We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turiya Villa and Spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canacona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turiya Villa and Spa
House no 16, Chaudi, Canacona 403702, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Canacona B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Holiday bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you are looking to get away from the clutter of every day and the chaos of the city, then I recommend a stay over at Turiya Villa. It's a beautiful old Portuguese Villa tucked in a cosy corner of the quaint Goan city, Canacona. The property has been renovated with care & precision by its owner Sandesh.

Unlike the overpopulated, noisy, bustling beach resorts around Goa,Turiya is like being ensconced in your favorite, cosy armchair! I am an introvert traveler constantly on the lookout for serene, quiet places where I don't have to bump into overenthusiastic waiters & help, noisy guests and loud music. This villa and spa seemed like it was designed specifically for me & travellers like me. The artistically done up patio is wrapped by sprawling Frangipani trees and leads to a small patch of lawn which is an ideal place to read, lounge or catch a nap. The caretakers are polite, sweet and also make for engaging conversationalists. The meals served were healthy, wholesome and delicious, all cooked by the every smiling cook Saritha. The bed room that I stayed in with high ceilings and giant windows was comfortable, well lit and clean. If you have an appetite for books, the place also stocks some interesting titles. The in-house star attraction however is the gentle mannered, super friendly Golden Retriever pup!

The place has character and charm, oodles of it! The people who work there are localites offering generous and the right advice & tips. Though it seems like a stylish, luxurious villa (which it is), at it's heart Turiya is a homestay filled with warmth & peace.

At about ten minutes from the Palolem beach, Turiya is an ideal place to stay if you are looking for a blissful, quiet, relaxed time in Goa. I strongly recommend you check it out!

Room Tip: The arm chairs in the front balcony are super comfortable if you want to grab a book to read and lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

we went on a weekend trip to turiya villa, the place is excellent if you want an authentic homestay experience. we had the entire villa to ourselves and were made to feel like we were comng back home.

The staff was very helpful - special thanks to Shrinivas, Tukkaram and Saritha who waited for us to come back at night, arranged for the bike and made sure our stay was worth it. The dog Mowgli was also great company.

we would love to come back sometime- if u are expecting a 5 star resort, look elsewhere; but if u want peace, quiet and a feeling of coming back home- this is ur best bet

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Points to note before you embark your journey to this home stay:
No Car parking
No air conditioning (AC)
No Television
No en suite bathroom (Attached toilet)
No power back up / generator.
No doubt it is an old Portuguese Villa as per the care takers information about this home stay, no body stays in this home except the guest, there are four rooms a big hall and a still bigger veranda converted to outdoor dining area. We do appreciate the trouble taken by the owners of this property to deck it up and make it look good but conservation of old buildings is an art back with right kind of technology else it ends up like Turiya, the reason for saying this is when you are opening this kind of properties for tourists basic functional aspects should be taken care of, else only those who don't mind such lacunae can stay there. The ceiling floor paint peels off and is quite often seen on the bed small things like this may deter the faint hearted and keep away from this place. They should also make sure that the dog doesn't roam everywhere in the home, which some may not like.
The Villa looks heritage with absolutely no functionality to stay. It looks more like a crude museum, with one operational washroom/toilet to service all rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

An impromptu road trip to welcome the rains in Goa led us to Turiya Villa, tucked away in the bylanes of Canacona in South Goa. Right from the interaction on the phone to check for room availability, to making sure we were well settled in, the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are very well done up and the one we stayed in (Rohini) was an absolute delight.Each artefact and curio has been carefully chosen and coordinated and one can easily make out a labor of love making it both beautiful and functional.

We spent two nights in the lovingly restored and well decorated house, sitting in the patio and watching the pouring rains and drinking many cups of hot tea served with a smile. Ate breakfast in house, lunch at the local bar in canacona and dinner in palolem, all within easy reach.

Discovered the laid back beaches of Rajbag, Galjibaga and Agonda and know for certain we will be back to re-experience this treasure of a place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Got a chance to stay here for only one night .... Would have loved to stay here longer.... A quaint place close yet away from the hustle bustle of the village that it is located in...
The staff is amazing and very helpful. Did not get an opportunity to eat there as the cook was away due to off season, but they were helpful to guide us to some nice restaurants and also asked if they could pick up food for us.
The rooms were nice and airy and very comfortable beds .... the look was just so pretty ... Stayed in the Rohini named room, even though we stayed there in may the rooms were pleasant....
The bathrooms 3 in number were unique in their own way. two with open air showers and one with a bath tub... Extremely clean even though they were open air....

Will recommend it ....

Room Tip: Rohini is the best room to stay in ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a break away from North Goa, and chose South Goa's Patnem, Galjibag, and Agonda. We chose Turiya because of it's location. Its in a little town, which at first seems crazy, noisy etc, but once you get to Turiya, you feel a million miles away from the hustle & bustle.
Turiya Villa, is for the 'discerning traveller' who know's better than straying in commercial hotels, overpriced beachfront accommodation etc etc. THIS IS TRULY A SPECIAL PLACE. The attentional to detail on the Interiors of this Beautiful Portuguese house is very rarely seen in Goa. Sandesh the owner has done a magnificent Job ! This is a laid back Homestay/Guest House, and staff are wonderful & do all to please.

One of the main advantages of this location, is Patnem 10 mins away, Pallolem 12 Mins, Galibag 15 MIns & Agonda 18 Mins. You can make the most of all four locations.

I would recommend this to everyone, except the Air-con addicts !!!

PS. Galjibag Beach ( Or Galjibaga ) is a little secret which is slowly getting out, go to the end of the long 'un-touched beach, if you want to see natural landscape that will blow you away.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms near the garden as you are directly onto the garden porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a experience which we'll remember for our lifetime. As summer started in Mumbai, me & my friends had some plans to make a memorable holiday. So we started Googling out & found this Turiyahotels.com The website had pretty photos & Tripadvisor reviews to helped. The place is must visit if you are going to South Goa. Delicious food, amazing service, warm staff & amazing spa. So what are you waiting for guys, plan out a trip to Goa!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turiya Villa and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turiya Villa and Spa

Address: House no 16, Chaudi, Canacona 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Canacona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turiya Villa and Spa, is spread out on 12,000 sq. ft. of landscaped area dotted with many trees including Sapodilla, Coconut, Mango, Avacodo, Frangipani and Bouganvilla. The built-up area of the 100-year-old mud-house is approximately 5,000 sq. ft. after the resurrection of the heritage property by famous architect Mr. Sandesh Prabhu. It has distinctive Portuguese style architecture. Our, five in all, themed and boutique-style rooms are all named after a different constellations from Vedic Astrology. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turiya Villa And Spa Goa/Canacona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turiya Villa and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Turiya Villa and Spa to your Saves list