We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel, in few minutes in centre of Melaka.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aldy Hotel China Town

Save Saved
You added Aldy Hotel China Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aldy Hotel China Town
148, Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel, in few minutes in centre of Melaka.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hi, we stay here for 4d3n and it was very pleasant time.

The lady at the reception is so helpful - she introduce to us most important 'hot spot/must do' and give us a map of all points. We stay at 2nd floor.

Rooms are ok - dont expect huge rooms, but you find here comf bed, tv, table, kettle and some tea, and a bathroom (its small, but clean. When are you going out and not staying in bed, its absolutely ok.

Near hotel is small shop (like 7/11), restaurant (the one at the hotel was wery expensive on the fact that you are in Malaysia, but very tasty) and road to the centre - by foot cca 15 minutes. Due to neighbouring with reastaurant, there may be a little noise, but they are closing at midnight and its not so much disturbing ;)

If I eill be traveling there in future, I will stay in here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The sincere welcoming and eager to help staff at this hotel is refreshing! The location is great, only a 10 minute walk to the UNESCO Heritage buildings and local restaurants.
Booked for 3 nights and stayed 6 nights.
Good comfy bed, large room, and hot water (room is cleaned when you require).
Would definitely stay here again and recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Although the room price is good compared to other hotels in the area, we found the room not clean enough and as said before no much things in the room.
The ladies in the reception counter were friendly and helping.
The Wi-Fi was always not working and there is only one PC provided for public use.
The hotel is not in the old city but still adgesent and within walking distance.
In general, for people looking for budget saving Aldy Hotel is very good.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I was there with a group of friends of 7, only one nite over the weekend. because the Main hotel at Jonker Street is fully booked. so decide to take ths alternative choice at Chinatown, but abit too far from jonker street. about 15 mins walk. the Hotel Manager Stella was friendly enough to fetch us from Bus terminal, she even guide us the walking direction of some of the local attraction, nice hotel to stay if you dont mind bit walking. No F & B outlet inside the hotel, no Toothbrush or Shampoo provide, if you are going to stay there, please bring along your own toothbrush and Shampoo, for ladies please carry your own mini hair dryer. No Fridge inside the room. My double is okay for twin sharing, but accordingly to my male friend who are stay int he Family suite find abit too crowded for 5 persons even the rooms is allow for 5 person stay. Maybe for one nite should be okay.

Room Tip: Find someplace which is walking distance along or closed Jonker Street if you are a party animals, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The three ladies on reception were all lovely, good English and very helpful. The room was big, and the beds, although 2 singles pushed together were very comfortable.
Loved the view out of the window into the courtyard of the Chinese Temple which doubled as extra seating for the Chinese restaurant next door.
Well positioned, not quite in the heart of the Old Town but close enough

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

..this is my second visit and stay here, we were given a room on the third floor since we were arriving quite late decided to call and let them know and we were assured of our room.

..somehow this place feels just like home,very simple rooms and its budget but worth it....i booked through Agoda for the last room,but i guess they were "fullhouse" after that..i simple love this hotel,madam kings is just nearby and the whole chinatown is walking distance.

..staff are soo efficient and friendly,i didn't know they had installed a water cooler for guests and was hunting around for a jug kettle,the "pakcik" at the reception wasn't sure but he was kind enuff to offer me some boiling water from the cafe downstairs at 1am.I think that was so kind of him to do that,he was so ready to help out.

though hubby,hates this place and prefer a more posh hotel, i will still drag him to stay here on my next visit.The location is just superb and everything is just a walk away.Cars can be parked at Ramada hotel behind as its safer.The hotel can get pretty noisy but who cares,the comfy beds and power shower really make up for it :o)

will keep staying and visiting again and again..thanx for the great service and keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with friends, and location wise it is great for exploring lively Melaka! On arriving the receptionist couldn't find our booking and was rather rude, but it was the room that was very disappointing, nice and spacious but very dirty, our sheets had dried blood on and the pillow was brown ( once white ) the bathroom was soaked when we got there and the towels were wet, with a considerable amount of hair in the bath and sink... I think they had forgotten to clean it or change towels from the previous guest!! On the plus side the restaurant underneath the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aldy Hotel China Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldy Hotel China Town

Address: 148, Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Aldy Hotel China Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldy Hotel China Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.