We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking little boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
91, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 142 hotels in Melaka
North West England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Cracking little boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed for two nights in order to see the sights of Malacca. Lovely staff greeted us on arrival and couldn't do enough for us during our stay. We were upgraded from a junior suite to an executive suite - which was nice! As seems the norm in the region, the word "suite" doesn't have the same meaning as in the u.k. Where a suite has a separate living and sleeping area. This, however, was an extremely nice "room.". Breakfast, as has been mentioned by other reviewers, is served across the road in another shophouses which has been converted to a similar high standard as the hotel. I have not stayed in the larger, more established, hotels in Malacca but am certainly glad I made this choice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    199
    50
    6
    5
See reviews for
157
289
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

A boutique hotel you should try when you come Malacca. It's located right the heart of Malacca with very nice rooms & staffs. Breakfast at restaurant opposite the hotel is nice too. I love this hotel & highly recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: Walking around is great, dinner at cheap price at food street on yr left from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have spent two nights at this great stylish place.
I had booked through the Internet a twin room and when I checked in, I had the surprise to hear that I was upgraded in a familial sumptuous room ! Superb decoration (in the bathroom too), excellent lighting ,huge ,comfy and soft bed, It felt like being in a museum...The boutique hotel is full of antiques, courtyards with tropical vegetation, ponds with koi...a serene place where it is a real pleasure to come back during the day for an hour or two, since it is located very nicely in the middle of the Chinese town and a hundred meters away from a fabulous Nonya restaurant !.Breakfast is plentiful and excellent.
The owner of the hotel is a very friendly man, and very kindly changed my Malaysian ringgits into Singaporian dollars as the official money changer was not open at the time I was due to take the bus to SGP.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this beautiful place and recommend it very warmly to TA travellers

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid North Coast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a great hotel in a great location. Rooms were comfortable and clean, the location is perfect and they have a nice little sister cafe across the road for breakfast which was lovely. We enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Melaka.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Courtyard at Heeren is a lovely place to stay in hectic Melaka. Takes you away from the noise and the bustle and puts you into rooms full of lovely Malaysian furnishings and soft duvets and pillows! The staff couldn't do enough to help and despite an unwanted 1am phone call that was a little random, they rectified and upgraded us as an apology without even being asked. What a great little place, highly recommended! A tiny thing to improve on - the toiletries, they look cheap compared to the stylishness of the rest of the place, you could do better by changing them.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms are definitely worth the little bit extra for nicer bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Once me and my partner step into the lobby, we were invited with a smiling face of the staff. The lobby is nice with a koi pond on the side.
Check in was smooth and the staff even explained about the places of interest with a map given.
Was guided into the room by the staff carrying out luggages. The room is beautiful and almost spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is located in the opposite building of the hotel with a nice environment. Breakfast spread is simple but delicious especially the 'roti canai' and egg tarts.
Location is great with everything just within walking distance especially Jonker Walk and the night market.
Will definitely back to this lovely hotel if we were to come back to Melaka!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had no idea what sort of hotel was this till I reached here as my wife booked it. Was initially disappointed that there wasn't any window as the room was located inside which was a former Peranakan house that is very long, deep and narrow.

However the décor and cosiness of the place impressed me. Walking through the inner hall ways, one would feel like being in some sort of spa with Peranakan-inspired décor amid the tranquillity of the place. Much of the décor looks like it was restored from the original Peranakan residence it once was with the wooden furnishing and antiques.

Our superior room was located at the 2nd level, but there's no elevator so we have to take the wooden steps up. No big deal but could be a concern for older folks. The room size was fine for us. A big rectangular room with a double bed and a single bed on each side, on a platform. The room is nicely done up with Peranakan architecture and style, with wooden carvings and such. I suspect each room is unique in their design. The bathroom comes with a powerful rain shower that is very enjoyable after a day of walking in the hot weather of Melaka. Our room was located near the front of the hotel, hence all other guests staying at the inner rooms will pass by the room door. This can be quite noisy when they are walking past and talking loudly.

The service staff are friendly and speak reasonably good English. Breakfast was quite good, with different local specialties every day. The staff are helpful too. Breakfast is served at another shophouse that is just a few steps away across the narrow street.

This hotel is located one street away from the famed Jonker Walk - the weekend night market, hence it is very convenient to just take a few minutes' walk there and soak in the bustling atmosphere and lay your hands on local delicacies and produce. It is also within walking distance to the Melaka River where you can take a cheap and scenic river cruise.

Some cons of my visit are that they were doing some renovations near the main staircase, hence it was quite noisy and dusty. There are also mosquitoes around so even though I would love to walk about the inner areas of the hotel, I was put off by the thought of being bitten.

Overall it was quite a good place to stay, would be better if not for the dusty renovation works and mosquitoes. I would recommend this place for young couples, families with children but not for old folks due to the possibility of climbing stairs if you are staying on the 2nd level.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Address: 91, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 142 hotels in Melaka
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.