We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Hotel Malacca

Save Saved
You added Sunflower Hotel Malacca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   No 57, Jalan PJ1, Taman Pertam Jaya, Padang Temu, Melaka 75050, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #38 of 167 Melaka B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a great budget hotel. Only main issue was the actual location, its a little out of the way from Malacca (not too bad if you've got a car though). Parking was plenty, hotel rooms were clean and tidy. Oddly, even though the hotel is in a suburb area, its actually right on a very busy main road / highway. Rooms facing the road are pretty noisy, sometimes to the wee hours of the morning (traffic noise).

Breakfast was pretty standard, but that is to be expected (its a cafe that the hotel runs).

Internet access was available throughout the hotel.

Do take note that there were no toiletries (except for towels) - not sure if I didn't ask or they didn't provide, not an issue since I bring my own on most trips anyway.

Room Tip: Might want to stay away from rooms facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
2
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here in Dec 2012 enroute to Frasers hill. Traveling with three young kids, it's good to break up long distances. Settled with Sunflower despite it not being at the centre of town. Nice quiet environment. Parking is right in front of hotel. And it's free. Stayed in a family room with two double beds with some space for kids to move around. Flat screen tv available with some cable channels. Room comes with a window which is good as I can peep over the parapet to see my car parked downstairs. There is no lift so you have to move your luggage up the stairs. Drinking and hot water dispensers are available along the Corridors. No jugs or cups in rooms though. No hair dryer but can be borrowed at the counter. A no frills stay over to explore the Malacca town. Important for my family is space and cleanliness as well as safe environment. Btw room rates came with breakfast which is a simple spread of local foods in a nice small cafe at the ground level.

Room Tip: Family rooms are spacious. Go for it. No swimming or fitness ctr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We drove from Singapore to Malacca as a family holiday, booked the sunflower bungalow (service apartment), clean and decent for a place in M'sia.
We were able to fit 2 cars in the pouch, the apartment has got 4bedrooms and 4bathrooms (1bedroom and 1bathroom on level 1 and the rest were at level 2), a dining area and also a living room area, fully air conditioned and also includes a washing machine!
The only downside was that the fridge was a little too small as it was only a bar fridge. Won't affect much if you are not the kind that prefers cold drinks, anyway, we were able to get ice/cold drinks from the nearest 7-eleven store (a common 24hr convenient store in Singapore and Malaysia).
It's not very safe in Malaysia, but, this place has got its staff riding bicycle around to make sure guests are safe! Double thumbs up on this.

Will definitely stay here if i'm going to Malacca again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We drove up to malacca from Singapore as a family holiday

We booked sunflower hotel as it offered reasonable pricing for a bungalow which has 2 storey, 4 floors, 1 living room x 1 dining room x 1 kitchen, 3 x bathrooms..

The quality of the bungalow was of good standard and there was a car porch which can accomodate 2 cars.

The check in was swift and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed 2 days 1 night as a transit place for a wedding in Johor. The hotel located at slightly off town but still consider not far from main attraction.

For those who travel with car, this might be a good place to stay. The price is reasonable and plenty of parking. The room is a bit small but comfy and enough to stay.

The breakfast is at downstair with ok quality and with a coffee or tea.

The only suggestion is the toilet for women is limted where else for me, there is more rooms and more spaces, should arrange the other way round where usually women take longer time to get ready.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed here with sister for 2nights. My sister chose and recommend this hotel as she said it's price is reasonable and the room is ok too. I just followed as we had no much to choose from. Hmm.. the room is ok, clean and neat. Staffs there are nice. What made me happy is that, they provide hair dryer freely, it's FOC! as i knew many hotels would ask surcharge for those services. We stayed for 2nights and provided 1bottle of drinking water each day. Breakfast is provided at sunrise cafe which located below the hotel but we did not take it. A lot of parking place in front of the hotel. It's quite quiet in the night since it's not located at the bustling street. There is also a few of astro channels, such as ESPN.. What let me down is, we had to share bathroom. There was no attached bathroom in our room. We need to walk a short distance to bathroom to have a bath. Location is not very strategic, a bit far from town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We are a family with three young children, stayed in the four bedroom villa two nights in the beginning of april.
First it was difficult to find the hotel as there are few JP 1 streets in Melaka and GPS brought us to a different place. But when we finally found the hotel, I was pleased it was clean and nice and the stuff was very pleasant. We arrived late and there was no food available in the hotel so they bought some food for us in a local restaurant. I found it very nice of them.
The house was big and spacious and very clean!
Two things I did not like:
1. Not enough dish in the kitchen. We were 5 and there were only two bowls for soup. No cutlers at all, we had to call for it.
2. The doors were squeaking terribly.
The location was very convenient, in a quiet residential area. 5 min from the centre of Melaka, better to have a car.
Our overall experience is very good and I recommend this hotel for a family.

Ps there were no swimming pool and fitness and it's by mistake I gave it bad rating (don't know how to remove it!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunflower Hotel Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Hotel Malacca

Address: No 57, Jalan PJ1, Taman Pertam Jaya, Padang Temu, Melaka 75050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower Hotel Malacca 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe that a comfort room is part of your enjoyable trip, because we are travellers too. To let our guests have a clean and quiet room is what we do everyday. Sunflower Hotel Malacca is a budget hotel located at Pertam Jaya, Padang Temu. A 5 minutes drive you can explore the commercial area and enjoy the night life in Melaka in Melaka Raya. Looking forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, T4B and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sunflower Hotel Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Hotel And 1 Residence Hotel Malacca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Hotel Malacca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.