We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Peranakan House

Peranakan House
107, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka, Malaysia
06 284 5001
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 372 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I was here as part of my package and so had the set lunch. I can't comment on the price as I don't know how much it was. But the beer was the cheapest i have had in Malaysia. As has been said elsewhere, I found the staff surly. The waitress who served the rice out of a large bowl gave me one spoonful, unenthusiastically gave me another half spoonful when I asked for more, and positively plonked it down when I asked for more! I felt a fellow feeling with Oliver Twist. There were four dishes. One was sweet and sour fish. I asked the waitress what kind of fish it was and she said grumpily that she didn't know. It was OK, though with more batter than fish. The prawns were tough. The chicken in the curry was so tough as to be uneatable. The boiled vegetables were tasteless. I was glad of the rice! Afterwards they served some watermelon and not especially appetising pineapple. I plan to recommend to the tour company I'm travelling with that they don't use this restaurant again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    18
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very reasonably priced, don't understand why there are tourists who said it is sooo expensive. However, it is just normal food with no real taste of nyonya dishes. Waiters are not friendly but you can just let them be. Ignore them and eat ur food. Overall, it seems like a restaurant with 10% walk in customers and 90% tourists brought in by local travel agent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had a meal with my business friends on a trip to malacca. No doubt the house is beautifully decorated and furnishings authentic and dated. Go there for the ambience but food is nothing to shout about but edible. I had fish head curry which tasted like typical mamak curry, lo hon chai which was ok, prwans in sambal sauce which tasted a tad too sweet. The fish ball soup was ok. The pie tee was the only thing that i reallynenjoyed along with the acar. I suppose u need to know what to order....the chendol was not good at all. Frozen in the fridge because the green chendol tasted dry and brittle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The best place to hide from the midday sun and enjoy a cool drink while you watch the world go by. The decor is funky.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“dining standard a la carta local dishes at a traditional upper class mansion.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I am not sure why people said its expensive and service is bad. we had beef randang and udang petai(small size), with rice and lime juice for two. they taste good and the bill is only 30 myr, or 10USD. I can't complain for having some yasty food at such a lovely chinese upper class mansion.

In terms of service, i think they are allright for chinese place. oh come on, if you want how-are-you-all-the-time , better to visit those tourism-oriented felipino serving restaurant. you will hear sir sir sir or madam madam madam if you like. They are well trained for the westernized dining experience. but chinese local restaurant service is nothing but like that.

my tips is order the food that the price is shown in menu. dont conern too much on waiter's face but look at how lovely of the building and enjoy your food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peranakan House also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Peranakan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peranakan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.