We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa to your Saves list
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raj Baga, Canacona 403702, India (Formerly InterContinental the Lalit Goa Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Canacona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Goa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived into the lalit and upon checking in we were given an awful room in the under maintenance wing. This was howevrr the only negative in our entire weekend experience.

We approached the front desk and our room was changed also upgraded and the entire hotel was all apologies for the mistake on their part.

The food is absolutely fantastic and easily among the best that culinary goa has to offer.

The staff is extremely pleasant and attentive.

The restaurant staff needs a special mention for being open to every request.

I would however like to add a comment for the hotel management if they read this review.

Please ask your staff in the restaurant not to deter guests from ordering ala carte and try to push people into esting your buffet. We are regular visitors to the hotel and it is not very pleasing when one has to put up with "itll take to much time" or "cooks are busy".

The spa pool and all other facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Capt Amit

Namaskar

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the dining experience, our facilities and the hospitality offered by my team. It is our endeavor to create great experiences and we are truly appreciative of your kind words which motivate us to go that extra mile for our guests.

Your comments however with regards to the buffet being prioritized by the staff is duly noted and will assure the same is not repeated again,

We look forward to welcoming you once again to The Lalit Golf & Spa Resort Goa.

Warm Regards

Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    262
    98
    47
    39
See reviews for
271
211
21
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Maybe my opinion is that harsh because I stayed at The Lalit right after my stay at The Leela Goa. I don't think Lalit comes even close to Leela or for that matter any other 5 star property I have stayed at in Goa. The Service is pathetic, rooms are ordinary, food is terrible (but I am comparing with Leela).

What I liked about the property was its Location. It's away from the crowds yet close to Palolem Beach & the restaurants (Thank God for that). The property is Huge (85 acres) & has a Golf Course. They has a private Beach which is excellent & a huge Pool. But that's where all good things stop.

The biggest difference I felt while staying here (compared to Leela) was the attitude, training, efficiency & eagerness of Service. The staff is indifferent most of the times (especially at Restaurants). The hotel seems to cater to only Large Groups (Conferences, Weddings, etc) with the sole objective of cutting down costs wherever possible.

The Rooms are OK. The quality of amenities is also very ordinary. Though there's everything that one would need & should have in a 5 Star room. The issue lies in the details. I don't think anyone's paid attention to Quality of Toiletries, Furniture Placement, Location of the TV, etc etc...

It feels like a 5 Star Hotel in the 90s & needs to desperately match up to the levels of the Park Hyatt, Leela & Alila to command these rates.

Room Tip: Choose a Room with Pool Access on the Ground Floor or ones close to the Restaurants. The property is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Namaskar

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time and efforts to share your valuable feedback with us.

We are pleased to note that you liked the location , the beach and our pool.

Your comments with regards to our employee responsiveness and attitude especially at the restaurants has been noted and also that the in-room amenities fell short of your expectation.

We always endeavor to meet and indeed exceed our guests expectations, and please do accept my sincere apologies as we haven't been able to meet your expectations

I do hope that this unpleasant experience will not diminish your opinion of The Lalit Golf and Spa Resort Goa and hope to have an opportunity to regain your trust .

Should I be of any further assistance, please feel free to contact me directly.

Warm Regards

Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I visited Lalit in June 2012.A great Place to stay with an awesome property,Very Good Ambiance , idle for family stay and a Great service. Food was incomparable.I would give the credit for our great experience to Mr.Amar at the cafeteria , the chef who prepared excellent food, the font desk which was very cooperative.it is a huge property and very well maintained.I and my had aa very good experience as we have visited many five but never expected such hospitality.We would love to visit here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Mr Uppal,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Its good to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Lalit Golf and Spa Resort Goa.

Your comments regarding the hotel, facilities , employees and food are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort to provide you with the same unforgettable experience you have come to expect from us.

Warmest Regards,

Satya Roy Chowdhury

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

It was a "spur of the moment" decision for the 8 of us to visit Goa. On reaching there, we decided to put up at the Lalit Golf and Spa Resort. As we did not have prior bookings, we had to wait for a while for the staff to arrange for our accommodation. However, we were well taken care by the staff while we waited to be checked in (hot towels and welcome drinks were provided). We had booked 3 rooms, one of which was a luxury suite. The accommodations were spacious, well equipped and clean. The staff was very courteous, especially one Ms. Amrita, who took us on a trip around the entire property. The property is very beautiful with lush green golf course and pretty landscapes. The beach is also calm and clean.
The food was good with an array of dishes in the buffet. We also managed to use the spa for a couple of massages and services, which were also satisfactory.
I would also like to mention an incident where our camera was misplaced, but the staff promptly got on to it and found it, constantly being in touch with us and arranging to send it across to us in Bangalore.
All in all, its a great place to spend your holiday with family and friends, and I would definitely like to go back to Lalit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Its good to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Lalit Golf and Spa Resort Goa.

