We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Discovery Cafe & Guest House to your Saves list
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place to stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Me and my travel buddy arrived early in the morning in Melaka, and were dropped of by a taxi at the Discovery Guesthouse. Everything in Melaka was still closed, but we were lucky that the staff of Discovery was already opening the place. Welcomed by Allan, a very straightforward guy. "Don't get confused between my personality and attitude. My personality is who I am, my attitude defends me from who you are!". What a great guy, and we liked him from the moment we met.
The guesthouse is really clean, basic rooms with good beds. Try to get a room in the 2nd guesthouse, that is not above the cafe but just 1 minute walk away.

Every night at the Discovery Cafe there is a live band. At least, that is what they call themselves. Two Malay girls, with voices of crows, and one looks like a poisoned dwarf. Very entertaining for a couple of minutes, go back to the garage!!

I highly recommend this place, because Allan takes such good care of you, and the price-quality is really good!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    59
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
5
34
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We didn't stay here but our guest house directed us here to buy bus tickets back to the LCCT airport (Air Asia/KL). When we tried to get tickets from the airport to Melaka there were none available, so we worried about getting back to the airport (taxi was RM 159). They offer a service to get you the bus tickets (at only a small service charge - RM 24 >> RM 30 per ticket) but helped us set up a taxi and had the taxi bring the tickets when he picked us up at our other guest house. It was very convenient & the Cafe itself seemed nice. It's right on the edge of Little India, which was no fun to walk around, but is in a fairly central location for wandering the riverwalk and Chinatown.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

we stayed in the discovery guesthouse for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay there. its a good location and just a 2 minutes walk to the main Street. Its clean and the manager is really nice and looks after you. Also check out the indian restaurant opposite of the road.
We would recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Discovery Guesthouse is a very nice one with a nice, familiar atmosphere. They have a good and clean dorm room with aircon at a pretty cheap price.
The Guesthouse is managed by Alan, a funny guy, who always takes care about you, helps you if you need and loves to chat and joke.
Also the other guests were friendly and I felt very welcome.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Alan's guesthouse which is located just a few meters apart from the lovely discovery cafe. The location is perfect - just in the centre of the city and very close to the best Indian (an cheap!) restaurant in town. The rooms are very clean, the beds are very comfortable and Alan always takes care that everyone is enjoying his stay at his place. And we definitly did! :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in discovery and I could not say a bad word about this accommodation it was clean, good value for money, well located and Alen who works here goes above and beyond to help you with anything you need, from recommending the best places to eat, places to visit and transport to other parts of Malaysia at the end on my time in Melaka. I would stay here again if im ever back in Melaka and wish I could of spent more time here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Still very clean, comfy, homey, and well located... I unfortunately could'nt find anything to complain about during that second stay... And believe me, I've tried hard! I've even found some improvements and I've heard they'll keep working on it! Unbelievable! Need a booking? No sweat if you don't find any vacancies on websites such as hostelworld... People should search through all the websites when booking a room at discovery because they are spread over several different ones, 'agoda' being the main site now...
But from now, sit back and relax... Melaka's waiting for you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Address: 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Discovery Cafe & Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cafe & Guest House Hotel Melaka
Discovery Cafe And Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Cafe & Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.