We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ringo's Foyer Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ringo's Foyer Guest House to your Saves list
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
46-A Jln Portugis, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Sanur, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hostel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at Ringo and find it very good for value. Since we spent mostly going out sightseeing, we didn't get to stay in the room so much. But the room is decent and clean. For the money we have paid, it is definitely worth the value. Plus the location central and it is just behind Jonker Walk and other attractions. Howard is very friendly and you can ask him anything that you need. We rented bikes from him too as it is cheaper. He also does a regular Cycling Dinner Tour that I can see everyone enjoyed. I would highly recommend Ringo for budget traveller.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    32
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
27
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Driving to Melaka from KL, one of my main concerns was parking. At Ringo's, there is a parking lot just next to the building, and several others scattered nearby, which makes it an ideal place for those driving to Melaka (as most of the touristy places are parking nightmares!).

My aircon double room (at the building front) was spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms are all at the other end of the building, though. The bathrooms are quite basic - enough for you to do your "business" and/or take a shower.

Decent wifi connection is available throughout the building. The common area is cozy, and coffee/tea is available all day at the pantry. Toast is provided for breakfast (although I didn't have my breakfast inhouse, as I wanted to try the local delicacies nearby). Canned drinks/beers & bottled water are also available at reasonable prices.

The main attraction would be the rooftop. It is windy throughout the day/night, and a cozy place to chill out and fellowship with the other guests there.

The popular Jonker Walk area is located just 200 metres down the road. As such, although it is not smack in the middle of the busy area, it is within easy reach. And at the T-junction down the road from the guesthouse, there is a quaint little shop called "De Zus", in which I had some decent local food at reasonable prices.

Overall, it's a pretty decent budget place to stay and explore Jonker, as well as to meet people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The rooms were really basic and so hot that I couldn't sleep.
The Mattress and pillows were disgusting, old, dirty and brandmarked by the bedbugs.
I had bedbugs. It was painful!!!

Howard is nice, but it's not worth staying there

Room Tip: Simply don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hostel is the place to stay in melaka. The super friendly host makes everyone feel welcome and really shows you the city. Cycling tours, restaurant tours and even tours of the local market made this a super fun place to stay. It was very easy to meet people so a great place to stay if you are a solo traveller.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The beds were old and creaky, mattresses not very clean or thick. It isn't very quiet due to the fans, traffic and mosque. The dorms are small which is nice, bathrooms are basic. Breakfast is just toast. A very personal experience- the owner is really high energy and very sweet. Close enough to the Main Street in Chinatown, but not above and beyond value wise.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This guesthouse would have to be my number one favourite hostel I stayed in this trip.
The atmosphere is amazing.
Howard the owner here makes it such a unique experience.
When I arrived he introduced me to everyone which was good because I was travelling alone, he also took everyone there on a bike tour to dinner and on the weekend took us to the markets.
Pretty basic hostel with toast for breakfast but for 5 dollars it is definitely worth every cent and more.
I even went back to Melaka but ended up couch surfing with a friend there and Howard recognised me walking down the street and said hello! Would recommend for everyone!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

One of the most sociable places you could wish to stay whilst travelling in Malaysia. Howard the owner\manager is a brilliant host and has countless interesting stories about his upbringing in Maleka (including one about his Chinese grandad and a monkey brain - ask him!) If you're travelling solo this hostel is a great way to bump into some like minded people, and its a very fair price for all the fun you will have here.

Thanks Howard and I hope you do make it to the UK to travel one day (just remember to visit the Hebrides and not Blackpool)

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ringo's Foyer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringo's Foyer Guest House

Address: 46-A Jln Portugis, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Ringo's Foyer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringo`s Foyer Guest House Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ringo's Foyer Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.