We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Fun :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camp San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Camp San Francisco to your Saves list
Camp San Francisco
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Palolem Beach, Canacona 403702, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Full of Fun :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Spend 4 nights there .. it was just fun , fun and fun ... amazing food and services.
Candle light dinner on the beach every night with roses on your table are USP.
Relax on beach after the dinner and safe environment is another key point of Palolam beach.
beach facing huts are good to spend your days here ...
need some more cleanliness in restroom though 
Joseph is a nice man .. he serves with smile ...

One thing bad for them is they do not provide enough mats and umbrellas to relax on beach in hot sun 

Would recommend beach facing huts to other people.

Room Tip: Beach facing huts ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    8
    1
    10
See reviews for
8
17
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have known Joe since 2002, this is the time when he had just started off with his shacks at Palolem beach, one of the oldest and was called San Francisco... Since then it's always been a pleasurable experience, a perfect stress reliever. A gracious host and a very close friend, Joe was never short of his promises to me when it came to delivering excellent hospitality. First a stranger and now a good mate, San Francisco has lived up to it's reputation every year... I love this place and that's where I LOVE to spend my vacations in Goa. Thanks Joe for being a good friend and and even better HOST. Cheers Mate...

Room Tip: Try booking a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in San Francisco beach huts last year in February on our trip to India. They are very basic, but generally clean and great value for money, plus, comparing to some other huts nearby, these had warm water which was a nice surprise:)
Food not so great there during the day but we ate around on Palolem Beach every night.
Generally worth recommendation and Palolem is magical:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Went there with my girlfriend for 2 night 3 days. It was my first visit to south goa and hence i was not very sure about where to put-up. Browsed the entire internet for the best beach facing stays and after quite a lot of hunt came up with this beautiful option - "Camp Sanfrancisco". We travelled in the scorching heat of May, hence AC room was a necessity and we chose the super deluxe beach facing cottages. Frankly, none of them had an AC,TV, Living room, Bed room, sitouts inside and on the porch a big bath with geyser and an awesomely comfortable sooper cozy bed with a quilt for a more than reasonable price (offseason benefit aswell). Trust me the rooms are amazing, bang on the beach and if you see my pic, where i clicked it while i was lying on the bed and see the waves rolling in; you sleep all night to the sound of waves and wakeup to comeout of your room and touch the soft cold sand barefeet. They have a candle light dinner system which is too romantic being a couple. Food is very nice, try the goan style prepared pomfret. Sagar is there to get you anything, he is a very nice fellow. and not to mention Joseph sees to it that you get that homely feeling during your stay. He has a brilliant sense of hospitality starting from answering your calls to receiving you while you arrive. last but not the least, the queen beach of palolem is there to give your that perfect sense of tranquility and away from your ho-hum lifestyle feel. I am very sure i will come back to this place again. Loved it absolutely !!

Room Tip: go for the super deluxe beach cottages and you would hate to checkout
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I went to Palolem Beach during Christmas and stayed here....I loved it and I never wanted to come back.There was so much hospitality...everything was well managed and organised.The night view ...open restaurant on the beach...what else u need to just relax under sky .
The beach huts are so good to have beautiful view of Palolem ...take a sun bath and be comfortable in your hut...just feel like home there...it's serenity....I just loved it...
I would definitely thank Joseph who really made our stay special and memorable...and all others who made us feel at home:-)

Must go here!!

Room Tip: Do stay on beach facing huts....u wud fall in love with Palolem...believe me:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The best beach in goa is Palolem beach nd the best part there was the Camp Sanfransisco Resort were I got homely comfort, saftey as well as best foods. The best thing was behavior of the associates, I m really impressed by their friendly attitude. I had the best time of my life in Palolem Beach. Thanx to the guys there who took real care and made our stay comfortable at Camp Sanfrancisco, just never realized that we were staying in a hotel! nd the most important guy there whom I ll always miss there is Tarzan. Lots of thanx and best wishes to Mr. Joseph, Sagar, Ajit nd all...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

To the uninitiated, coco huts are room made of ply wood and bamboos on the beach. These are makeshift accomodations which are dismantled in the monsoons and are built again in October. At Palolem, there could be around 20-25 coco huts and some standalone shacks (without accomodation).
Palolem is one of the best beaches in India. Even if it is not unexplored, I think it is definitely not busy by Indian standards. The beach respects people's privacy and pestering by hawkers is definitely not a problem here. It is white sand beach and very safe to swim due to low undercurrents and benign waves.
Please understand that almost all the accomodations on the beach would have basic standards. The main attraction is the location. I would choose a place which gives me the best room view and good service. Rest I think is similar. Food is not a problem as you can walk to nearby restaurants.
Coming to Camp San Fransisco (CSF) what I likes is the attitude of the owner - Joseph. He is a very cordial and helpful guy. I found that some of the other property owners had a very indifferent attitude. Ciaran's for example was not even ready to talk to us for booking (even though they had empty rooms). Joseph on the contrary was very forthcoming. He explained what our room would be like, the different classes of rooms he had and how we could arrive at his hut. He even helped us arrange transport and sight seeing. The guy sets up a barbeque on the beach in evening and cooks himself. Food is really good. As for the view, a lot of others don't have direct beach view from the rooms. CSF definitely has. Look at the pics.
Just one minor issue could be room cleanliness as we found rubbish on the floor and it was not cleared (and we did not complain as we were outside 90% of the time).
I would strongly recommend CSF. At Rs 9k for 3 nights for beach facing rooms, the rents are not cheap and you should expect good service. Skip the big names as they seem to have more than they can handle.

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms on top have better view. Deluxe beach facing rooms open on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camp San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp San Francisco

Address: Palolem Beach, Canacona 403702, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Canacona
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Canacona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camp San Francisco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Camp San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp San Francisco Goa/Canacona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.