We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant hotel with wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Rio Melaka

Save Saved
You added Casa del Rio Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa del Rio Melaka
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 142 hotels in Melaka
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A brilliant hotel with wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Other people have said a lot of good things about the great breakfast, beautifully view from the balcony, convenient location ( close to Jonker street and right at the waterfront) and large infinity pool.

However, it is the service and staff that make this hotel distinctive. It is our best accommodation experience during our stay in Malaysia. We stayed there for two nights from 10 Aug to 12 Aug. After a long drive from the Cameron Highlands, we checked in the hotel in the evening.
Being hot and tired, we were welcomed with a cool towel and a lime ginger sorbet. Of course, the traditional Malaysian dessert in the room was a delight.

The staff members are attentive and meticulous. The staff member called Naguid ( sorry , if I got the wrong spelling) discovered that there was a hole in one of the tyres of our car when he parked the car for us. He left us a note about that. It would have been a disaster if we found it out ourselves on the Highway the next day. He and his colleagues helped us to get a spare tyre and drove us to a nearby garage to get the tyre fixed. They even cleaned our car the next day before we left.

We were lucky to have stayed at hotel with such high quality service and people.

I would like to extend our big thank you to the hotel and the staff members. The accommodation experience at this hotel has made our holiday in Maleka a pleasant and unique one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    154
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
152
179
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel during my recent vacation to Melaka.
I can safely say they're one of the best in town in terms of personalised service and decor.

Location of the hotel is excellent - just beside Jonker Walk where all the buzz is during wkends.
It's within walking distances to major shopping centres.

Arrived the hotel in the early evening, was greeted by the staff who helped with our bags.
Served us with some cool lime slushed ice. That's a pretty nice thought.

Probably due to the time it didn't take very long for them to bring us to the room. The staff explained to us facilities of the hotel in great detail.

The room itself is excellent: wardrobe that connects to the bathroom and a good tub that allows you to relax in there while watching TV.

The amenities are sufficient. I find the shower gel and shampoo of good quality.
Small touches are made to the room to make the stay more pleasent:
there's electronic insect repellents indoors (and mosquito coil at balcony), a small serving of "onde onde" to introduce us to the culture of Melaka.
Great tea served in room - they even have a packet of milk provided!

They have a decent pool which provide good views.

Spa is excellent, it's located beside the pool - staff are very friendly.. Very personalised service that attended to our needs.

They provide windscreen cleaning service if you drive - they'll leave a little card to inform you about it. (That's a nice touch)

One area that certainly require improvement is their cafe.

Breakfast is served there and it's a mix a-la carte and buffet, something uncommon for Malaysia Hotels.
Quality of the food though would probably mediocre at best - having tried various things in the menu I found their western breakfast dishes pretty dire.
Local foodfare is much better.
In terms of waiters and waitresses, I found some of them are quite "raw" to the job- some of the staff doesn't look very confident talking to the customers. Probably some training will help.

Another area to take note will be housekeeping -
While most of the upkeep is done nicely, they'd pay more attention at the ceiling fan - I was taken aback when i see thick layers of dirt accumulated on the fan blades.

Overall I believe the hotel is heading the right direction -
While there're room for improvement, I find the whole experience pretty pleasing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Spent two nights at Casa Del Rio in august 2012. Overall, it's the best hotel experience we've had so far in our trip around Malaysia.
We arrived at the hotel after flying in from europe to singapore and driving straight to Melaka. So, we where exhausted and sweaty. Staff welcomed us with a greatly appreciated fresh drink while they went through paperwork, and from that moment will go out of their way to help you put in anything you need.
The hotel is in a perfect location, right next to Chinatown.
You can read all the wonderul things about the hotel in other reviews (all true!), I'll concentrate on a few minor bugs:
-The room (a studio king) was very nice, large, with a private balcony overlooking the river. I found only one shortcoming (that's why I give this hotel 4 points, not 5): the toilet is clean and new, but not properly isolated from the rest of the room.. You don't get much privacy.
(also, upon arrival there where a lot of mosquitos in the room. A/c and a complimentary ddt spray killed them off)
- Breakfast is ok, though if you want a proper english/us breakfast, you're going to have to pay extra.
- Drinks at the bar are very expensive, even for malaysian standards.
Wifi didn't work in our room.

