We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful guesthouse - fabulously charming, great location, super clean & family friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Layang Layang Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Layang Layang Guest House to your Saves list
Layang Layang Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   26, Jalan Tukang Besi, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 178 Melaka B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Beautiful guesthouse - fabulously charming, great location, super clean & family friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My family and I enjoyed stayed at Layang-Layang while holidaying in Malacca recently. It’s a quaint guesthouse with a nostalgic atmosphere that has all the modern amenities (including free Wi-Fi) which provided comfort and convenience for families (with or without children), small groups, backpackers or anyone looking for a perfect smog-free 'getaway' from any city! What we liked about Layang-Layang are its clean air-conditioned bedrooms (with very comfy beds) and its many ultra-clean shared bathrooms (yes! eventhough the bathrooms are shared they are absolutely spotless - all thanks to Layang-Layang's small band of dedicated staff!). There's even a small pantry for all the guests to use (with free hot & cold water, coffee and biscuits). And we really made use of it as we had to prepare food for our baby! Amazingly every guest who stayed in Layang-Layang kept the pantry spick and span! We also liked Layang-Layang's airy courtyard where we had our breakfast and afternoon tea listening to water cascading into a koi pond (with eight large beautiful kois)! You’ll also find a well (great for anyone who hasn't seen one before!) at one end of the courtyard. Another thing about Layang-Layang is its location; it's just a stone-throw away from Jonker's Street and all the wonderful local Malacca cuisine (ondeh-ondeh, chendol, nyonya delicacies and lots more!). It's a great location for treasure hunters too! I can say many more good things about Layang-Layang but it's suffice to say that if you're planning your holiday to Malacca you'll find it more memorable staying in Layang-Layang. And you might even get to meet the friendly couple who passionately created Layang-Layang! Layang-Layang is worth checking out! :)

Room Tip: Layang-layang is your home away from home! Enjoy your stay but treat it like your home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi ThadEve,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate the time you spent to post this review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Layang Layang Guest House together with your family. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
10
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I've been to Layang Layang guesthouse first time 2007 and ended up staying for a week because I liked the vibe. The location is the same, but everything has been upgraded. The place is clean and has good security. I stayed in 3 person room which was quite basic, but I liked it anyway. Showers and toilets are shared. I would recommend this to everyone who dont want to spend big bucks but still prefer to have a nice place to stay. Location is excellent as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi jsompinm,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate the time you spent to post this review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Layang Layang Guest House.

We believe that the guesthouse was still operated by another owner during your first visit in 2007. It was then upgraded and changed its ownership since December 2013 to become today's Layang Layang Guest House.

Thank you again, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We got to Melaka late in the evening with no reservation and found this great place. Beautiful guesthouse with a large patio and very good vibe. The staff was super friendly and the place is very clean and neat. Definitely the friendliest on our 2 month travel from Bangkok to Borneo.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi Lucas_climbing,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate the time you spent to post this review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Layang Layang Guest House. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

It's the first time I come to Melaka and the first time I come to this Hostel.
It's really a good hostel that I know. There are a good place to come. It have lovely boss and funny staff, they are so kind and friendly.
Really feel comfortable with the room & environment.
It stay in the old town, so quite and nice.
Security is so good. Clean and art <3 love it!

