We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuba Patnem

Save Saved
You added Cuba Patnem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cuba Patnem
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Patnem Beach, Canacona 403702, India   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“2 weeks of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It's taken me ages to get round to writing this, only spurred on by looking at photos of our holiday last November and wishing we could go again this year.

My boyfriend and I had full intention of travelling around Goa, we had two weeks and the idea was to stay in Patnem for 4 days and then head North. Well after 4 days we hadn't even left Patnem, the huts, the staff, the food, the beach and the beautiful sound of the lapping waves trapped us there for the whole fortnight. Mohan who runs the place is an absolute star, as are all of the staff...especially the chef! After trying most of the other restaurants on Patnem and a good few on Palolem too it was pretty obvious that nowhere was as good so for about the last 3 days and nights we ate at Cuba, the fish, curries, breakfasts and cocktails are just out of this world and I don't think I'll ever eat food this good again (until I go back!).

We had apartment number 4 (I think, 3rd on the right from the beach), and it was just what we needed, a nice big bed with mozzy net, proper bathroom, a fan above the bed and plenty of space. Realistically it's still a beach hut so we did encounter some of the local wildlife, but when you're practically living in a tree what can you expect! We didn't have A/C, which was our own choice but plenty of the huts did - we thought we'd tough it out, which we managed fine, if it got too hot we just swung about in the hammock on the verandah.

We slept fine, the only noise that could occasionally bother you is that of the birds outside and sometimes the dogs on the beach but that's the case wherever you are.

Breakfast was included in the price of our room so as long as we got to the table by 11 we could have a choice of a lovely menu full of omlettes, indian eggs (Eggs bhurji which I now make pretty much every weekend), breads, lassis and loads more.

Food is served pretty much all day and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Lunch/dinner/whenever was just delicious, if you like fish then you're pretty much in heaven - the tandoori red snapper was and remains the nicest thing I've ever eaten, the tiger prawns, crab, squid, lobster and kingfish are divine, and all caught that day. If you want lobster/crab etc just order the night before and it will appear the next night for you freshly caught adorned with delicious sauces, salads and accompaniments.

There are lovely beanbags, seatsm cushions and low tables at the front of the huts for relaxing and sun loungers on the beach so you really don't need to go far at all to enjoy a perfectly relaxing day on the beach. The sea on Patnem is lovely, just enough waves to have fun splashing about but nice enough for a good swim, but do beware of the current - I think the advice is the same all along the coast.

If you want to go on a day trip, which we did a couple of times, then the staff will arrange it for you, we went on a lovely day out to Dudhsagar Falls a beautiful waterfall in the jungle on the border with Karnataka and tied this in with a visit to a spice farm - hair raising as the driving is in India I had total confidence in our driver who looked after us all day.

So if you want to experience the full joys of travelling around India it's probably not a good idea to stay in Cuba huts because you won't be able to leave!

Room Tip: It does get pretty hot in the huts, if you like a cool room to come back to then spend a bit more on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at Cuba Patnem for four weeks in Januari 2013. Our plan was to move around in Goa, but after a few days with Mohan and his staff at Cuba, we decided to stay all our vacation there.

Bungalows at Cuba are simple, but with full comfort. Some have even AC. The view from the upper balcony, furnished with beanbags, over the beach is breathtaking at sunset.

The young Nepales staff manage rooms and restaurant with humour and a good knowledge of service. Food is exelent. There is in fact no need of visiting any other restaurant in Patnem. From the generous breakfast over different lunch dishes, for example their outstanding seafood soup, to all kind of catch-of-the-day fish and shellfish, we have never eaten better.

