We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nyonya Makko Restaurant

Nyonya Makko Restaurant
No. 123, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
+60 6-284 0737
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 344 restaurants in Melaka
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Whenever we visit Melaka, we will definitely have at least a meal at Makko. My kids loved Makko's ponteh chicken, daun keledek and cendol. Fortunately these still tasted great. However, tauhu was just average and the chilli fish (see photo) looks much better than it tasted. Fish was not as fresh and chilli was bland. Not only the fish was the big let down, the price too - it was 50% of our total bill.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    16
    37
    23
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“will visit again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

All popular Peranakan restaurants in Melaka need reservation, otherwise be prepared to wait.
Although Makko might not be the best Peranakan restaurant, but the food served is tasty and satisfying. Our kids always clean their plates!

We recommend :
- Chap Chye (vegetable)
- Asam Prawn (not spicy for very fragrant)
- Potato curry chicken
- Ngong Hiang (meat roll)
- the sambal fish are also popular but we have to skip (kids)

We always end our meal with cendol dessert.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

if you havent tried peranakan food, you maybe wowed or impressed. But for the finer tastebuds... You will be disappointed. The belachan is blended not pounded. The flesh of the buah keluak is not removed and checked and mixed with mince pork and stuffed back in. As a result, you are eating it as it is... hard. The rempah was not mixed with sufficient ingredients. .. it tastes neither rich nor aromatic... simply riddled w salt in an attempt to make up for the taste. In short, I felt that took much hype for this place and to cope with the amount of ppl patronising this place., lots of short cuts are taken in their prep.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Chendol in Malaka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The restaurant is located 2 mins away from our hotel, Hatten Melaka. The speed of food delivery is amazing. 3 of us ordered ayam buah keluak, prawn omelette, fried chicken and garlic fried sweet potato leaves. My son loves the prawn omelette best. Actually, it really tastes very good. For dessert, we initially ordered 2 chendol as we were disappointed with the chendol that we had in jonker street the day before. When my son tasted my chendol, we finished it so quick that we ordered another one. The gula melaka used in the chendol taste good and so is the green chendol.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disinterested & Unhelpfull Staff, Tastless food. Sombre Atmosphere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Went for lunch, All the waitresses sitting around talking disinterested in showcasing there restaurant, food, culture, heritage, traditions ect.

Food was fast, But flavourless asked for salt and sweet chilli to add flavour, Salt arrived, Still waiting for sweet chilli...

The orange juice was fanta..

I will not eat here again.

Tip, Wander up a little further to porrige house, Food amazing, People friendly and interesting. There menu is not in english how ever speak with the pleastly plump lady she will suggest menu choices in english.. (dinner only til 2am) Try the Mongolian Pepper Chicken!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nyonya Makko Restaurant also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Nyonya Makko Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nyonya Makko Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.