We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay here recently and wish it was more. Normally don't care that much for a hotel's decor since it is mostly just a place to sleep, but this hotel is beautiful enough to almost be a destination in itself. It was certainly an oasis from the heat and noise outside. We picked it for the great location around the corner from Jonker St, and so glad we did. The fact that the staff were friendly and helpful completed the trifecta rarely done.

The deluxe room we had was spacious, comfortable and stylish. The bathroom functional with enough room for two people to use together and the shower was strong (I can't stand weak water pressure). My wife remarked it was bright enough in the room to use the mirror properly and do her make up, something she finds difficult in most hotel rooms due tot the lighting.

Only two very minor negative points, firstly you have to turn the hot water heater on and wait 10 minutes for a shower, and second there was no hooks to hang stuff in the room (there were hangers and hooks etc in the bathroom area). Personally both of these were very minor and included only for completeness particularly the hanging since there was a ready alternative.

Overall highly recommended modern and stylish boutique hotel in an old Peranakan building.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    224
    55
    7
    5
See reviews for
185
330
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel was found easily by our taxi driver. On check in we were given cool towels and a welcome drink and shown to our rooms. The staff were very helpful and friendly for our whole stay.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and quiet. We stayed in a deluxe room and loved the rain shower. The bed was firm but this is to be expected in Asia. Location was great with a minute walk to joker street and main restaurants. Breakfast was included with the room and this was eaten across the road in their cafe. It was buffet style with a good selection of food and omelettes cooked on request.

Overall we had a great stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Extra friendly and helpful staff who introduced us to some great nyonya food. Nice modern clean rooms of high quality, set in a traditional courtyard setting, which really gets you immersed in the atmosphere of the old town. Superb location near Jonker st. The lobby feels like a shophouse with style and is cosy yet cool (literally), great escape from the humidity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My second time staying in this place. First time I stayed on the ground floor just behind the reception. Not bad! I especially like their rainfall shower head. This time I stayed on the second floor still as awesome.

Location was the main draw for me to stay as it was just the street behind Jonker Walk (walk towards Geographer Cafe, turn left into the alley, and then turn left again and you will see the place). I usually chill out at Geographer Cafe so even at midnight the last weekend it was safe for me to walk back alone. =)

The staff are friendly and helpful with providing information of places (good for first timers!)

The room itself is clean and well maintained. Simple amenities provided as well. The beds are one of the more comfortable ones that I enjoy sleeping in (really!). Only thing was that there were no double bed. Even both times I went alone and stayed only a night. Both the rooms I stayed in was 2 single beds. So it was kind of a challenge deciding how and which to sleep in. =P

All in all. A nice, well located place to stay in. And definitely will be staying there again when I go back next year! =D

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel is located within the melaka old town, the weekend night market is just a stone throw away. The reception staff is friendly and very helpful, the hotel provides a map with all information on what to do and where to eat, very handy. The rooms is beautifully designed, lovely bed. There are a lot of nice little cafe around the area, the baboon cafe beside the hotel serves wonderful burger.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked the hotel last minute and were lucky enough to get the last two available rooms, which were deluxe rooms. We were there to celebrate by husbands birthday with friends. We were very impressed with how quickly the hotel replied our our booking enquiries and when we arrived at the hotel a member of staff came out straight away to direct us to the car park which is at the back of the hotel. The hotel is stunning inside and is like a tardis it is so large, check in was quick with a lovely welcome drink and a cold towel. Our room was G4 and we loved the design and the birthday balloons on the bed was such a thoughtful touch. The breakfast is at the cafe which is straight across from the hotel, there was a good selection and my husband said the omelette served here was one of the best he has ever had. The only downside was you only get one keycard/card so when I came back before my husband he had trouble getting in to the hotel and had to wake me up to get into the room. We are looking forward to returning and this will be on our list to bring family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Me and my group of girlfriends stayed here in 2 separate rooms - one superior room and one superior family room. The superior family room we had was on the 2nd floor at the corner and was spacious and comfy. The superior room on the 2nd floor was along the corridor was noisier and we could hear people walking outside. As the floorboard was creaky, it was quite disturbing for light sleepers. However, overall we could sleep well. Location was fantastic as it's very near Jonker Street with shopping and famous local food. Wi-Fi signal in our room was very poor when we were there, and we had to use it in the lobby. Overall, this is a lovely boutique hotel and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose the corner rooms for less disturbance from other guests walking along the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Address: 91, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.