It is our endeavor to create great experiences and your appreciation is a great motivator for the entire team. Your comments regarding the hotel, facilities, employees and food are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort to provide you with the same unforgettable experience you have come to expect from us.

Warmest Regards,

Satya Roy Chowdhury

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was there for business conference in the month of August 2012, the service is very slow and the staff is not attentive at all. However the ambiance and interiors are very good and enjoyed them the most.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Mr Doshi ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Its good to hear that you liked the ambience and the interiors .

Your comments regarding the staff being slow and inattentive has been noted duly and addressed accordingly. Please accept my apologies for not able to meet your expectation.

We look forward to another opportunity to regain your trust.

Warmest Regards,

Satya Roy Chowdhury

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stopped here on our long drive to south India. This was during the Monsoon/off-season, so not many people at the hotel. The hotel is huge (255 suites), so it can get crowded during the season.
Check-in: The process was quick and easy. Although we didn't get the welcome drink, we were more eager to get to the room and settle down after a long drive.
Room: The room was huge with a balcony facing the pool and side view of the sea. The amenities in the room were apt for the 5 star hotel.
Property: Excellent, well maintained property around the hotel. We mostly used the pool that was very kid friendly.
Food: We only tried the main restaurant serving buffet for lunch and dinner. The food was ok. Not as great as some of the other 5 star chains (especially Taj). The dessert choices were good.
Beach: The beach was clean and almost private. Although, couldn't enjoy much due to rains, I am sure it would be quite enjoyable during other seasons.
The only bad thing (for losing 1 star): Being off season there was maintenance going on everywhere. It would have been better if they had done the repairs in areas of the hotel not offered to guests.
Overall I would definitely recommend this place - with or without family. It's a little away from the Panaji and the usual crowd, but that's what makes it more attractive.

Room Tip: No point in getting the sea facing rooms as the building is far away from the beach. Also get the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Namaskar!!

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Golf and Spa Resort Goa!!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Lalit, Goa.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed and had a memorable experience during your stay. We are glad to hear that you liked whole property and the services rendered by our team. We have shared your feedback and it is taken corrective actions. It is our endeavor to create great experiences and we are truly appreciative of your kind words.
We apologies for the dissatisfaction Business Centre and have taken up the matter into respective department to take the corrective action.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Goa.

Warm regards

Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The resort is way out of the normal goa that you see normally. If you need to travel out you will require your own transportation or the bikes for hire.. but why travel out when you have quite a lot to do in here itself.
Golfing here is a pleasure. we asked for a pro to teach us how to swing and loved every moment of it. the beach is absolutely private and very clean.. the service is excellent, the rooms are huge and very comfy. The Spa experience also was very neat and professional.
The Food could be better, but i had no complaints. The only complaint is the difficulty getting there. Luckily we were driving down from mumbai so were able to be self sustained. Calangute and baga and other such popular hangouts are at least 2 hrs away!.

All in all, for the price , this is a steal and i will go back , mainly for my golfing lessons.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satya Roy C, General Manager at The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Namaskar!!

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Lalit Golf and Spa Resort Goa!!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Lalit, Goa.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed and had a memorable experience during your stay. We are glad to hear that you liked whole property and the services rendered by our team. We have shared your feedback and it is taken corrective actions. It is our endeavor to create great experiences and we are truly appreciative of your kind words.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Goa.

Warm regards

Satya Roy Chowdhury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa

Address: Raj Baga, Canacona 403702, India (Formerly InterContinental the Lalit Goa Resort)
Location: India > Goa > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Canacona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Canacona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa - located near the Raj Baga beach, offering 255 suite rooms. Spread over 85 acres offers the real experience of Goan accommodation. Features include a Spa, Swimming Pool, Sports complex, 9 hole 36 par Golf course & fantastic restaurants. With seven banquet halls/meeting rooms, ideal for all types of corporate events, conference facility, meeting facility, weddings ceremonies and wedding receptions. Facilities also include a supervised kid’s area with a variety of activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Golf & Spa Resort Goa Hotel Canacona
The Lalit Golf And Spa Resort Goa
Intercontinental The Lalit Goa Hotel
Canacona Inter-Continental
Intercontinental Canacona
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa Canacona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.