We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastefully restored boutique hotel in middle of Melaka's China Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
91, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Tastefully restored boutique hotel in middle of Melaka's China Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Melaka's China Town is narrow streets, parking both sides of the road, continuous traffic and no pavements! Step inside the recently restored Courtyard @ Heeren and you're into a different world. Like most of Melaka's old, residential buildings, the Courtyard is long and thin(Dutch taxes on the width of buildings means that most Melaka buildings built in Dutch colonial times have a narrow frontage but enormous depth), with a series of delightful inner courtyards leading you through the rooms from the charming reception area, complete with Koi carp pool. Our room, at the rear of the hotel, was large with an enormous en suite by most standards. Surprisingly, it was tastefully furnished in a contemporary style (others had a more period feel). It also had a covered veranda, sadly looking out onto an overgrown excuse for a garden where someone had abandoned an old bike. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful - the security guard who sat all night at the rear of the hotel watching the back entrance and the roped off area of the back lane which was the hotel's car park, even helped us fix our remote key lock to the wreck of a car we had hired. Breakfast, taken in an equally tastefully restored building across the road (behind a women's fabric and dress shop, which can be a dangerous distraction to some) was of excellent quality and variety. Added to its central location, I'd very highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    214
    55
    7
    5
See reviews for
178
313
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

You would expect dungeons and dragons to pepper this place that time has forgotten.

It is as homely as it can get. But muffled creaks and eerie hallucinations, especially in the wee hours of the morning, freaks you out. Though keeping you still in the realm of sanity. Think Thriller! Truly for the faint hearted.

And, seriously, you are not alone. Lots of rooms are being turned over for new guests afer housekeeping's done. Something must be right.

The room is spartan and sufficient. Hardly furnished. Airconditioned, definitely not spacious, its for you to sleep and have your shower, It is not the type of room you want to laze around. You might get wasted.

Windowless, it is functional and serves its purpose. The elevator down the corridor jerks complainingly when in motion. Just be glad when it is in motion.

Breakfast is provided. Very local. Exquisite experience. Car parking lots are available.

Overall, the hotel is, well.... accommodating. The courtyard is chic and quaint, I should add. There is an unexplainable pull. Its not the Hilton but you know you won't bump into Mr Nightmare. You hardly know why, but you'll chance coming here to stay again. Its hard to miss the unique warmth that keeps you from the cold.

False bravado and fragile egos... make for strange bedfellows. But once you are in the hotel and the hotel is in you, you won't think you are in a hotel. Its Cool! I'll be back, for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

A well maintained boutique hotel.
With a fish pond & a mini man made waterfall within the hotel premise, the place looks serene, contrast with the busy jonker streets nearby. Returning to the hotel feels like returning home. Lighting was well done & the hotel uses lemongrass oil to fragrant the place.

The place is conveniently located just one street away from jonker walk & yet from where we are, we did not hear any noise at all. It is however away from the newer shopping malls.

Staff were friendly & most helpful.

Good place which I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

A very nice boutique hotel just next to Jonker Street. Beautifully designed and spacious. Service was excellent and friendly - many thanks to the staff for helping us with our taxi bookings and requests.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this unique boutique hotel, the design of the hotel is simply stunning, its a mix of new and old world. Upon entering the hotel, we were greeted by friendly staff and the lobby is beautifully furnished. Check in was done smoothly and we were shown to our room which is on the ground floor. Room is also stunning, room size is decent and the bed is one of the more comfortable bed i ever slept on. Great shower too! Breakfast is a spread of local and western choices. Will come again if we do drop by melaka in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This small hotel is in Chinatown is close to many of the local attractions, we had a small inside room (no windows to the world) for this reason we were please it was only a one night stay. The room was clean good hot shower and air conditioner worked well, an automatic insect spraying device kept me guessing for a while in the black of the night. Staff were attentive. Breakfast was down the road behind a batic shop, clean well stocked and eggs to order.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was amazed at how they architects and interior designers managed to maintain the Malaccan historic shophouse charm with modern zen designs, it was beautiful.

No one mentioned this in their review but there was a well (yeah, a real one!) within the premises. Most people probably thought it was just a made believe thing by the IDs but one peep down the hole and I was amazed... it was REAL. Though they did put a protective grill to cover the hole to prevent kids from falling in.

We stayed in the family deluxe room, a queen bed and a single bed. It was lovely. The shower was outdoor with a rain shower head... so so wonderful! Everything was provided including a hair dryer and a mini fridge. It was a 5 star room.

I do have one complaint though. The room is supposed to be a family room but it wasn't child friendly. It had dangerous corners around the bed and the entrance to the bathroom had a sharp edge as it was made of tiles. Not safe for toddlers.

Breakfast was good with wonderful staff and ambience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Address: 91, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.