We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved , shuttle provided” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avillion Legacy Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Avillion Legacy Melaka to your Saves list
Avillion Legacy Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Jalan Hang Tuah, Melaka 75300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Heritage Explorer Package
Ranked #54 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
George Town, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Improved , shuttle provided”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel previously and this round the service was very much better.
I booked through the hotel website. Please check with the hotel whether they have special rate if you're staying for 2 nights or more.
I get a large room (might be an executive room), king size bed , bathtub and separate shower, large closet. More like a 1 room apartment.
They offered free shuttle service to tourist attractions - dataran pahlawan, clock tower, jonker walk. Really convenient because the hotel location is a bit far from city centre and parking is really a problem.
I like this hotel's location because it's near the city centre and near the exit to the highway and expressway - without having to got through the traffic jam. Plenty of restaurants (McD, pizza, cafe and local food - nasi kandar) within walking distance and there's a supermarket in front on the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    35
    61
    36
    18
See reviews for
53
37
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Avillion is a great looking hotel, especially the outside and the foyer. The room was very big, however, the bathroom could do with some maintaince. On the whole we enjoyed our stay there and the bed was very comfortable. Newspaper is provided but no free wifi. The location is not the best unless you have a car. We only paid RM326 for 2 nights (approx A$52 per night) inc. breakfast, through the Hotel's own website, I would consider it good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I thought 100USD could get me a decent room at a place like Melaka, but apparently I was wrong. The hotel was such a disappointment. Location was relatively far from the tourist area. The non-smoking room smelled like hell. It was very dirty, noisy and old. The towels were with holes. The room was without any toothbrushes and slippers and when I asked the front desk for them and they told me those are only for 'big rooms' and we had to buy them at local store. It took 30 minutes for the front desk to get us a taxi in the afternoon due to traffic and I got multiple mosquito bites while waiting in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The Hotel looks beautiful and palatial from the Outside and the Inside. The room was nice, comfortable and cozy with a queen size bed. The hotel offered free drops and pick up from the main market areas in Melaka viz: Dataran Pehlawan Mall, Jonker Street, Melala Sentral bus stand.

The breakfast menu is pretty elaborate and they even serve a couple of vegetarian dishes in the buffet breakfast. For any Indians travelling to Melaka specially vegetarians, there is a small south Indian joint bang opposite the Hotel and offers really affordable south Indian cuisine.

One can relax as well as take beautiful pictures in the lobby.

All the main malls etc are just 5-7 min in the taxi. So is the main Bus stand.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the roadside view on a higher floor. This gives a real nice outside view. Althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Avillion Legacy Malacca has a good looking fascade. Architecture is very opulent and reminiscent of the grand palaces of countries like France. Going into the lobby, staff greet one politely then one is hit by a musty smell. Lobby now is decked out in CNY regalia.

Rooms a tad dingy, and the windows sorely need a cleanup. Can't take good pictures through the murky glass. Bed pretty comfortable and linen clean, although there were no hand towels and had to ask for foot towel.

Location: not as good as hotels near the shopping malls. Short drive to Jonker Walk, which strangely, is mostly closed at nights.

Room Tip: There is no spectacular views from either side of the hotel. Bring your own hand towels if you are u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

Was there for the new year's eve with friends to celebrate.

The hotel has a great beautiful facade which was in white and gold.

We shared two suites and it was pretty big and spacious, but looks kinda old. The sofa had this big cushion at the back which kinda slips off after lying back on it.

The bed was comfortable with nice clean sheets, seemed a bit dry from the ironing though.

The bathroom was big with and attached shower area and bathtub with old style marble tiles that resembles 5 star hotels from the past.

We asked for an extra towel and the housekeeping dept said No,and I asked why and they said they just don't give extra towels. Which I think was inflexible and outright rude. I was all ready to offer to pay for it. But fine, it was NYE.

You would have to take a cab to go to the touristy places which costs RM$15 and fifteen mins. We tried to walk to the shopping areas but it was very far. Concierge overpromised that we could walk to the shopping area in 10mins, gave us the wrong directions as well. Trust your map instead.

There's a hypermarket "The store" opposite so you can buy your groceries, drinks from there.

It was quite a pleasant stay in general minus the poor customer service.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Before i go to this hotel, i read the comments about this hotel and most of the comments are bad. After i stay here, i feel comfortable with the room. Although the hotel is silent, but overall consider not bad. The best thing is the bed, the bed is so so comfortable. The breakfast also nice but the rice too dry. I'm so happy that the food suit to my boy friend as he is a vegetarian. I'm happy to stay here and will come again when i have budget.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avillion Legacy Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avillion Legacy Melaka

Address: 146 Jalan Hang Tuah, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avillion Legacy Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avillion Legacy Melaka is a luxurious 235-room boutique hotel in Melaka offering fast and efficient Melaka hotel booking. Inspired by the city's colonial history, the hotel's architecture is further complemented by its elegant interiors, including an impressive glass dome lobby and classic Roman pillars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avillion Legacy Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avillion Legacy Melaka Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avillion Legacy Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.