We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and I like it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jalan-Jalan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jalan-Jalan to your Saves list
Jalan-Jalan
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8 Jalan Tukang Emas, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 176 Melaka B&B and Inns
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and I like it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We have stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed out time here. The room is small but cozy and very clean. I love the small garden and how Sam arranges the common bathroom. We took a bath with some vines above our head, it was nearly taking a bath in nature lol.

They have coffee and tea, wifi for free. You can even rent a bike.
Sam is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    53
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
34
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I and my friend lived there 3 nights in Melaka and it's really cool. The twin room is enough for 2 person, very clean and comfortable. Uncle Sam-the owne of hotel r is so hot. He helped us a lot. Every people is so friendly. I met a French woman backpacker in this hotel and she gave us direction to catch the bus to Melaka Sentral. If you want a budget place to relax after a long and tired day of discovering, beleive me, this hotel is the right one. Ah you also can have free wifi, coffee, tea there. Cool huh

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The double room was comfortable and I love the power showering system in the guest house which I felt refreshed after the tiring walks around Malacca town!

The coffee offered is F.O.C, and it was the best coffee i ever had in Melacca!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravensburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Jalan-Jalan, and had the double at the back of the building with the large window front to the backyard.
This room has no A/C, but a fan and a mosquito-net, and I think it is nicer that the A/C rooms, which are windowless and, as I assume, rather dark.
Our room and our bed were very clean, as were the facilities (showers and toilet in the backyard).
There is a very nice communal area where you can sit and have a cup of tea and a chat. Wi-Fi is available. If you use their computer, the first 30 minutes of internet use are free.
Coffee/tea are complimentary as well, and they have a bookshelf and magazines as well.
Laundry costs 8RM per kilo and you can hang it in the backyard (no dryer - but that's not necessary in that heat).
The guys of the hostel are very kind and organise some traveller-gatherings (dinners/parties).
All in all a nice, clean and laid-back hostel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Very easy going, laid back place. Spotlessly clean- Sam the owner is always cleaning bless him- the facilities were cleaner than most of the hotels we have stayed in! And not a bed bug in sight- Sam religiously checks all the beds and treats them regularly to avoid any problems- if you suspect there may be some on your bed he will check right away, clean it, change your sheets and treat it but I can assure you that you won't find any. Take some insect repellent though as there are a lot of mossies in Melaka, and be prepared as it is very hot! Take an air-con room in this lovely backpackers place if you can. Lee who also works there ran a "dinner club" both nights we stayed which meant we all went out for dinner together to some lovely and very cheap places in town- definitely ask about doing this if you stay there. Would definitely stay there again. Our double room had windows on 2 sides and had the appearance of being on an almost open veranda, and also had a mosquito net.

Room Tip: Go for an air-con room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memmingen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Jalan Jalan is a nice and cosy hostel with nice rooms and friendly management, located very centrally.
Toilets and shower are shared and very clean.

We had a double without AC but with huge windowfront and fan, so its possible to stay alive in the heat!

The manangers are very friendly and helpful and always had good tips for local diners and sights, they socialiced with their guests and show them arround!

Washing machine can be used for 8RM, and free wifi and tea and coffee are available.

All in all a good, clean hostel with nice people!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011 via mobile

Great management by the owner(Sam!).The guesthouse located in center of chinetown, I could find some nice gallery. and also easy to find some good local resutaurant. So nice place!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jalan-Jalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalan-Jalan

Address: 8 Jalan Tukang Emas, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jalan-Jalan 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Jalan-Jalan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalan-Jalan Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalan-Jalan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.