The beach is clean and very calm, next to private. Cuba provides free sunbeds and parasols. The garden was green and wellkept thanks to gardenmaster Kishna.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

If you want to relax, enjoy and pass the time with good food, the beach on yir doorstep and a fine meeting place - stay at Cuba. It's a perfect location on the beach close to very good restaurants and on the beach. The staff are so friendly, easy and accommodating. It's middle road accommodation, no frills but good for value comparatively.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had 6 nights here Dec 12 / Jan 13 and were extremely happy with the bungalows. The beds were comfie with the mossie nets over for peace of mind, ac in the rooms but not really needed - I'd probably go for a room with just a fan next time! The bathroom and shower areas in the bungalows were more than fine... Elec goes out from time to time in Goa so expect this wherever you are but it's not a problem - comes back within a few mins mostly.
The bar was great - we couldn't say enough about how friendly and helpful Mohan was, when we wanted bikes he organised them, when we wanted to go fishing, he organised that too.
The comp brekkie was nice - and the food at the bar during the day / in the evening was gorgeous too...
Free Wifi was a bonus.
Only drawback (and not Cuba's fault) was a bloody cockerel that the neighbours had bought recently that started at 04.30am - but we soon got used to him too (that was in room 108 which is near the car park, I'd ask for a bungalow nearer the beach next time so that we only heard the sea and not the animals.
But, that aside we were extremely happy with Cuba Goa and can definitely see a return visit in future!!!

Room Tip: Nearer the beach rather than the car park (but that was only because of a neighbours cockerel - I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Having explored almost all of the North Goa, we decided to get out of our comfort zone and head South this time. We were very clear that we had to stay in or around Palolem to truly explore South Goa. After much research, we keyed in on Cuba Patnem. We booked 3 rooms directly from their site for 4 nights in April end, which is pretty much end of season, so we got a great deal for the rooms (60 dollars including very basic breakfast & taxes). The resort is functional only from November till end April after which they pull down the porta cabins for the monsoons.
We were a group of 5 friends and the only occupants of the resort, which wore a deserted almost desolate look with bare minimum staff and stray dogs for company. (Tho am sure, during peak season this place will be running full and have a much better vibe!).
Location- Situated on the beautiful, peaceful ( and almost virgin) beach, Patnem is definitely one of Goa's best kept secrets. The resort has full access to the beach with no other major resorts for at least 100-150 mts either side, giving you the kind of beach holiday that is almost non existent in Goa. Palolem Beach is a 5-7min bike ride away, the hotel arranges for a rickshaw (tuktuk) within 10 mins if you dont have your own bike/car. Palolem is the hub of all action, water sports and nightlife. So through the day you can have a peaceful day on the beach and head out to Palolem for an evening out. Patnem is an hr's drive from railway station and about 1.5 hr drive from airport.
Rooms- Built in an independent cottage style, each cottage is self contained with an ensuite bathroom, a private sit out with chairs and hammocks and a lovely top deck above the room with full view of the ocean. Be warned, the rooms are porta cabins so its not of the highest quality. The beds are basic with basic furniture so dont expect luxurious interiors. The bathroom and toilet are also basic though with continuous water (hot & cold). The biggest advantage this place has over multiple options across palolem and patnem- the rooms are air conditioned! This was a must for us in a hot sultry climate that Goa is so infamous for. The afternoons can get very hot in April May, October & November. Also the AC is heaven sent when you want a peaceful night after a hot day out in the sun & sea. We had the Yellow Cabin (the best in the resort) with the full ocean and beach view. This is definitely the best room in the resort, perfect for couples looking for a romantic stay.
Service- Not much to talk about, service is very basic and functional. Mohan, our caretaker was polite, discreet and non intrusive. The food is not good at all so plan all your meals outside. We had breakfast in the most beautiful little cafe called 'Home' right next door. Best breakfast in the world (check review in 'Restaurants in Goa'). As for transport, Mohan helped book a bike/car/tuk tuk for us as and when we needed it. service was prompt and we cant really find any faults with the friendly staff at Cuba. The main reception /booking staff sit in an office somewhere else in Patnem but we never really needed them since Mohan had our booking details and took care of pretty much everything.
Lastly, reading the review, please don't be misguided into thinking this is a luxurious premium resort. The rooms are very basic, the cottages not permanent structures, the surroundings (landscape) is a little wild and unkempt and the food is completely avoidable. But if you are looking for comfortable ac rooms with a great view, located on a virgin clean beach and friendly service, away from the maddening Goa crowd, look no further.
All in all, we had a great experience at Cuba Patnem. We were lucky to get good rates and the best rooms in the resort. Book in advance if you want the Yellow Cottage!

