We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“away from happening” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Hotel Malacca

Save Saved
You added Sunflower Hotel Malacca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 57, Jalan PJ1, Taman Pertam Jaya, Padang Temu, Melaka 75050, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Rawang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“away from happening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

this hotel situated far from the city(suitable with own transport).the guy manning the front office also not customer friendly (a bit rude and arrogant when he says take it or leave it ). they have 2 type 1) rooms 2) house accomodation which is clean and new.a good place to sleep only coz there is nothing around here.

Room Tip: there is nothing around here except few shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
2
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at the Sunflower House. The house was with spacious living hall, kitchen and rooms. But the bathrooms for Room 2 & 3 were a bit small. Great place for family with kids as the little friends can play and run arround the house.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night as a Solo Traveler. From malacca main bus terminal, their hotel is only 15 mins. away and it cost 20MYR.

The hotel is quite bit far the main city (tourist attractions) so, I rented a taxi for 70MYR for half day. The room is okay...clean, twin bed and with 32" inch LCD TV (with FOX movie channel) which I like. The staff are nice and ready to help. From their hotel to the city is 20MYR. And, they served breakfast with ham, sausage, bread with butter, chinese noodle, coffee and tea.

All in all, for next stay I will be choosing the hotel in the main city as this hotel is quite a bit far from everything, but if you have a car or have your own transportation, this hotel is totally okay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a great budget hotel. Only main issue was the actual location, its a little out of the way from Malacca (not too bad if you've got a car though). Parking was plenty, hotel rooms were clean and tidy. Oddly, even though the hotel is in a suburb area, its actually right on a very busy main road / highway. Rooms facing the road are pretty noisy, sometimes to the wee hours of the morning (traffic noise).

Breakfast was pretty standard, but that is to be expected (its a cafe that the hotel runs).

Internet access was available throughout the hotel.

Do take note that there were no toiletries (except for towels) - not sure if I didn't ask or they didn't provide, not an issue since I bring my own on most trips anyway.

Room Tip: Might want to stay away from rooms facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here in Dec 2012 enroute to Frasers hill. Traveling with three young kids, it's good to break up long distances. Settled with Sunflower despite it not being at the centre of town. Nice quiet environment. Parking is right in front of hotel. And it's free. Stayed in a family room with two double beds with some space for kids to move around. Flat screen tv available with some cable channels. Room comes with a window which is good as I can peep over the parapet to see my car parked downstairs. There is no lift so you have to move your luggage up the stairs. Drinking and hot water dispensers are available along the Corridors. No jugs or cups in rooms though. No hair dryer but can be borrowed at the counter. A no frills stay over to explore the Malacca town. Important for my family is space and cleanliness as well as safe environment. Btw room rates came with breakfast which is a simple spread of local foods in a nice small cafe at the ground level.

Room Tip: Family rooms are spacious. Go for it. No swimming or fitness ctr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We drove from Singapore to Malacca as a family holiday, booked the sunflower bungalow (service apartment), clean and decent for a place in M'sia.
We were able to fit 2 cars in the pouch, the apartment has got 4bedrooms and 4bathrooms (1bedroom and 1bathroom on level 1 and the rest were at level 2), a dining area and also a living room area, fully air conditioned and also includes a washing machine!
The only downside was that the fridge was a little too small as it was only a bar fridge. Won't affect much if you are not the kind that prefers cold drinks, anyway, we were able to get ice/cold drinks from the nearest 7-eleven store (a common 24hr convenient store in Singapore and Malaysia).
It's not very safe in Malaysia, but, this place has got its staff riding bicycle around to make sure guests are safe! Double thumbs up on this.

Will definitely stay here if i'm going to Malacca again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We drove up to malacca from Singapore as a family holiday

We booked sunflower hotel as it offered reasonable pricing for a bungalow which has 2 storey, 4 floors, 1 living room x 1 dining room x 1 kitchen, 3 x bathrooms..

The quality of the bungalow was of good standard and there was a car porch which can accomodate 2 cars.

The check in was swift and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunflower Hotel Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel Malacca

Address: No 57, Jalan PJ1, Taman Pertam Jaya, Padang Temu, Melaka 75050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel Malacca 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe that a comfort room is part of your enjoyable trip, because we are travellers too. To let our guests have a clean and quiet room is what we do everyday. Sunflower Hotel Malacca is a budget hotel located at Pertam Jaya, Padang Temu. A 5 minutes drive you can explore the commercial area and enjoy the night life in Melaka in Melaka Raya. Looking forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sunflower Hotel Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel And 1 Residence Hotel Malacca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Hotel Malacca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.