We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We feld like being in our own home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cyclamen Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cyclamen Cottage to your Saves list
Cyclamen Cottage
2884-C, Teck Chye Avenue | Limbongan, Melaka, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 184 Melaka B&B and Inns
Esbjerg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We feld like being in our own home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

When we got to Cyclamen Cottage we had been travelling for almost 7 months. And we have not yet been in a place where we felt at home like in Cyclamen Cottage. It is by far the best service we have met. Initially we had only booked for 2 days, but after 5 minutes in the place we extended our stay to 4 days. Chris (the father in the house) spend a lot of time showing us his private museum and one day he drove us to the city centre - free of charge, of course. Every day when we got back to the house he always had time to a little chat about the things we had seen during the day. Breakfast, cleanliness and everything else was in top as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    34
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

This is my 3rd trip to Melaka this year alone and the 2nd time i am staying overnight. I must admit our 1st choice hotel was Puri however it was fully booked so had to search for an alternative and this choice pop out from our search as affordable and with a decent carpark.

@ Location
~ The locations of Cyclamen Cottage is a less than 5 min drive from the heritage site of Melaka.
~ However, It is not suitable for travellers who do not drive as it is pretty much impossible to get any sort of transportation around the area including cabs.

@ Service
~ The owners and his staff are very nice and friendly.
~ Staff show us around the house and our rooms upon our arrival
~ The owner even make herbal tea for one of my friend who had sorethroat.

@ Room
~ The room was very retro and basic but all necessity available including aircon, hot shower and even wi-fi
~ The rooms were big although toilet was slightly cramp but none the less does it job.

@ Facilities/Other Services
~ They offer carpark right at the front of the courtyard and front gate is locked after a certain time at night which is pretty safe.

@ Food
~ Very decent breakfast with a touch of melaka style..

@ Conclusion
If you have been to Taiwan or Japan and have done a homestay. This is probably the Melaka style of it. It is not going to WOW u with luxurious accomodation but it give u a good old retro feel about staying there. Something different and unique from the usual hotel and a very affordable price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We wanted somewhere affordable since it's an overnight stay and came across Cyclamen Cottage via Tripadvisor. They're having a promotion for RM 148 (weekend stay) and it's a great deal.

The good:
- Affordable rooms that came with hot shower, WiFi, LCD tv & air-cond
- Light breakfast served every morning
- Great staff: very friendly owner & assistant who introduced us the whole place and made sure we had a comfortable stay
- Ample parking space
- Really liked their old furniture. I loved the dining area that reminded me of the olden "kopitiam" days

The cons:
- Our room faced the garden and we could hear the noisy traffic the whole day
- Location is out of town but it's only 5-8 minutes drive to Jonker St
- Encountered wet towel/toilet roll/clothes due to the absence of shower curtain while showering

Will I return? Most likely!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

If you want clean, authentic with a heritage type of stay - come over to Cyclamen. Reservation and check in was so seamless that we didn't feel like it. Being Malaysians too, we felt as though taken to a time warp 50 years back with the type of antique (but well kept) furniture.

Rooms were clean and spacious, though two comments. If we could have more chairs in the room to lounge and laze, would be great. The pillows were not great, had a tough time sleeping. It was puffy.

Breakfast was always on time. Only thing, felt the spread wasn't that big or great. Suggest to get "real" sausages rather than the factory made ones. Buns could be served instead of sliced bread. Butter is always too hard when served. Coffee and tea was perfect! Nice addition was fruits and local delights!

You can't walk to town centre. A taxi would cost you RM15 (USD5) one way, or just 5 minutes drive if you have a car.

All in all, I'd be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

I stayed there for a couple of nights with 2 friends and we all loved to stay there.
The owners couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, it was really a pleasure to stay there and it's worth the taxi trip to the centre of Malacca (and it's only 15 RM).
The Cyclamen Cottage seems more like a little rural hotel than a hostel, and you can see that it was all "made with love". The decoration is really nice and the furniture, linen, pillows, etc are new. The breakfast was very good and they even give you fresh home-made local sweets!
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Back to visit Malacca after 60 years gap so welcomed the chance to stay in a lovely old building that predated my last visit. Welcome could not have been better. The owner came to Tampin to meet our train and waited one hour for its belated arrival! Took us all over Malacca to revisit places we knew and try to find our old house - we didn't - too many new developments. The old town was lovely with many interesting old buildings to visit. The food was excellent and our experience there was just what I was looking for, so much better than the huge high rise impersonal hotels that tour operators put forward for our trip. Would highly recommend (and have done already) this to anyone doing a trip round the Malaysian peninsula, along with our lovely L Residence in Singapore and Lakehouse in Cameron Highlands. Judy and Jeremy Keep

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed at Cyclamen Cottage two nights and were fully satisfied with the beautiful room and friendly services. Although it is located a little far from the central Malacca town, taxies are easily available and we felt no inconvinience. The house is full of antique furniture and charming plants. In addition, there is a small museum of antiques in the same building open only to the guests of the Cottage. The owner of the Cottage Mr. Chris gave us detailed lecture of each display along with the history of Malacca. Stay at this Cottage add briliant colour to our memory of the trip. We highly recommend you to select this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cyclamen Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyclamen Cottage

Address: 2884-C, Teck Chye Avenue | Limbongan, Melaka, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Cyclamen Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyclamen Cottage Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyclamen Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.