatsapp, not for video streaming. If you have e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I've stayed with this hotel for many times. Overall experience were great! close to Jonker Walk and tourist attraction. Clean hotel and great amenities. You got to try the spa, it's just fantastic!

I don't think the breakfast is good, neither is the lunch and dinner. You can have better food in jonker walk.

My recently stayed was a total disaster. I made a online booking via the hotel's booking site 1month prior my arrival. I took up the package that come with a 60min massage. On my arrival date, the hotel told me that my booking didn't reached them and they are not able to give me the room i wanted. They offer me 2 options, downgrade to a cheaper room or upgrade to a better room (with additional cash top-up).

I was totally disappointed on how they handle the situation, given the fact that spa knows about my arrival date and the front desk said they dont have my booking information (trying to push the blame to the booking system). The duty manager failed to handle this in a professional manner, as compare to any hospitality establishment, they would have upgrade me without any additional cost.

My advices to any travellers....if you even book online, even if you received the confirmation ID, you still have to write them an email to verify your booking was received.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Address: 88 Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#3 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#3 Family Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka is part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minutes walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches.Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Rio Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.