We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem of Melaka!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Little Gem of Melaka!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This boutique hotel is a little gem located in the historical street of Melaka.
The lobby is very nice with lots of antiques and it has a nice pond with koi fish which makes it very cooling!
Room is nice and I understand from the receptionist that every room has different design. We stayed in a room with antique design. It is very nice.
Service is good with staff recommending places to eat.
Location is good because everything is within walking distance which is good because it is not so convenient to get public transport in Melaka.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    224
    55
    8
    5
See reviews for
186
330
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Based in the heart of Melaka it is a heart of tranquility and cleanliness. Very friendly staff and very comfortable room for a very reasonable price. All the historical sites within easy walking distance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The staff were extremely helpful and very courteous. We booked two rooms on the ground floor as we went with my parents who couldn't handle the steep stairs. One of our rooms were quite close to the back. This meant that we could hear all the walking, shuffling and conversations going on right outside our rooms when people are walking to their cars or going towards the stairs to the rooms upstairs. Not a big deal at all but would have preferred a room upstairs if we weren't travelling with senior citizens.
The rooms are small and rather basic but you have everything you need. Location wise, it's just perfect. And the showers are hot & very powerful, just the thing you need after a day out eating & walking in Melaka town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful from the time we inquired via email (good response time), during our stay (always welcoming), and until our departure (they made sure to give us bottled water for our ride to Kuala Lumpur).

Hotel was absolutely lovely with its "green" courtyards, cool & tranquil lobby, and stylish rooms. We love how the owners mixed Malaysian/Chinese traditional furnishings & architecture with modern amenities. We stayed in a Deluxe Room with a queen bed on the 2nd floor. Everything was very clean and wifi in our room and lobby were good.

Note: Deluxe Rooms on the ground floor have king beds but may not be as quiet as rooms on the 2nd floor. Deluxe have more space and mini bar fridge compared to Superior Rooms. Friends who were booked in a Superior Room did not have in-room safe or it was not working during our stay. Suggest checking with the hotel about specific amenities important to your travels.

Breakfast was superb with lots of items to choose from including eggs made to order. Setting and service for the breakfast were as lovely as the hotel.

Location was great - just one street away from Jonker Street and also a short walk to the boardwalk along Melaka River and to the more famous heritage sites in the city. Cab fare was RM15 from Mahkota Parade (mall) to the hotel, and RM20 from Sentral bus terminal to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay here recently and wish it was more. Normally don't care that much for a hotel's decor since it is mostly just a place to sleep, but this hotel is beautiful enough to almost be a destination in itself. It was certainly an oasis from the heat and noise outside. We picked it for the great location around the corner from Jonker St, and so glad we did. The fact that the staff were friendly and helpful completed the trifecta rarely done.

The deluxe room we had was spacious, comfortable and stylish. The bathroom functional with enough room for two people to use together and the shower was strong (I can't stand weak water pressure). My wife remarked it was bright enough in the room to use the mirror properly and do her make up, something she finds difficult in most hotel rooms due tot the lighting.

Only two very minor negative points, firstly you have to turn the hot water heater on and wait 10 minutes for a shower, and second there was no hooks to hang stuff in the room (there were hangers and hooks etc in the bathroom area). Personally both of these were very minor and included only for completeness particularly the hanging since there was a ready alternative.

Overall highly recommended modern and stylish boutique hotel in an old Peranakan building.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel was found easily by our taxi driver. On check in we were given cool towels and a welcome drink and shown to our rooms. The staff were very helpful and friendly for our whole stay.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and quiet. We stayed in a deluxe room and loved the rain shower. The bed was firm but this is to be expected in Asia. Location was great with a minute walk to joker street and main restaurants. Breakfast was included with the room and this was eaten across the road in their cafe. It was buffet style with a good selection of food and omelettes cooked on request.

Overall we had a great stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Extra friendly and helpful staff who introduced us to some great nyonya food. Nice modern clean rooms of high quality, set in a traditional courtyard setting, which really gets you immersed in the atmosphere of the old town. Superb location near Jonker st. The lobby feels like a shophouse with style and is cosy yet cool (literally), great escape from the humidity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Address: 91, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.