We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nearby Jonker's walk,affordable clean budget hotel...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hallmark Hotel to your Saves list
Hallmark Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68, Jalan Portugis | Off Jalan Kubu, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 146 Hotels in Melaka
KL
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“nearby Jonker's walk,affordable clean budget hotel...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Booked into this place for the 2nd time and it was with my family,simply cos other hotels were booked up and the rest of us were staying at Aldy Hotel.

The check in was fast and no deposit required for the room,as we booked through Agoda.The staff seem new and looked anxious so check in was slightly slow this time.Parking can be a hassle if you have a huge car its quite difficult to manouver and park at the hotel's parking at the back lane,they shud get rid of that rusty steel box to make it easier to park.If you cant do all the stunts that me and my brother did for 30 mins, you can always opt to pay RM 3 and park just opposite at a vacant parking lot,at your own risk.

Jonker's street is just about 80 metres away and you can walk to reach there by foot.Otherwise to drive out for food can be a bit of a hassle especially on Saturday nights,just grab your dinner at Jonker's itself to make life easier.Breakfast is simple with nasi lemak and mee goreng with other items.This is a budget hotel,and the room size can vary from a large one to a small one,but the bathrooms are clean and the whole room is tidy and spotless.

Will definitely check in at this place again,as have stayed here a few times.O f course if the place is refurbished and upgraded it would be more pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    23
    38
    10
    8
See reviews for
30
24
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Not recommended. I only stayed here because I arrived late at night and needed a place quickly. Distinctly unfriendly counter staff, acted like they were doing me a big favor by serving me. Default setting: indifference.

The room was actually not too bad except for the stench of cigarettes which also prevades the entire building. No non-smoking rooms available.

Shower worked well, the room had been adequately cleaned but the bed was very hard. Aircon seemed to have one setting: full blast and freezing, so turned it off.

Breakfast was included but a pretty drab affair. The breakfast area is dreary and ill-kempt. Windows and front door are dirty. Malaysian coffee/kopi with horrid artificial creamer, cheap n nasty bread for toast.

Someone with an ounce of ability needs to take over this place and turn it into a real hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel is located at the edge of the busy Jonker Walk. That's about all that is good about this hotel, location! Other than that, expect to be welcomed by rude staffs and poorly maintained rooms. Look elsewhere as there are more worthy hotels around the area. Surcharge is a norm at this hotel, so prepare to be over charged. Will never put up there again ever!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the noisy and busy main roads in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. The room was clean and the toilet and shower were good. Pricewise, it was a little bit more than I wanted to spend but the accommodation was decent so I didn't mind too much. If you leave the hotel and turn left you'll head towards Jonkers Street which is great. Make sure you try the Chicken Rice Balls. If you turn right out of the hotel and walk to the petrol station, then go right again over the bridge and walk for 10 minutes you'll reach a little cake shop called Saint Merry on Jalan Munshi Abdullah street, it's opposite a large hotel. It is simply fantastic and amongst the best cakes I've ever eaten. It's definitely worth the walk there. Make sure you try the Taiwanese Cream Cakes and the freshly made pineapple tarts, which are much better than the ones in Jonkers Street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We bought the package through GroupOn. It was Double Bed room. Found that the room clean and neat but it was a bit different from the hotel picture, i'm a bit disappointed. Everything was okay and satisfied, just the bathroom. The drain hole was clogged, they need to repair this thing which it disturbing your value time with water. We missed the welcome drink and breakfast because too exhausted sight-seeing around Malacca. My husband and I will come back if they improve the drain matters. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband & I stay there a night for leisure, it was terrible experience. Sound eco was bad, can hear sound from all upstairs, down stair and neighbours..air Cond was very noisy, house keeping is bad, we saw cigarette butt near window, bed cover has smell and not clean. Worst part is the toilet, shower head has water dripping on & off, quite noisy. Sit wash closet cover was damn dirty, can see huge dark spot underneath it which make us feel awful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for a night, Triple Room
Room & Bathroom : Clean & pleasant.
Buffet Breakfast: Basic, simple & tasty.
Staff: Friendly & helpful.
May stay again in the future.
Nearby the town.
The room is not very small since my 2 years daughter can play around in the room.
For those who are looking for a short stay, should consider this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hallmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel

Address: 68, Jalan Portugis | Off Jalan Kubu, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 146 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel is a 2 star budget hotel in malacca malaysia. We provide accomodation at very reasonable prices. The hotel is strategically situated in the city center near many major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Budget Places, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hallmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.