Aside from this, we really loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Its my 2nd time visiting this hotel. Not only the room was clean and well maintain, the hotel has even surprise me with a complimentary car cleaning service. A note written " we have clean up your car so that you can have a safe ride home". Where else could you find this service? Well done Casa De Rio:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

From the time we walked in to the hotel right up to dinner the service was flawless....with attention to detail rather remarkable for a hotel in Malaysia. With the conciarge went out of his way to point out places to eat at for lunch, tea when we arrived. The hotel had also put in good thought to a walking guide and city sites that was handed out on arrival. Local delicacies with tea at the room vs chocolate. The attention to detail followed through with fantastic pool side service with towels, jugs of ice water infused with cucumber, carrot and orange and very attentive staff.

The only service that lead down the overall stay was the food and service in the only restaurant in the hotel. We were provided with a menu and had decided what to under when we were informed that the menu for Friday though to Sunday was a shorter menu that had none of our earlier choices. This was rather confusing as it appeared that over the weekend, when there is obviously a higher occupancy rate, the menu only covers standard items that were reminiscent of a mid range hotel. The waiters did check with the Chef if it was possible to have the options in the extended menu and there was no compromise. We were informed rather rudely that Chef was only prepared to serve items on the menu or the buffet. We chose the buffet and was thoroughly disappointed.

What a shame... seeing as this was a short overnight trip the food and the attitude of the restaurant staff marred the overall experience. We would have been better serve to have dinner at a restaurant in town.

Room Tip: Ask for advice based on your requirements when booking. We required a room that was quite with a gor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Casa del Rio Melaka, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your posting.

We regret you did not experience our usual full menu.

Over the month of Ramadhan there is a demand for a more traditional “breaking of fast” dining menu. During the weekdays, in this period, we offer a changing set selection of local dishes. It is only at the weekend that this is extended into a buffet and barbeque. Our A La Carte menu had, during this period, been reduced to about a third of what we do normally offer. This is due to the reduced demand for A la carte dishes.

Clearly we had not handled the explanation as well as we might have. I do apologise for the disappointment caused by the reduced menu as well as our failure to explain the reasons adequately. In addition I also apologise for any offence we may have caused in not being able to provide you with requests off the menu. Our kitchen, if not then, is now clear about their responsibilities to provide dishes in addition to the published menu if they are able to do so.

It is encouraging to note that you did otherwise enjoy the facilities and services of the hotel. I hope that the experience in the restaurant has not permanently dented your opinion of us and, understanding that our menu has now returned to its full selection, you will not be deterred from considering a return visit in the future.

Andrew Drummond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Went to Malacca for a quick getaway for 1 night. Arrived in the city just after lunch and headed back to Singapore the next day late afternoon.

The good:
- It's a stone's throw away from the historic landmarks. If you're planning to go sightseeing and visiting the historical bldgs and museums, this hotel is perfect. It's near to Jonker Street too so you don't have to worry on where to eat anytime of the day.

- Its a 5 star boutique hotel, Mediterranean/Peranakan inspired. The common area of the hotel doesn't really look 5 star. The toilet at the ground floor near the reception gave me an impression like I'm in some kind of scary movie.

BUT the room is fantastic. Love the design it will make you feel at home. The room is big, very comfortable bed, dressing room connected to the bathroom. The bathroom has a separate shower area and the bathtub is just lovely! There's this shutter window beside the bathroom so you can still watch TV while in the tub. And I especially liked the rubber duck! The towels are extremely huge even the bathrobe! :P There's the usual writing desk, a sitting area, TV and CD/DVD player. The furnishings live up to the theme. There's a cozy balcony too. It's a good place to just chat at night and enjoy the view. They even have this small container with 'onde onde' (the dessert) for you to try. Very nice touch.

- Their breakfast is a mix of ala carte and buffet. You can choose 1 item in the menu and then you can just help yourself in the buffet. The buffet was not a lot they serve local food. But the ala carte serving is big so it's not so bad. The nasi lemak was great!

- They have a library and a gift shop. Nothing much in the gift shop except if you're interested to buy the cute containers in the room. The library is quite cozy. There's 2 computers, a few pocket books, newspapers, boardgames and congkak/sungka! And some light snacks, tea and coffee. We played a few round of congkak while waiting for the river cruise people to pick us up.

