We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice looking hotel but below expectation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avillion Legacy Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Avillion Legacy Melaka to your Saves list
Avillion Legacy Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Jalan Hang Tuah, Melaka 75300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Heritage Explorer Package
Ranked #54 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice looking hotel but below expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The architecture and lobby area looks very impressive and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was large and bed very comfortable. Other than that all other aspect was a little disappointing.

Housekeeping was really below par. When we check in on day 1, there were only 3 pieces of tissue in the tissue box. A glass containing what appeared to be a half consumed milk was in the fridge. I reported it to the front desk but the glass was not cleared even onthe day we checked out. It would be nice if they had provided room slippers and small towel to mop our hands in the wash basin area.

While the room was large, the telephone was placed at the far end of the room on a dressing table. I would have thought a more logical place would be next to the bed. Half of the electrical power points were not functioning. The door to the toilet could not be closed. It was terribly misaligned.

Breakfast was average. It starts at 7am but the staff maning the egg counter starts work at 8am. So we were left with pre-fried eggs.. which was cold by them time I took them.

With the price I paid I had expected something better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALMLKN, General Manager at Avillion Legacy Melaka, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear value guest,

Thank you very much to share with us your experience at Avillion Legacy Melaka.

Your constructive feedback, both positive and on areas for improvement, is very helpful to us and we will review the highlighted areas with our team to make changes within our process and operation where appropriate.

We hope appreciate your kind understanding and look forward to serving you better on your next visit to our hotel.

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    35
    62
    36
    21
See reviews for
54
37
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We thought that the one night stay was unfolding perfectly - room was made ready for early check-in. And it was an Avillion chain. We were disappointed - the room was plain dirty...there was a "honey stars" by the bed....and numerous other food / rubbish items across the room on the carpet. The duvet cover had a gaping hole and the pillowcases were yellowish stained.....omg! We made a request to have it all cleaned and what did we come back to find? The same rubbish still across the floor, the same yellow stained pillowcases and the gaping hole of the duvet cover on the opposite side of the bed. Was this cheekiness? Another escalating call to the reception got the housekeeping supervisor to attend to the rectification herself. The room was very basic in terms of facilities and breakfast very simple with barely any vegetarian options. The only aspects that saved our stay was the care by the hotel reception staff and the Chef. If they were not as responsive, it would have been a disastrous stay.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALMLKN, General Manager at Avillion Legacy Melaka, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear value guest,

Greeting from Avillion Legacy Melaka!

We appreciate your kind gesture in providing feedback about our products and the level of services rendered by the hotel team.

Comments made have been noted and addressed with relevant department to maintain Avillion Legacy Melaka as a premier choice of accommodation for all discerning travelers. It is such invaluable input that helps us constantly evaluate, improve and monitor our standard of performance.

We hope for an early opportunity to welcome you for a return visit, and ensuring this time around, you will experience true Avillion Legacy Melaka hospitality!

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Could improve more.

Great value for money, comfortable, good dishes, almost perfect.

However I would give 5* if they could provide:
1.hotel sandals in the room for hygiene
2.toothbrush
3.more astro channels
4.extra coffee packs
5.cleaner swimming pool as I noticed it has had a bad smell.

Would come back again if getting improvement

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALMLKN, General Manager at Avillion Legacy Melaka, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear value guest,

Greeting from Avillion Legacy Melaka!

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel products and services.
In such invaluable input helps us constantly evaluate, improve and monitor our standard of performance.

We hope for an early opportunity to welcome you for a return visit, and ensuring that this time around, you will experience true Avillion Legacy Melaka hospitality!

Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have stayed at Avillion on my many visits to Melaka. I love the hotel though it is quite dated. The rooms are spacious and the rates affordable. We usually book the kiddies package which includes breakfast for 2A and 2 C. Breakfast is decent with good spread of food. They also have a small pool which is not very much used by guests. Location wise, it is out of the town area but it is not an issue if. You drive. Everywhere is just minutes away. The staff are friendly and I love the fact that the hotel is children friendly. My choice hotel whenever I visit Melaka.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALMLKN, Front Office Manager at Avillion Legacy Melaka, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear value guest,

Greeting from Avillion Legacy Melaka.

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our products and services.
Your positive comments and feedback will surely encourage our team to fulfill our mission to delight and satisfy our guests. Once again thank you and look forward to welcome you back!

Best regards
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Unfortunately, there was a convention and most of the rooms were taken up accept for the suite with the King/queen size bed. The cost was a whopping RM438/- for a night as I we were tired and didn't have luck anywhere else we took it.

The rooms carpet was deplorable. The view was okay. The bed and bath was clean and neat. The room had 2 TVs which was great.

The breakfast was decent, had a wife selection but here again it was nothing to shout about I have had better for much-much less. The breakfast suffered from quality... While they went for the quantity.

Location is away from the main historical area although it is still at a walkable distance if you are up to it.

Overall the stay was ok but was I was expecting better quality breakfast.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALMLKN, Front Office Manager at Avillion Legacy Melaka, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear value guest,

Greeting from Avillion Legacy Melaka.

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our products and services.
In such invaluable input helps us constantly evaluate, improve and monitor our standard of performance.

We hope for an early opportunity to welcome you for a return visit, and ensuring that this time around, you will experience true Avillion Legacy Melaka hospitality!

Best regards
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

As a walk in guest, I was impressed by the warm welcome and friendly gesture by the Duty Manager Mr Hishamuddin. He was so friendly to us.
The room was clean and the breakfast was nice. Parking space was very convenient, either at closed or open carpark.
Overall I can easily say one of the best hotel to stay in Melaka.

Room Tip: Depends on individual choice coz one view is the sea view and the other is the town view. The one fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALMLKN, Front Office Manager at Avillion Legacy Melaka, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear value guest,

Greeting from Avillion Legacy Melaka!

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel products and services.
Your positive comments and feedback will surely encourage our team to fulfill our mission to delight and satisfy our guests. Once again thank you and look forward to welcome you back!

Best regards
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The rooms are clean, well appointed & comfortable. Our room had a splendid view as it was on a high floor. Service from the front desk was average. Didn't manage to try out the in-house eatery so can't comment. Overall, a decent place to stay but nothing to shout about.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALMLKN, Front Office Manager at Avillion Legacy Melaka, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear value guest,

Greeting from Avillion Legacy Melaka!

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel products and services.
Your comments and feedback will surely encourage our team to fulfill our mission to delight and satisfy our guests. Once again thank you and look forward to welcome you back!

Best regards
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avillion Legacy Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avillion Legacy Melaka

Address: 146 Jalan Hang Tuah, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avillion Legacy Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avillion Legacy Melaka is a luxurious 235-room boutique hotel in Melaka offering fast and efficient Melaka hotel booking. Inspired by the city's colonial history, the hotel's architecture is further complemented by its elegant interiors, including an impressive glass dome lobby and classic Roman pillars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avillion Legacy Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avillion Legacy Melaka Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avillion Legacy Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.