Room Tip: High floor with view to street or the pool with fish is a good choice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi hanhienvn,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate the time you spent to post this review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Layang Layang Guest House. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Layang Layang is simply the best guest house I've ever stayed and I have stayed in many guest houses all over the world. The first thing that strikes me is the very welcoming atmosphere of the facade and the beautiful and artistic decorations. I was hesitant to ask cause it looks expensive but my doubts were put to rest by the super friendly owner and staff. The interior is really fantastic and has an old charm combine with new world facility (you will be amaze by the toilet & shower facilities). The rooms has queen size bed and very comfortable with a/c. I have to mention again about the owner (Hong & Daphne) and staff (John & Farukh) as they are very accommodating and treats all guests like old friends and was lucky together with other guests to be given a tour of Malacca beach and taste of famous local food. Another great is the guest house is centrally located and within easy access to everything in Malacca. The neighbours are friendly too and its seems like you are walking down your own street. I highly recommend to everyone who wants to have the best experience of a guest house to stay at Layang Layang...thats the ONLY guest house i will stay whenever I go back to Malacca.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi SamSG2014,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate the time you spent to post this review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Layang Layang Guest House. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampang, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Good decorations clean room clean toilet (my number 1 priority) friendly staff and to top it all it was located in one of the most strategic location compared to all the other stay over I have patron in Malacca. You can just park your vehicle in front or nearby the guest house and spend all your other nights travelling around the heritage, take photos & hunt for local delicacies just by your feet!! Almost all Malacca famous spots are within walking proximity of this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne_layang-layang, Owner at Layang Layang Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi yeochangkeat,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate the time you took to post this review. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Layang Layang Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layang Layang Guest House

Address: 26, Jalan Tukang Besi, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Layang Layang Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Layang Layang Guest House which is located at "The harmony Street" (Black Smith Street) or Jalan Tukang Besi in "Malay" today. It is also situated along with the better known Jonker Street a.K.A Jonker Walk , the famous local Chinese night market and Heeren Street.Ever since the awarding of the world heritage historical site in year 2008, Layang Layang aims to work hand in hand with the world heritage organization in preserving our building to the most originality as it is today. Also not forgetting the lifestyle of the local Malacca people.Layang Layang Guest House has been fully restored and renovated according to these very rich cultures of the local people today.Nevertheless, some combinations of modern and heritage design had been applied to enchance the pleasure of staying for our guest. Wooden craft furniture, antique decorations, fine wall painting, courtyard garden with fish pond had been added for the maximum artistic energy atmosphere.The street which is best known as "the harmonious street " is because of the three main local religion that has its own secret worship temple's and mosque located at these little peaceful street. The respective temples and mosque would be Kampung Kling Mosque (Islam, since 1748), Sri Poyyatha Vinayagar Moorthi Temple (Hinduism, since 1781), Cheng Hoon Teng Temple (Taoism, Buddhism, Confucianism, since 1646), and finally Sam DuoTemple (Buddhism, since 1795). Convenient store, laundry, local food stall, pubs and bistro is just around the corner.Our objective is to cater travellers that are looking for the most comfortable, clean, relaxing hospitality and more reasonable pricing from all around the world.Layang- Layang wish to say " Selamat Datang" , Welcome to all. IMPORTANT HOUSE RULES: We do not operate our guesthouse 24 hours a day. However, one of our staff is staying inside the guesthouse at Room 8. Our operating hour is 10.00 am to 9.00 pm. Our check-in time is 2.00 pm to 9.00 pm only. We are also pleased to keep your luggage if you arrive before 2.00 pm. We shall not attend to any late check-in from 10.00 pm until 9.00 am the next day. Please take note that you are required to present your identification card (for Malaysians) or passport (for non-Malaysians) and marriage certificate (for Muslims) upon check-in, failing which will result in denied check-in with no refund. You have to be 18 years of age to make a reservation and check in to the guesthouse. Otherwise, the management may deny check-in with no refund. Your room(s) will only be reserved and confirmed once we have received your payment. All payments made are non-refundable. No refund will be made for any cancellations. One bed space is only allowed for one person. Extra mattress(es) is / are compulsory should the number of guests exceeds the initial capacity of the room (Eg.: A Standard Room (with / without window) is only able to accommodate up to 2 persons, Deluxe Room for 2 persons, Triple Room for 3 persons, Family Room for 4 persons). A child of 7 years or below may stay free of charge on existing bed. Smoking is strictly prohibited within the guesthouse premises. Talk softly after 12.00 am and walk gently on first floor with wooden flooring. Running is strictly prohibited on first floor with wooden flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Venere, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Layang Layang Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sama-Sama Guesthouse Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Layang Layang Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.