We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay next to little india” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Cafe & Guest House to your Saves list
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“pleasant stay next to little india”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

After exhausting travels I found the perfect place for me to calm down for a couple days.
It is well organised and clean.
and it is in process to make it more cosy.
Looking forward to visit the place again one day...

Room Tip: I stayed only at the section across the road, organised by Allan, didn´t see the room above the ca...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    62
    14
    8
    8
See reviews for
5
36
69
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Perfect place at a great price. Stayed in their Dorm which was almost empty, so as good as personal room. As is was roaming the whole day, so required room only for sleeping and luggage storage. Perfect place for dirt cheap price.
The Attendant Shiva, from Nepal, was also a great guy to guide you on how to go about the important places in and around city.
Its location is also great, just at the start of China Town, the tourist area.

Room Tip: Dorm is a good place to stay cheap unless u have problems reaching out to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I booked two rooms for two nights for my family of five at The Discovery Cafe in Central Melaka and it was a really good place to stay. Very central to all the places that we wanted to see on our weekend break away from KL the guest house was extremely clean, run by people who were serious about making sure that place was always at its best and the RM 60 per room per night also included coffee and toast in the morning. I have to make special mention of Alan who clearly takes great pride in making sure that the place is kept in tip top shape and Diana who runs the cafe and bar with cheery enthusiasm. Go and stay there. I will book for the same guest house the next time we visit Melaka. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

this place was great right in the heart of melaka and the staff were fantastic so friendly and helpful and just made my stay there so cumfortable! allan was great to chat with and a great bloke always trying to help and the owner was very relaxed and helpful with a smile on his face! i suggest sparing some time to have a drink with the staff as they are great fun! i thoughroully enjoyed the say and recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: get air con room its hot in melaka
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed in a nice, fairly small room with a double bed, an en-suite and a brilliantly cold air-con and even got a small breakfast the next day for RM 60.00 (about AUD$25) plus a RM 30.00 key deposit (which you get back) in the guest room which is across the road from the main cafe part. Diane the owner was very helpful and Alan the caretaker was a great bloke with tons of local knowledge and years of travel experience and only too happy to help! The cafe was full of character and a great place to have a beer and listen to the live music that was on. Definitely would return if I ever went back to Melaka which was easily my favourite part of my Malaysian holiday!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A true backpacker's spot! Helpful staff, clean and cozy dorms. Good place to organise your upcoming travels. Alan, the manager ( or housekeeper ;)), puts a lot of work into the guesthouse to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Check out the Indian Restaurant right next door! Talk to Alan, he's a legend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padang, Indonesia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It is good for you to inform the staff when you will arrive. The hostel will be open around 10a.m. I arrived at 7 a.m. Fortunately, I met its driver then he contact the owner to welcome me. It's very nice to stay for a day in this hostel. It's very closed to St. Francis Xavier church and the tourist attractions. This time I got a room that has no door. It's okay because I need to check out early, I don't need to deposit another ringgit to guarantee the key.

Room Tip: If you love to stay privately, you need to ask the room that has door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Cafe & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Cafe & Guest House

Address: 3 Jalan Bunga Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Discovery Cafe & Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Cafe & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Cafe & Guest House Hotel Melaka
Discovery Cafe And Guest House

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Cafe & Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.