We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenaa De Luxe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arenaa De Luxe Hotel to your Saves list
Arenaa De Luxe Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 222 (Lot 639) | Jalan Ujong Pasir, Melaka 75050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 155 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice little boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Stayed in this new boutique hotel for a night with friends and family. We booked 3 Deluxe Superior Rooms. Unable to secure bookings of other boutique hotels nearer to main attractions thus end up staying here for a try since it is pretty new and looks chic.
The location is pretty faraway from all main attractions and it will take you about 15-20 minutes walk to these attractions. In return, you will be rewarded to slightly quieter environment. My room was facing a landed property with 2 huge german shepherd. Occasionally, they will bark when sensing some stranger near the gate. In my opinion, their barks are bearable.
As for the rooms, toilets and common areas - they are clean. The rooms are also installed with electronic lock.
The only complaint I have was the competency of service staff. The email reservation was kinda of slow to reply. When we checked in, the counter staff even thought that we had paid for the rooms, which we had not as we did not have paypal facility and do not feel safe to provide our credit cards details. After we had completed our check-in and went to our room, we realised that the previous tenant was still in the room and it was almost 1330hrs (check out supposed to be 1200hrs). We can understand guests may ask for extension, but at least they should have told us and we can wait instead of entering the room and realise they are still in the room.
The other bad point was its breakfast. It is a very simple breakfast with only sausages, baked beans, bread, fried rice and fried noodles. The breakfast is not worth the money. Anyway, most guests ended up went next door coffeeshop for a simple and authentic local breakfast which is affordable.
In gist, hope the management will maintain the hotel well in years to come as it is a nice place to stay for short getaways.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
12
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Areena De Luxe. The room was clean, the service was friendly and the decor was garrish but interesting. The only thing that let this hotel down is the location. It is a taxi ride to get to the Old City and Chinatown which is where all the action happens. You can walk - but it is not straightforward, takes about 15+ minutes and the heat is oppressive.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Went to Melaka during Vesak holiday / 3days weekend , so most hotels were fully booked .... Stumbled on Arenaa while searching internet... Hotel is pretty new, so why not give it a try ....We booked online for 2 nights of deluxe room / queen bed through AsiaWeb Direct, wanted a bigger room actually but they were all taken except the presidential suite.
Arrived around 11am, check in was smooth , however we found the connecting door in our room was opened and I could not close it as it was off alignment. Informed the front desk and waited for about 15 min before I called again. A gentleman , I guess is the manager came and managed to push (hard) the door closed. ...hooray ....
It is a clean , modern room indeed , rain shower in the bathroom , a small balcony facing to the back yard of the neighbor's private house , we saw 3 big dogs and cages there .
There is a small coffee table at the balcony but no chairs .. I guess is too small to put the chairs there .
Free internet in room , water pressure is good , about 6 cable TV channels I think , complementary of 2 bottles mineral water + 2 more inside fridge , instant coffee , tea sugar , hot water pot , dryer .
On the downside , rooms is consider small and the mattress is too soft , can feel the mattress up&down when the other person move. Not comfortable at all.
We also feel the hotel management need to put a lot of work to improve the sound-proofing. We can easily hear our next door room conversation + TV . Also the whizzing noise fr the running water , is quite loud. The neighbor's dogs can be annoying though our room is on 5th floor.
Parking is another issue , limited to about 12 cars right in front of the hotel. If you came late at night , be prepared to park on the road side... or accross the road ( in front of the coffee shop ) . The coffee shop sells many varieties of food ( Chinese, Malay , Indian food ) , but mostly open at night and close around midnight.
There is no breakfast included and dont think there is any restaurant in the hotel , other than just a small cafe ...anyway we already planned to grab breakfast around Jonker St . It is about 10-15 min drive. The hotel is near to Portuguese village .
Upon checking out , we got hold up a bit , apparently there was a mixed up as hotel's staff thought we only paid for 1 night.... After about 15 min wait , the sales manager came up to clear the matter and gave us royalty cards which entitles to 50% off published rate on next stay ....good effort.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Just like many boutique hotels in Melaka, parking is always an issue. The hotel doesn't have adequate parking facility. It does have an alternate parking area but is at the opposite side separated by a busy one way street. At least, they get the porter to help us halt the traffic and carry our luggages across the road. Not bad a service! Another bonus is at the opposite side, there are eateries serving popular local foods (the otah and satay are good) and also Portuguese seafood.
This hotel is pretty new and quite hype in design. Free in-room internet with reasonable performance. Welcome drink is mineral water. Free flow of fresh Fuji Apples and Green Apples at the lobby. For the children, they also have free lolipops for your taking.
The deluxe room is tiny but has almost all that you could find in higher star rated hotels, even an air ionizer.
In my humble opinion, the Jacuzzi rain shower is a let down in the bathroom. It is positioned in such an awkward way that the water jet sprayed right at the bathroom door and water will inevitably sip through to the outside floor. Beside as a joy killer, I doubt the door can withstand the torture in the long run. Next to the hotel is a private house, their dogs can get quite noisy at night. If you are fussy about noise, pick the room furthest away from the main entrance.
Major places of attraction and major shopping centres are just short drive away. Portuguese Square is also nearby. If you hate the city centre traffic and wanted something different, this place offers you an alternative.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Arenaa De Luxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenaa De Luxe Hotel

Address: No. 222 (Lot 639) | Jalan Ujong Pasir, Melaka 75050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 155 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arenaa De Luxe Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenaa De Luxe is a boutique hotel with 82 tastefully furnished rooms in the heart of Historical Melaka City, just a short distance from Air Keroh Toll & Alor Gajah Toll.Our hotel is your perfect getaway choice, as it is nestled within a peaceful residential area and backed by the luscious greens of St. John's Hill which provides you with the calm serenity away from the hustle & bustle of city life.To top it all, we are just a stone's throw away from Famous Local Food outlets, Tourists Attractions, Shopping District & Nightlife hotspots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arenaa De Luxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenaa De Luxe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.