We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden, healthy food, misunderstood price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bhakti Kutir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bhakti Kutir to your Saves list
Bhakti Kutir
Palolem Beach, Canacona 403702, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Canacona
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden, healthy food, misunderstood price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Bhakti Kutir is a wonderful place situated in the jungle with a couple of eco bamboo bungalows distributed along the losh and well kept garden. The bungalows are simple but furnished affectionately. We haved enjoyed this green oasis as well as the variety of healthy food in the restaurant. The beach is about 5 minutes to walk.

The place integrates well into the jungle and for us it felt normal to share it with a one-hour mosquito rush and small animals like frogs, mice, cats and a few insects.
Hot shower has to be ordered about half an hour in advance and means shoveling hot water from a bucket - which was actually nicer than a lot of showers we had before. Sad is only the the soap water flows directly into the ground - which is not very eco like!

Sleeping can be quite difficult with fireworks and dance music from the beach as well as motorbikes and dog fighting around the place. Lastly on the day of payment there has been a misunderstanding of the price. We had been told the price of 1500 Rs instead of 2500 Rs per night which they demanded then. In the end, they agreed on the first price but showed their discontentment and left us with a bad feeling - that is why it is only 4 star!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    14
    11
    14
See reviews for
15
40
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

firstly, this place is WAY overpriced.....they seem to take pride in ripping you off and charge very different rates to different people. even food and drinks are ridiculously overpriced.

i was lucky i had a clean room, i heard others were filthy. wildlife is to be expected, so expect rats, toads, dogs, cats and plenty of mosquitos

the staff sounded very friendly but actually if you listen hard or watch them, they are sarcastic and tell you how nice a customer was to give them a big tip last week (as an example).....i found this patronising. they really seem to take pride in ripping tourists off. i'd recommend lots of other nearby places in patnem, i'd definitely not stay here again. blaring music could be heard every night but as it wasnt coming from bhakti, they werent interested.

must say the security man is lovely, but that was the only positive

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We arrived at Bhakti Katir after recommendation from the guide book and for the price (5500 rps per night), had high expectations.

Lovely setting, just at the South end of the beach in the woods. Beware though, a tuk tuk home from Palolem beach is the only option after dark if your torchless, the walk back is 100m of unlit, rocky, wooded ground and you'll be competing with pigs and dogs for right of way.

There are mosquitos everywhere and if youre newly arrived in India, they will eat you alive atr Bhakti. Whilst a mosquito net is provided in the rooms, the whole complex is a mozzy danger zone. We stayed in a hut with a well outside which was a hotbed for moquitio action so were paid regular visits day and night. And watch out for the massage room as bites and rubs come in equal measure.

We highly commend Bhakti's back-to-nature eco-approach and the complex of huts is charming and rudimentary. However, if sacrificing basic bathroom comfort is not your idea of a holiday, which it isn't for us, avoid this accomodation. Dumping in a shallow hole in the floor, just yards from your pillow, doesn't bode well for a relaxing stay.

All a bit too basic and all for one of the most expensive room tariffs in Palolem.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We spent 5 nights at Bhakti, over the New Year's Eve period. It's the ideal place if you are into yoga and relaxation. Our hut (number 3) was very spacious and romantic (in a simple way), but very simply furnished. It had a veranda with a couple of day beds, ideal for an afternoon snooze or book reading. The en-suite bathroom was large, very basic and with a stone floor and we were lucky enough to have a westernized toilet (as well as the Indian one), however the shower was cold. We were told that hot water could be provided in buckets on request within 15 minutes, but as the weather was very warm we never felt the need for it. In terms of cleanliness, you can request for your hut to be cleaned daily, but you have to accept that, being a hut in the middle of a tropical garden, things like small frogs and insects are quite common. Also, we found some animal droppings in the bathroom a couple of times.. Not sure which animal though. The compound is a lovely tropical setting with plants and trees hiding a hut from the other. In the centre there is a reception and a restaurant were lovely, healthy food is freshly prepared. There are also other facilities available like massages, yoga sessions, beauty treatments and cooking classes.
We were charged a fortune (almost double the amount) as we booked our accommodation for the New Year's period, otherwise the huts are fairly priced.
Comparing to the cluttered beach resorts of Palolem, this is a secluded, luxury place for those who love a bit of peace and quite, as well as space. One thing that has to be noted here is that our hut was very close to the kitchen, so not ideal for late risers as we are, because hell seemed to break lose with noise from 8:30 am onwards. The other huts were much more lucky from that point of view.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

It is a rustic place, so if you're looking for a hotel-type place this is not it. We stayed here 4/5 nights and had a very nice time, while we did feel like we were camping a bit. It's not on the beach & you have to walk a few minutes to get down there, but these huts are nicer than the ones we saw on the actual beach. I'm not sure if there are more traditional hotel-type accommodations in the area.

