We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Cafe & Guest House to your Saves list
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Augsburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simple but Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

we stayed in the discovery guesthouse for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay there. its a good location and just a 2 minutes walk to the main Street. Its clean and the manager is really nice and looks after you. Also check out the indian restaurant opposite of the road.
We would recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    66
    16
    10
    10
See reviews for
6
40
78
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Discovery Guesthouse is a very nice one with a nice, familiar atmosphere. They have a good and clean dorm room with aircon at a pretty cheap price.
The Guesthouse is managed by Alan, a funny guy, who always takes care about you, helps you if you need and loves to chat and joke.
Also the other guests were friendly and I felt very welcome.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Alan's guesthouse which is located just a few meters apart from the lovely discovery cafe. The location is perfect - just in the centre of the city and very close to the best Indian (an cheap!) restaurant in town. The rooms are very clean, the beds are very comfortable and Alan always takes care that everyone is enjoying his stay at his place. And we definitly did! :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed in discovery and I could not say a bad word about this accommodation it was clean, good value for money, well located and Alen who works here goes above and beyond to help you with anything you need, from recommending the best places to eat, places to visit and transport to other parts of Malaysia at the end on my time in Melaka. I would stay here again if im ever back in Melaka and wish I could of spent more time here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Still very clean, comfy, homey, and well located... I unfortunately could'nt find anything to complain about during that second stay... And believe me, I've tried hard! I've even found some improvements and I've heard they'll keep working on it! Unbelievable! Need a booking? No sweat if you don't find any vacancies on websites such as hostelworld... People should search through all the websites when booking a room at discovery because they are spread over several different ones, 'agoda' being the main site now...
But from now, sit back and relax... Melaka's waiting for you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Originally me and my friends wanted to stay two nights in Melaka but we liked the city and Discovery that much that we prolonged. The room and facilities were nice and clean and Discovery Cafe is a good place to hang out. Plus the location is perfect, next to little India (good restaurants) and in walking distance to all sights. And don't miss out meeting Alan whose British humour is just the best!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skoczow, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

When we walked in, at first I couldn't believe my eyes... during two months of travel through Thailand and Malaysia I haven't seen so clean and cosy budget accomodation as the Discovery. We've had a dorm beds with fan and finally I could sleep well in fresh bedding and take a shower with pleasure. Alan is fantastic friendly guy with a huge knowlege about traveling around, so it was a great help for us.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Address: 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Discovery Cafe & Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cafe & Guest House Hotel Melaka
Discovery Cafe And Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Cafe & Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.