We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place for travellers with small budget!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emily Travellers' Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emily Travellers' Home
Save
You added Emily Travellers' Home to your Saves list
71 Jalan Parameswara, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 184 Melaka B&B and Inns
Brussels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent place for travellers with small budget!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

we stayed 4 nights at Emily and it was one of our favorites in our 5 months-trip.
Malik and Jay welcomed us at the entrance, they showed us our room ( we had booked a double-bed room with private bathroom, which is not especially necessary as they offer 2 "jungle showers" next to the living room, which are really great!) and offered us to sit in the living room with a tea. They are not arrogant at all, they have a particular philosophy, which is to welcome only budget travellers, and not the people who are in holidays for one weekend... It is their choice, and they explain it very frankly and clearly, maybe it is why some people might have been hurt with this "rule".
anyway, the price is very cheap, we paid 48rm a night with tea and coffee all the day and breakfast included. It is so cheap, don t expect a level of service as in a 5 stars. The 2 brothers are so nice, they inform you about all the nice things to see and to do during your stay, they have a service of laundry, and the location is great, in a wonderful garden, perfect to cover the noise of the street. it is then a very quiet place.
something else: we discovered a small food court in the street of Emily, 300 meters on the left of the house, and we ate the best chicken satay and fried rice of our trip, for less than 1 euro for 2 people!!! you can take away and eat it in the living room while chatting with the others travellers and the 2 wonderful hosts, as we did. We will never forget this place, zen and peaceful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
17
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Me and my significant other wanted to try Emily Trav. since hearing about their rave review in tripadvisor.com. Unfortunately, they turned me down when I told them that I was from their neighbouring country(Singapore). He even labeled us as "holidaymakers" and his hostel is supposed to be meant for backpackers.

We are going for Malacca for sightseeing as it makes us no difference from other "backpackers". We are totally disappointed with his comment though. It just show that they are biased in letting out their rooms to travelers like us.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilymelaka, Owner at Emily Travellers' Home, responded to this review, December 15, 2009
Emily Travellers' Home opened in 2007 with the intention of creating accomodation strictly for backpackers. Since we opened we have welcomed travellers from all over the world. Melaka is a very popular destination for local holidaymakers and weekenders often making the search for accomodation difficult for travellers. As our name suggests we accomodate soley for travellers who are often limited to a low budget. We apologise for having coming across as 'arrogant' as this was not our intention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

This sweet place is a wonderful old traditional home, private, charming, quiet, great location, tropical garden, rainbow shower (from the sky above !), bicycle rental down the street, great inn-keepers, 2 groovy Malay brothers who love to share music, meals, hospitality and local info.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Emly travellers' home is a quiet and beautiful spot in Melaka. The room are really cheap, we stayed in the ensuite room which was 48 RM including free coffeee and tea all day and breakfast (toast and jam). The owner is really nice and likes to chat with his guests. Emilys has a beautiful little garden with a pet rabbit that likes to play with the guests and snack on the breakfast. No a/c. You feel more like being in the country side than in a city. A lovely and charming place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emily Travellers' Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily Travellers' Home

Address: 71 Jalan Parameswara, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Melaka City is a sanctuary called Emily Travellers' Home. An old heritage building with rustic charm & a relaxed ambience. Within the walls of Emily, sits a quaint oasis - enchanted garden with streaming water welcoming you to a tranquil feeling. Amongst the lush flora & fauna creating that positive energy, peacefulness & privacy - a great simple place for weary travellers to rest & energise. With our warm & humble hospitality experience you can't help but feeling simply like "home away from home". At Emily Travellers' Home, you COME AS A GUEST, LEAVE AS A FRIEND. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emily Travellers` Home Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emily Travellers' Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.