We did find frogs and lizards and even a cat (ha!) in our room. But, it didn't really bother me. There are gaps in the walls we had a rooftop balcony that opened right into our room. It seems like bugs and critters are to be expected in a place like this. There were TONS of mosquitos when were sitting outside; not sooo much in our room. They provide a mosquito repellant there, but we found that it did not work at all. You should probably bring your own to India anyway. There are a few dogs around, but again - it really didn't bother us and that's how it is in India except at expensive/resorty hotels. I didn't hear any howling at night, but a few during the day. Lots of crows, though. Oh man. The crows! There were pretty songbirds, as well. But India is just covered with loud crows.

There is cold water, but they will bring you hot on request. The bathroom was just okay. I wish there was a little more light and the roof leaked when it rained and it felt like it was never dry & aired out until they came and cleaned our room. It was definitely rustic, but served its purpose.

Our room itself was charming and comfortable and clean. Clean sheets and towels. Most important to me. .

We enjoyed all of our meals at their restaurant. Yummy juices. Excellent fish. They seemed to have 2 different boards up with the menu, so if you see one that just has snacks, take another look for the second one that might be oddly placed around the corner.

My husband did yoga & said the instructor was excellent. The yoga mats were quite dirty and the mosquitos were in full affect. So, be prepared.

Some of the staff was great. Some were indifferent.

They have a computer you can hop on. And the electricity will go out here & there.

Overall, we were comfortable enough. And we'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I would like to start the reveiw by stating that the staff were lovely and amazing people. They service was always thoughtful and charming. Upon arrival we were delighted. A bit like posh camping we thought. The outdoor bathroom with squat toilet was going to be an adventure that we were happy to embrace.

Unfortunately we arrived at the tail end of a very long monsoon season. We have been told it NEVER rains in November. For our 8 day stay more than half the days were rained out. As a result we were confined to Bhakti Kutir for much of the time we were there.

And so we got to know our friend Mr Rat rather well. Mr Rat would only come into the room when we were sleeping or out. He would let us know he had been there by crapping over the side table, our bed and clean clothes. We were horrified. We spoke to reception who said that it was normal to have rats. We spoke to our local friends who confirmed that they were country rats and not dirty city rats. This did not make us feel any better. We had no food in the hut and could not work out why the rat was coming in.

As a result of the rain also we ended up eating at the Bhakti Kutir restaurant quite a bit. It was nice food and great service but there were dogs allowed to hang around and they peed on everything. The table legs, the chairs, the book case, the computer table. It turned our stomachs.

We appreciate that Bhakti is trying to lead the area in eco friendly tourism. Canacona and Palolem beach have wonderful natural assest spoilt by things like dogs crapping on the beach. Who wants to go and lie on the beach you have just watched a dog crap on? This is a big challenge to the whole area and probably not just Bhakti Kutir. Our local friends were adament that Bhakti Kutir was the best accommodation in the area and many other people staying there seemed to be happy.

For those keen to meet Mr Rat we have a few recommended items.
Torch (the electricity is intermittent),
Strong insect repelent (mosquitoes are persisent)
European adaptor
Yoga with the real life swammi is wonderful.

We finally found out what the rat was eating. My leather makeup case was chewed to bits and the rat had eaten the more fragrant part of my dirty underpants. Finding this out was the first time my husband felt sorry for the rat.

I did love the Yoga with Swammi G. A real life Yogi. And the cooking classes were great. But you don't have to stay in Bhakti to do these things.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico ,valle de bravo
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

It was the first ugly experience i had in india on my 4 month stay, actually stayed in an another hotel and just on a walk to the other end of the beach i found this place quite interesting and it fullfills your interest with their theme food like wheat grass juice Etc.this place comes with a back side door and a jungle experience and seriously and honestly it can be a jungle for most of the reptiles and some dog mating sessions at late night in front of my room and guys whom i suppose the staffs are watching at it and gesturing an an ugly look at you not a healthy environment for what you pay . i suggest any women traveller who would like to stay alone, please think twice.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bhakti Kutir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhakti Kutir

Address: Palolem Beach, Canacona 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > Canacona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Canacona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bhakti Kutir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhakti Kutir Canacona
Bhakti Kutir Hotel Canacona
Bhakti Kutir Goa/Canacona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bhakti Kutir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.