We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, unique interior design and served with excellent food and drink.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calanthe Art Cafe

Calanthe Art Cafe
11. Jalan Hang Kasturi, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
+60 6062922960
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 372 Restaurants in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Get to try all different taste of authentic coffee from Malaysia 13 States'. Local cuisine, home-made desserts, varieties of drinks and many others. A place to not only to enjoy the coffee but also to relax, appreciate the building and many others.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, unique interior design and served with excellent food and drink.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

It's located near jonker street. I went this restaurant with my gf n brother. Their drinks are very special; if you order a coffee then you are able to choose which state of coffee you desire. Besides, their nyonya laksa is must try as taste good. I highly recommended this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    120
    34
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Variety of tasty food in a relaxing setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We ate here twice. There is a wide choice of meals, some local and some western as well as a big choice of coffee. The food was fresh and tasty and catered for everyone in our group. The Nonya Laksa was especially delicious and good value. It has a range of seating, including a lovely courtyard area and is a relaxing place to be. We would return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great coffees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went there 3 times, the coffees were all great, service was slow once but the way of life is a much slower place here so you have to allow the time unfortunately we were going to a tour so couldn't wait for it but next time we would be more prepared to wait.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice Coffee & MilkShake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you are fancy some nice coffee after lunch or afternoon coffee after long walking day, here is the place.

Free WIFI (which most of the shop does have it), nice variety of coffees. I have double chocolate Milkshake and required to add some banana in, it was really nice and they didnt charge me the banana which is quite rare. Food menu also looks good.....
Not sure i will return to Malaka again, but if i do, i will return to this shop for a afternoon coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
1 review
“real good laksa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have never seen a laksa I didn't like, but the laksa here was among the best I have ever had. The coffee was good, too. Joe and Christie (owners) are passionate about their business and passionate about Melaka and it shows. Joe is anak Melaka -- Malaccan -- and knows the history of the place as well as its "stories". Sometimes he leads walking tours as well. He speaks Malay, Mandarin, English, Hokkien, Cantonese and Japanese.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calanthe Art Cafe also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Calanthe Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calanthe Art Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.