Room Tip: Pick the Yellow cottage facing the beach. The view is to die for and the privacy is unmatched. Nothi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is a review of the Cuba Apartments (and not the Cuba beach huts). These apartments are described as a luxurious alternative to staying in a beach hut. The on-line ad says that they are near the beach, that cleaning and laundry services are provided, that there is an in room safe and a garden.
The reality is that the apartments are a 13 minute walk to the beach (along the main road) with all the cows and stray dogs...the walk feels very unsafe at night and would be totally impractical for a single woman or children. There is a tut tut service from the beach for 60 rupees but as there is no tut tut or taxi service outside the apartments this does not help when you want to leave in the morning or go out in the evening.
The apartments are next to two building sites, one at the rear and one at the side. The in room safe is a drawer in the wardrobe but the key has been lost i.e. there is no in room safe so you have the choice of leaving your valuables in the apartment (who else has the key?) or taking them to the beach. The garden is a patch of grass next to the main road and there is no way that anyone would want to sit there. The toiletries are a one inch bar of soap. The cleaner didn't visit for a week and it was only after a lot of complaining that I managed to get room service...BTW I saw the cleaner wipe down the kitchen with my very used bath towel! There was no evidence of any laundry services. The bed has a very thin mattress. And the images must have been taken with a wide angled lens as the apartment is in fact very small and the bathroom is un-renovated.
The good aspects of the Cuba Apartments are that there is a mega efficient and pleasant security guard on the gate and this is very reassuring. The walls have been freshly painted and there is a marble floor. The air conditioning in the bedroom works well and the shower is hot (bring a plug for the wash basin).
Due to the out of town location the room rates of £38-51pn are far too high. My friends were staying in beach huts and the Sea view hotel for rates between £8-25pn and these are much nearer to the beach.
These apartments are ideal of r long stays at a much reduced rent where the renter also hires a scooter/motorbike. In my view they are impractical for single women, disabled travellers or those with young children. It would also be advisable to be discerning about reviews for all Cuba properties as there was a leaflet in the apartment in which the manager appears to be incentivising good reviews by offering anyone who is prepared to "assist with reviews for marketing purposes" a good meal with a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We ended up in Patnem after a bad choice to go to Palolem. The huts are very colourful and more solid that Palolem and are right in the beach. Some have beach views and also some big roof terraces. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service from Bopinder and Mohan was really good. Smiling, friendly and attentive, other staff were also generally better here, than Palolem (bu still training, inc the manager). This made this place a really pleasant place to stay. For us this was the best beach in terms of atmosphere and enough things to do. Overall our time here was really lovely.


There is a lot of competition and I do advise that you just turn up outside of peak, take look around and find out about the prices. April 20 had good rooms at a good price, Home has only 8 rooms at a good price (I didn’t see the room, you prob have to book this one), but there are others. Turtle rooms looked like really cool basic huts but with really nice furnishings, but off the beach a bit. Our room was ok, but small things like considering a better partition for the toilet, rather than just a curtain and maybe some better lighting.

I thought we had managed to iron everything out in the end but I was disappointed by the fact that we ordered an early breakfast at 7am and it wasn’t ready, we suggested that they could make it in the evening so they wouldn’t have to ask anyone to wake especially, but the manager insisted.
In the end I think I would stay there again, because that part of the beach is nice and the atmosphere was good

Room Tip: Picture, location reviews are confusing for the group of hotels. I am reviewing the beach huts on P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cuba Patnem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuba Patnem

Address: Patnem Beach, Canacona 403702, India
Location: India > Goa > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 74 Specialty lodging in Canacona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cuba Patnem 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen fabulous beach bungalows including 4 AC and 12 non AC with attached bath room stretch the limits of home-aesthetics with fascinating elegance and beauty that is best experienced than said. The lovely verandas offer a spectacular view of nature at its best. The Bar & Restaurant, sun beds and lawn complete the magic of a great place to stay. Welcome to Cuba Patnem. Make your pick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cuba Patnem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuba Patnem Goa/Canacona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuba Patnem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.