We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in a charming old quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jonker Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jonker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Jonker Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   82-86A&B Jalan Tokong, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in a charming old quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had picked Jonker Boutique hotel for its location and its proximity to the antique shops and the straits Chinese museums. The hotel is a refiurbished 3 storey mid century building and I find it charming , in line with the character of the Jonker Walk area. My room was clean, comfortable and new. The staff was friendly, welcoming and provided good tips on what to do in melaka. The hotel was certainly value for money. There are many good eateries and attractions within a short walking distance of the hotel. I went to Melaka by bus and the taxi ride from melaka Sentral to the hotel was about 15 minutes. Apart from the weekends where I was told there is a night market, the area can be quiet in the evening as most of the shops and attractions close by 6 pm. This is a good hotel to stay If you are into architecture , history and the Straits Chinese/peranakan culture as the the immediate surrounding area exudes old world charm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    165
    30
    10
    3
See reviews for
130
160
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We loved Malaka as soon as we arrived. And the warm greeting at the Jonker Boutique Hotel cemented the friendship - genuine smiles, no problems communicating and even a lovely cool honey lemon drink. The room was fantastic - huge bed and lots of space, fab black and white bathroom with bath. We would recommend this Hotel - we were travelling on a budget but this was worth a little splurge. Great breakfast in the cafe downstairs although I don't know how they eat those half cooked eggs!
Whilst here make sure you eat at Elevens - the best chilli garlic crab ever, and the Geographer Cafe for a bit of old world atmosphere.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor - if you are no good at stairs, ask for a lower floor - the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a short break in Melaka and stayed at Jonker Boutique Hotel. The location was excellent - right in the heart of Melaka's Chinatown which is really buzzing at weekends. It was a bit difficult to find by car (especially with the one-way system). But good secure parking. Rooms were spacious and comfortable and tastefully decorated. Staff were friendly and welcoming and the hotel was excellent value. Would certainly go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed at the Jonker Boutique Hotel, I really felt like home.

The reception staff are very friendly, helpful, sincere and honest. Service was great, cannot asked for more. The room is very cosy and comfortable except for noisy neighbours upstairs.

I would like to say a big thank you to: Amy, Kalai, Kay and Jasmine. Guys, good job, keep it up !

Happy Easter.

Room Tip: Room facing the main street is good if you like to view the performance on stage. My mum loves it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights last week. Prior to checking in and paying we were shown a very nice room at the front, overlooking the main road (room 101). Having read earlier reviews, I knew noise might be an issue and so I made a point of asking the reception staff about this, twice. We were assured that it was only noisy at the weekend due to the street market, and not during the week (we were there on a Wednesday and Thursday).
This turned out to be a complete untruth. We were in bed trying to sleep when we were disturbed, after 10pm, by noise from a loud karaoke bar across the road. The noise continued until some time after 1am. Not only this, but but we could hear every footstep in the room above (every time they visited the bathroom, boom boom boom…) - it sounded like elephants as the ceiling had no sound insulation. I hardly slept that night due to the ongoing disturbance.
At 8am we were disturbed by banging and drilling in the neighboring building!
I complained to reception about the late night and morning noise and I was very angry to be told that yes, it is noisy at the front (they obviously knew about the karaoke bar and the building work). It was clear that in order to fill a room, they had lied to us the previous day. Great!
They moved us to a room at the back (not so nice as the previous, but still at the same rate!), but the neighboring building was pretty much a construction site - banging and drilling. The lady on reception (who appeared to be in charge) assured us that it finished at 5pm and did not start until 10am. I questioned the 10am start, as we had been disturbed at 8am that morning, but again I was assured that 10am was the case. Well, again what rubbish. The following morning the building noise started at 8am.
We were checking out that day anyway, but I did raise the matter with reception and the young woman there laughed, saying that the building work always starts early! I could not believe it - one untruth after another. And the staff making the false claims were doing it in front of their colleagues who, at the later stage, were the ones telling us the contrary. What is going on here? Very disappointing.
When we checked out we were overcharged as they had not included the discount we had been offered on arrival. However, I pointed this out and the bill was amended.
The worst thing is that we had looked in at a couple of similarly priced hotels nearby and knew we could have been staying somewhere better, and probably for less money.
These were the last two nights of our holiday, and the lack of sleep and dishonesty of the reception staff just left us with a bad taste. It spoilt things.
This hotel is overpriced, especially bearing in mind that breakfast is not included.
The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly (but that does not make up for lying).
I do not recommend this hotel and will not be returning.

Room Tip: Avoid the noisy rooms at the front of the hotel, overlooking the main road (unless you are a heavy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

An excellent hotel, very centrally located with helpful staff. The room was very spacious, as was the bathroom, with good facilities and very clean. Extremely good value for money. Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Of course the price are not cheap.
But certainly one of the best. Location wise it was good.
You will find Jonker Street right at your doorstep which is perfect.
Right next to it you will find a foot masseur, just in case you walk around too much and need some real massage to your tired legs.
Parking wise have no problem, the private parking is limited though but in any case parking is cheap, like 5RM a night something like that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jonker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonker Boutique Hotel

Address: 82-86A&B Jalan Tokong, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jonker Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience old world charm with modern amenities and 5 star comfort. 16 plush and spacious en-suite designer rooms in a majestic curved Art-Deco building right on Jonker Walk, with free wi-fi, car-park.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jonker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jonker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.