We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exactly what I was looking for!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Cafe & Guest House to your Saves list
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“exactly what I was looking for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I arrived in Melaka without having informed myself about places to go or to sleep so I was so happy to find this lovely guesthouse! It's situated in little india, you find excellent indian food just around the corner and since the location is so central most of the destinations are walking distance. I stayed in one of the rooms across the street. They are clean and very well kept, you even find a cosy livingroom with books and a sofa, plenty of information will be given to you if you ask for it. So it's the perfect place to relax or get in touch with ppl. Whatever you feel like. During the night they have karaoke at the cafe. Too bad its so loud.. you cant really have a conversation anymore and it must be anoying having a room above the cafe. So try to get a room across the street and you will be perfectly fine! I loved it!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    62
    14
    8
    8
See reviews for
5
36
69
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

"when you are checking-in at the Discovery Guesthouse reception make sure you are booked into the building you want, because there are 2 seperate buildings, one over the cafe reception which can be very noisy, especially at night with the karaoke, and the other situated behind the shops across the road, it's quieter, cleaner, and seems well maintained"

Room Tip: remember there are 2 seperate guesthouse buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

did not stay in the guest house but i did eat here and also chill with friends and some drinks. The food was good and the live band always brought me back. Maybe not the best but i did enjoy this place and so did my friend as we chilled here daily for 6 days before heading out to party.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at this place so I can't comment on the accommodation but the food in the cafe was poor and low quality. The veggie stuff smelt like damp cloths and the place smelt of human waste. The only reason we ended up here for food is due to no other place open serving veggie options. It was Chinese New Year and the veggie restaraunts, which there are loads, were all closed. Eat at your own choice but this was our experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marburg/Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Great guesthouse. Plain and simple (as guesthouses are), it's really clean. The place is run by a European, Allan. He can give you good advise aboute sights and how to get there. Apart from that, if you need anything, ask him; he's the guesthouse's good soul and made our stay at Discovery Guesthouse worth a while. He also cares for protection against mosquitoes which is not the normal case for guesthouses in Malaysia.
On the downside, it can be quite loud in the evenings because of the nearby live music performance. The rooms have no windows and the water in the showers didn't get very hot at the time we were there.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

First thing to say is that the guest house is in a prefect position for exploring the town, 5 or 10 min walk to all the sites and easy to get back to.
The room we stayed in was excellently clean and well presented with good aircon, but not a lot of room. The bathrooms where very clean and well maintained and had western toilets in all. The guesthouse manager, Alan, was also great, really friendly and helpful - even lending us an umbrella for the rain!
The only downside was the nightly 'entertainment' from the cafe, with live singing of dubious quality being pretty loud throughout the guesthouse. But it only goes on until around 12.30 so its ok really.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed in a private room for one night. After checking in at the cafe, I was led to another building across the street and through a dark alley, however the door security is good and I didn't feel any fear in the alley. Alan is very friendly and helped with any questions. The room was a little cramped and the beds were quite hard, but there is a large communal area with various books and sofas. The shower was adequately warm and never busy.

I had dinner at the cafe and the food was fantastic and reasonably priced. The live music was entertaining and I managed to meet a couple of people to make my stay extra pleasant. I would recommend this place, especially for solo travellers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Address: 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Discovery Cafe & Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cafe & Guest House Hotel Melaka
Discovery Cafe And Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Cafe & Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.