We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated tourist trap” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hoe Kee Chicken Rice Ball

Hoe Kee Chicken Rice Ball
4 Jalan Hang Jebat, Melaka, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 399 Restaurants in Melaka
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Overrated tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The quality of food at this joint is average at best in my opinion. I am a hygienic freak. I tend to observe the cleanliness and hygiene of the places i eat at and of the chefs/waiters at these places. What I was disgusted with was that I saw a waiter collecting unfinished rice balls from tables and putting them on the table where the food is prepared for new customer orders. I hope they are not recycling these left over rice balls to new customers.

The only plus for this place is the old world feel in this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    50
    53
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Chicken Rice balls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Delicious chicken rice balls. The lady was very helpful and showed us how to eat them. They are delicious and filling; a very good breakfast!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hadley rille
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“local chicken rice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

the best of the chicken rice restaurants on jonkers street. locals favorite. not expensive. get you some chicken!! busy busy busy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Chicken Rice Holiday Package”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The auntie "salesperson" sold holiday package for chicken rice where we cannot choose dishes. It is a standard chicken rice package to suit their convenience as they have a long queue outside the shop. However, after we sat down, there were at least 3-5 seats empty so we gathered that they wanted to keep a long queue outside to create a "hot-selling" image of the chicken rice.

The rice is bad, soft and mushy with lots of broken rice.
The chili is bad, garlicky and watery with little hint of chili.

The chicken on the other hand is quite alright in terms of taste. The meat is a little tough probably because they use kampong chicken.

Overall, if you dont mind average chicken rice, pls try.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just go for the chicken rice balls and chicken!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hoe Kee is probably the most popular chicken rice ball restaurant in Jonker Walk. There's usually a long line during lunch time on weekends to indicate its popularity. And that's the problem... they've specialized the menu to the point where you're there just to eat and get out! There's no atmosphere to speak of, even though the inside of the restaurant has potential to be properly decorated for "ambience". Even the ordering system reeks of fast food, where they make you order your chicken combinations (chicken rice balls, chicken rice or plain rice, cabbage or no cabbage accompanying the boiled chicken).
Even though the chicken and rice balls are the best in the area, it's a little to spartan to enjoy the meal, unlike Famosa's main outlet. The chili sauce is pretty weak and the service was good, if impersonal during the meal. The lady at the door bid us good bye on exit with a smile and thank you.
My advice: Just go for the chicken rice balls and chicken as a meal and not expect anything else. Also to avoid the crowd, go a bit earlier or later than 12-2.30pm to avoid lining up in the sun.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoe Kee Chicken Rice Ball also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Hoe Kee Chicken Rice Ball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoe Kee Chicken Rice Ball, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.