We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an awesome stay and a very unique local experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Save Saved
You added Discovery Cafe & Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 65 Specialty lodging in Melaka
Karlsruhe, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had an awesome stay and a very unique local experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The hostel and especially the host Alan was great. Heaps of different rooms (AC, fan, dorm, double, etc), very clean facilities and good location for reasonable prices. Alan showed us around so much and made our short stay the best experience possible. 100% recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    51
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
4
29
59
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Bad stay, the pictures they shown in the booking websites are different from what u will stay in.There is actually 2 Discovery cafe guesthouse in melaka.The one with cafe in the first floor ,the rooms are really dirty and not habitable and the staffs are very rude.We were transfered to their other guesthouse ,and the staff name Allen was a very good guy.However,due to the wooden floor layout,noise input was high due to the footsteps.Also,the shared bathroom is small and disgusting.I would suggest one to add a few other bucks and stay in more comfortable stay.

Room Tip: dont stay at the one with cafe on the first floor.there is 2 discovery cafe in melaka btw
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Felt more like being in an army camp than being in a hostel, my friend wanted some water so decided to leave the hostel at around 4am and the guy who works there was not happy..even though they have no curfew! No door in the dorm so anyone staying in the hostel can walk in...strange atmosphere which is pretty much down to the guy working there...I felt like I was being watched by my Father if something went wrong, it was a clean and well organised though!

Room Tip: Go for a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I stayed just one night but really liked it! The hostel has a good location, is clean and has the best host of all, Alan. He manages this hostel and is always up for a chat. He can give recommendations and generally takes care of the hostel which is why it is in such a good shape. On top of that, it's rather cheap. Keep up the good work, Alan!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The location is good, have good Indonesia food over there, near the Jonker Street, The manager (Alan) is very friendly and helpful, and the room is Nice & Clean.
P.S. Must try the evening Cycling Tour!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennsdorf, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

If you arrive at Melaka by Bus at Melaka Sentral, a public bus to the Discovery Cafe is only RM 1,50. The location is more than great, because all the main roads are pretty close to the guesthouse. Also the river is very nice - there are a lot of cafés and it's just beautiful to walk along it at night.
I also liked the guesthouse itself, because it's very clean, the beds are comfortable and of course Allan, a staff member, helps you with everything you need that you can enjoy your stay! He's such a nice and interesting person, he's one one of the reasons why I enjoyed my stay in Melaka so much :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Me and my travel buddy arrived early in the morning in Melaka, and were dropped of by a taxi at the Discovery Guesthouse. Everything in Melaka was still closed, but we were lucky that the staff of Discovery was already opening the place. Welcomed by Allan, a very straightforward guy. "Don't get confused between my personality and attitude. My personality is who I am, my attitude defends me from who you are!". What a great guy, and we liked him from the moment we met.
The guesthouse is really clean, basic rooms with good beds. Try to get a room in the 2nd guesthouse, that is not above the cafe but just 1 minute walk away.

Every night at the Discovery Cafe there is a live band. At least, that is what they call themselves. Two Malay girls, with voices of crows, and one looks like a poisoned dwarf. Very entertaining for a couple of minutes, go back to the garage!!

I highly recommend this place, because Allan takes such good care of you, and the price-quality is really good!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Discovery Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Address: 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 65 Specialty lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Discovery Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cafe And Guest House
Discovery Cafe & Guest House Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Cafe & Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.