We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
91, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Check in this hotel very fast & smooth. Was surprised that they know it's my birthday and they provided us a small birthday cake!
The room is very nice & cozy! It's almost spotlessly clean and the bed is very comfortable. Shower was great with the nice pressure from the rain shower.
Breakfast is located opposite of the hotel in a nice cafe and has nice variety of food.
Service is very good and this makes us enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    222
    55
    7
    5
See reviews for
183
328
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We booked a night's stay at Courtyard @ Heeren as read a lot of positive reviews about it. We decided to stay a few nights at another hotel which we were familiar with and spend our last night at Courtyard@ Heeren. On our first night in Malacca, my wife's bag which contained all our money, her phone, IC, credit cards, hotel key card etc was snatched away by a thief on a motorbike. As we were affected by the incident, we decided to cut our holiday short. We tried calling up Courtyard@ Heeren to explain to them our situation and ask if they could cancel our booking which was still in a few days' time. They were very official about the whole matter and told us that they will charge us in full even if we don't turn up. There was no offer of help or words of consolation for our plight. It was a stark contrast with the hotel that we were staying in who offered to change our rooms immediately and allowed us to check out earlier without additional charges. We think Courtyard@Heeren should certainly learn to show more compassion and flexibility in dealing with guests who may encounter problems during their stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Called up the hotel before reaching and they send a staff waiting in front to assist us to the parking which was quite good. Check in was fast and great as the staff patiently recommended us places to eat.
We had a deluxe room and it was excellent with the mixture of ancient and modern design.
Location is even great as the Jonker Walk is just next street and everything is within walking distance. We just park our car at the carpark till we check out.
Overall, it's a very nice hotel and service is very good! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Courtyard@Heeren hotel is located right in the Chinatown World Heritage Site in Melaka, yet we didn't find it noisy on our recent visit. The traditional narrow, deep design of the house means that our bedroom had no external windows, but was otherwise comfortable, if a little small. Interior design round internal courtyards is very charming, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom with external window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our two children. The family room was perfect with clean facilities & the staff were lovely & very helpful. The hotel is located one block from the markets. Meaning we were able to walk everywhere & return quickly when we needed to with a tired child or too many packages. Breakfast is included & was a western style buffet. The four of us agreed this was the best place we stayed in Malaysia.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a very pretty Straits Chinese-themed boutique hotel in the old part of the City. It is a charming building, comprising a maze of staircases, courtyards and quadrants.

The location is good - situated on a charming narrow street in the old town, albeit its proximity to the Jonker market meant it could be noisy; these were not the two best nights' sleep I have ever had.

The staff are very friendly and helpful - they even stayed up until 3am so I could check-in (very) late.

Otherwise, the hotel was good but without being outstanding. The clean and tidy room was pleasant and looked good but had clearly been done up on the cheap. The same applied to the en suite.

Breakfast was pretty basic and the choice of foods could be expanded a bit.

Overall, I had an enjoyable stay albeit I would be concerned about Melaka's hotel industry if (as Trip Advisor says) this is the city's second best hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This boutique hotel gives you great quality, especially at that price. The lobby looks great, rooms are clean and mosquito free. The hotel is situated in the middle of the town, but still oozes tranquility. Breakfast is across the street, and lives up to Western standards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Address: 91, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.