We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fragrant Rice Balls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chung Wah Chicken Rice Ball

Chung Wah Chicken Rice Ball
Jonker Street, Melaka, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 371 Restaurants in Melaka
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fragrant Rice Balls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The rice balls were pretty fragrant, though I still consider them to be mild. The chicken is rather tender, but the taste is slightly bland.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    55
    46
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melaka
2 reviews
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am a big fan ! One of the most favorite place to eat during weekdays and to avoid on weekends , the que will start as early as 9 am

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Try it if u have patience queuing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

My friends and I went to try the very first time during the Raya break. Arrived at 12pm and the queue was long. Waited under the hot sun with umbrella for 1 hour 45 mins before we're finally given a table. Do not go too late as when the numbers run out even though you have been queuing for a very long time, u may end up in disappointment as their chicken/chicken rice ball had finished and u were only informed much later after that. We were one of the last few ones who manage to get nums and was told those who have nums are safe. Yay! They only serve chicken rice balls, chicken and drinks. No other side dishes. Rice ball is really tasty! The best in malacca so far I've tried! Steam chicken is awesome! Tasty, juicy and tender meats. We have 4 pax and ordered 1 whole chicken and it comes with 30 rice balls. No issues finishing up at all. The chilli sauce is really tasty! Bill is also cheap as it only sums up to RM 40 exclude drinks. Will definitely return when there arent any holiday season! Also to remember bring along an umbrella when you Q! The downside is only the long Q and they have limited tables as it is not a very big coffee shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

They serve only chicken rice and drinks. Long lines outside this tiny restaurant at the entrance to the famous Jonker Walk will put you off this place. However, if you time your visit well, then you will be happy that you went here. We went only for lunch. Very basic set up but great food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the garlic sauce for the chicken”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The queue was crazily long during lunch time.. we went there at about 3pm and was one of the last few customers..
the rice ball was disappointing as they were bland and cold..
but I really love the sauce on the chicken as the garlic makes it really fragrant..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chung Wah Chicken Rice Ball also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Chung Wah Chicken Rice Ball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chung Wah Chicken Rice Ball, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.