We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We're coming back again"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
91, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"We're coming back again"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard for 2 nights and were very impressed by the level of service and efficiency of the staff.

Lovely room and the jacuzzi was awesome. A few of the shutter doors were slightly damaged but generally speaking the damage was due to wear and tear and it did not in any way hamper the enjoyment of our trip.

When housekeeping arrived with a fresh set of towels, it was highlighted that the bulbs at the dresser might be fused. The bulbs were promptly swapped about 5 minutes later! Can't even get that sort of efficiency in a 5 star hotel!

I wasn't too convinced about the security based on the reviews. But my worries were laid to rest when I saw the surveillance set-up and the uncle that they hired to watch over the vehicles.

Extremely friendly and alert for his age, he got up to check who I was when I walked to my car at 3am in the morning. Impressive.

Room Tip: The executive suite is a little pricier than the others... but the huge bathroom and jacuzzi, along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    214
    55
    7
    5
See reviews for
178
313
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights here. The hotel is in a convenient location (near Jonker St) and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The bathroom is partly open to the bedroom, so not particularly private but the shower is fabulous and can be opened onto a little private courtyard. The staff are lovely and helpful, including arranging a take-away breakfast for us when we had to leave early to catch our flight. The bed was fabulous - most comfortable one we've had in 3 weeks.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

had a 2 night stay in this beautiful nostalgic hotel with access card in/out which makes u feel safe staying here. We had the upper level room and all beautifully individual deco.. Nice breakfast with good selection. Parking space available with security camera and caretaker: many plus points!! Located just stone throw away to Jonker street.. We need ice and staff is very helpful to get for us!
Really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Extremely well located in the heart of Jonker. Just one street away to the Jonker market, pubs and eateries. Have their own parking so it's not a hassle moving in and out. Staff are friendly, rooms are at least 4-stars standard. Breakfast spread was very good too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Friendly and wonderful staff which make our stayed very memorable! One of the best experiences with this hotel is the service provided. We stayed one night at the hotel and there was breakfast provided in the next day morning. The breakfast was served at the cafe @ courtyard which is located across the road in a different building separate from the main property. Unfortunately, after breakfast there was heavy rain and we were wondering how to make our way back to hotel as we all forgot to bring our umbrella. We tried to borrow umbrella from the staff but we were told that one of the hotel staff was providing shelter with umbrella for guest making their way to the cafe or back to the hotel. The staff greeted us with warm smile and helping us return to the hotel.

The room is extremely clean and the bed is very comfortable. The rain shower is nice and we love the hotel decoration in general!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Wonderful staff, 5 star treatment in a boutique hotel. We wanted to book a double room but there weren’t any available so we booked a twin. At arrival we got upgraded to a family room which had a double bed and a single. They really tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The room and the whole hotel was very clean and it has a nice character. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard at Heeren in Malaka for one night in April. The hotel is good considering the age of the building. The building has a lot of character with antique furniture and art everywhere. The courtyards fit its name, very well decorated and maintained. The location is excellent with Jonker Street about three minutes away. The front desk was very efficient and took good care of their customers; the staffs were very pleasant and helpful. We had three standard rooms, two downstairs behind the front desk and one just one floor above. The two rooms on the main floor had a musky feeling with an earthy smell. The room upstairs was much better in terms of air circulation and lighting. The other problem with the bottom rooms was the noise of the footsteps from above, I believe the flooring upstairs is mainly made of wood hence the noise transmission. However, we did have a nice rest even we didn’t get back until 12.
One of the best experiences with this hotel is their sumptuous breakfast, which is held across the street in the Cafe at Courtyard. We tried a mixture of Malay, Chinese, Indian and Western food, which include Hainan Chicken, fried thin noodles, Curry pastries, sausages, hams, eggs (pre-make or made to order); different types of sandwiches including tuna, ham and cheese; fruits including banana, pineapple and watermelon; cereals, orange juice, coffee and tea. The chef even made a few bowls of Lhasa noodles for us and I must say this was one of the best Lhasa dishes I have ever tasted, lots of ingredients and flavour-compliment to the young chef. We think the Lhasa was even better than the ones we had in the restaurant around the corner. The only reason I give one less star is the room, which is very basic, with no refrigerator, safe or other amenities. The hotel is only two and a half years old and the walls already showed a fair bit of wear and tear. The best parts are location and breakfast.

Room Tip: Try the second floor rooms, less noise from footsteps upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel

Address: 91, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren St.), Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel consist of 14 rooms with different kind of designs, located in the heart of city, part of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.