- You'll have 15% off from Hard Rock Cafe if you present your Casa Del Rio room key.

- They have a rooftop infinity pool. We went there twice, one during the night. They were showing Casino Royale. They went to set-up a projector and a screen in the pool. It was quite cool. They served free light snacks (and it taste good too!) Of course expect hotel price drinks. It was a great night. The staff were friendly and attentive. I think they're the only staff who showed good service. And then we went to try the pool the next day before we checked out. It was a good swim. Although they should think about having a heated pool. Its on the 3rd floor so the wind will be blowing accompanied by the cold pool water (BBrrrrrrr).

The bad:
- Okay it's not really that bad but they have to improve on the service and their check-in process is just too slow! We had to wait 15mins or longer. Good thing the waiting area near the fountain/lago was quite cozy. No one helped us or even offered to assist us with our bags (even though they're just backpacks). It could've been nice if they offered. The greeting was not that warm too. It felt like their mandatory greet the guests when they arrive.
- The shower gel container. Yes I have to highlight it because it just doesn't come out from the small container! You have to scoop it out! And since the container's shape is odd and it's small, I virtually get nothing after the first scoop.

The ugly:
- Zero.

Room Tip: if you want to sleep early, try to request for a room away from bar rio. we stay on the other wing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is absolutely AMAZING. One of my favourite hotels now.

We drove there from KL and once our car stopped the staff took great care of our luggage and parked the car for us. We were told to have a seat in the pavilion by the pond while the check-in formalities were sorted out. Then towels and a welcome ginger sorbet were presented for us to freshen up a bit. The name under which the room was booked was even written on a big piece of banana leaf or something next to the sorbet, though in the way 'Welcome Home Joe Bloggs' rather than 'Welcome Home Mr Bloggs'. Well, who cares when they were so sweet?

Then we were escorted to our room by the receptionist and the room facilities were explained. A hifi set was there and you can plug in your iProduct. The tea/coffee corner was great - different tea pots in the cupboard and a carton of fresh milk in the fridge for free, especially to be served with tea or coffee. Say bye to coffee mate. Nice touch. Some coconut treats were there as welcome snacks again, but they were no longer seen after we changed from a double to twin room, before consuming the treats. I was quite upset but never mind.

Wonderful bathroom. The shampoo/shower gel were amazing - very fragrant and very relaxing and still carrying some ginger flavour. No brand was shown but I guess it may be Molton Brown, as the hand soap was MB.

Breakfast is a semi-buffet with an excellent international (British) and Malay selection. The tables outside facing the river were awesome. The waiter there was friendly and offered us a wide variety of teas and coffees to choose from, although he didn't offer to refill our cups. Insects were seen hovering around some food items, especially the fruits, but you cannot really avoid them when it's an open environment. And insects are everywhere in Malaysia. Overall the breakfast was a truly enjoyable and relaxing experience.

And I cannot miss the location - perfect. A three-minute walk to Jonker Street (the main street with loads of restaurants and hawkers at night) and the Dutch Square where the attractions were. You can't find another quality hotel with a comparable location in Melaka.

In short, everything was simply perfect. And the price is worth this level of personal service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa del Rio Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Rio Melaka

Address: 88 Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#3 Family Hotel in Melaka
#3 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa del Rio Melaka 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Rio, Melaka is part of The Boutique Collection by HPL Hotels & Resorts, is located on Jalan Kota Laksamana, Melaka, a literal 2 minutes walk away from the popular Jonkers Walk and heritage attractions. Keen observers will pick out the Arabic, Chinese and Dutch influences woven into the dominantly Mediterranean architecture. This boutique hotel, offering first class services, is already a striking addition to the historic skyline of the city. The hotel's 66 guest rooms and suites, each covering a minimum of 50 sq meters, uniquely feature dressing areas, bathrooms, split level bedrooms and private balconies as well as a number of unique personal touches.Aiming to provide an "at Home" atmosphere Casa del Rio is a sanctuary from the city's bustle, with spaces for indulgent reflective solitude or stimulating interactive conversation depending on the choice of the traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Casa del Rio Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Rio Melaka Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Rio Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.