We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of tourists, but great satay!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Geographer Cafe

Geographer Cafe
83, Jalan Hang Jebat, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
+60-6-2816813
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 371 Restaurants in Melaka
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Vegetarian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Full of tourists, but great satay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We went here because we saw good reviews online. I dont know what the big deal is - an average cafe catering for tourists. We ordered some beer and cocktails (made v well, though slightly pricey at 18-28 rgt each). We had some satay which was really nice and recommended. The service is average - for instance, I waited for the toilets for 10 minutes before finding out that a code was needed. Even then, it was a squat toilet (only a urinal for men, no toilet). You can use the loo for 30 cents if you dont dine. There are several tvs around the venue with a video of people dancing in the bar at night (badly!) on a loop. The outdoor parts face the roads but are in the shade which is good for cooling down in the heat.

Overall, glad had a nice time but nothing out of the ordinary!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    204
    103
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“At least it is open...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Jonkers on a wendesday night seems quite dead! The geographer isopen great musique great selection of drinks and the food was also very good. Service was friendly and efficient by malay standards.
Really just sit down listen and enjoy...relax!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Perfect location. Good food and cold beers.
Fun place to stop in and meet people from all over the world.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Food;)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Me and my Lovely wife stayed in Melaka for 3 days,and been eating in Geographer Cafe almost everyday,food was very tasty,we have tried spring rolls,both fresh and the cook ones,chicken satay,NASI LEMAK,and few another's dishes,all of them were delicious!!!Place it's self is in heart of China Town,and the nice look inside,i know is sound wierd actually reminds us of some places in South America:) they played Latin music,when we were there,we really liked that ;)))
One small minus is that we been waiting for food for while,but from other side,they prepared everything fresh;)

B.u.J.o xxx ;()

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimhae, South Korea
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Took forever to get one dish (but it was yummy!)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

It wasn't that busy when we came here for lunch and yet the one dish we ordered took AGES to get to us. However, the food (cashew nut chicken) was really tasty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geographer Cafe also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Geographer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geographer Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.