We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eleven

Eleven
No.11, Jalan Hang Lekir, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
+606-2820011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 372 Restaurants in Melaka
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Portuguese fried rice and butter squid were good enough for us to return for a second round a couple of nights later. Service staff were polite.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    70
    27
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Poor compared to the food level in Malacca”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wanted to grab a quick bite for lunch, however where disappointed in some ways. Friendly staff, yes, but: In all places in Malacca, when you order a Limejuice, you get freshly squeezed limes with sugar, water and icecubes, very refreshing. Here after 10 mins. they serve you a artificial sirup-drink that tastes right from a candy store and they charge you 8 RM i/o 2 RM like all other restaurants.

Food was uninspiring, and didn't seem freshly (home-)made, rater warmed up or gotten from another place around the corner.

There are so many good places in Malacca, wouldn't recommend eating there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Great service, Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were at Eleven on Saturday night. It was recommended highly by a friend who frequents Malacca. At first, it seemed a bit "commercial" for what we were wanting in Malacca, but the street was insanely crowded and we went with the comfy seats and people watching on Jonkers walk. Glad we did.

We ordered light, so we could indulge in street food later. We ordered the Otak Otak spring rolls which were surprisingly good! We also ordered the Dable Chicken Curry Portugese Style--amazing!! It was creamy and a bit lemony with nice bits of onions in there.

Drink prices were meh, but happy hour was still going until 10pm. Drinks are expensive in Malacca anyway as there's no Malaysian cheap beer--its all imported. But still cheaper than Singapore (where we live) so no big deal .

Awesome service, btw. Excellent English speaking.

Enjoy Eleven--great people watching, scenery and curry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great spicy food treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We ate here with 8 adults and 4 children. We decided to eat a la carte rather than the set menu, as there were a number of dishes we did not want and the set menu is quite expensive. The food was excellent! We enjoyed every dish and they were very helpful ordering for the children. The sambal prawns, chicken curry, beancurd with mushrooms and calamari were all very good. Highly recommended. The meal cost about 370 ringgit, which is probably expensive for Malaysia but cheap for Singaporeans! We enjoyed our dinner thoroughly and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“non-existence for service..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

10 staff on the floor running around as if the place was packed, which was not. has to asked twice for our drinks order, nothing happened. so, we walked off..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eleven also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Eleven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eleven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.