We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst chicken rice ball in Melaka...next to Famosa chicken rice.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Huang Chang Chicken Rice Ball

Huang Chang Chicken Rice Ball
BB-376, Taman Melaka Baru, Melaka 75350, Malaysia
06-3170299
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 367 Restaurants in Melaka
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Malaysian
Restaurant details
1 review
“The worst chicken rice ball in Melaka...next to Famosa chicken rice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Don't understand what is so good about the chiken rice there. The chicken is tender but very dry. The rice ball is also a little too small (quail egg size) beside being dry and cold.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Qingdao, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spotted another branch resto out of Jonker Street.
I recommend all food except the fish ball. If you stay long enough in China, you don't trust that kind of food! Not nutritious, not 100%natural.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good choice on busy weekends, if you have own transport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We usually go for the famous ones in Jonker Street. But during our last visit, which was on a very busy school holiday weekend, queues on Jonker Street started at 10 am. So we decided to drive out a little to try out this eatery.

This little 'coffee shop' style restaurant is about 15 mins drive from the city centre. Although there are queues, they quickly disappear thanks to an efficient system of pay and order first, eat later. The chicken was tender, the rice balls yummy. I prefer the chilli sauce from Jonker street though.

Maybe indeed the food at the popular ones at Jonker street tasted a tad better, but I'd definitely come back here many times to avoid the long queues under the hot sun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Closed for no reason”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

After seeing some good reviews, drove all the way here just to find it has closed?! During peak dinner hours?!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

nothing much to say, but try it out yourself. food is always freshly cooked & waiting time is at a minimum. good value for money too

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huang Chang Chicken Rice Ball also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Huang Chang Chicken Rice Ball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huang Chang Chicken Rice Ball, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.