We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been better!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dwarka Eco Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canacona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dwarka Eco Beach Resort
Save
You added Dwarka Eco Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ambelim Beach, Mattimol | Cola Beach, Canacona 403524, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Pune
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It could have been better!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had travelled at the end of the season last year so some of the huts had been taken out.The huts were very comfortable and very clean.The food was not so great by goan standards.Its a very beautiful place just like something out of a book.The Lagoon was good to swim in but the sea was very rough in that area.As we had gone with 2 kids it was not a very good experience for us.For couples it would really be a great place to enjoy the sun and sea.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwarkagoa, Owner at Dwarka Eco Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi surabhi, Greetings from all of us at dwarka!
I am sorry that your stay wasnt as wonderful as you were expecting it to be...the sea is a bit rough to swim for most of us, Indians, but I as you agreed, the fresh water lagoon is perfect to swin specially with the kids..with regards to food, we keep it to basics as we dont have a refrigerator..but what we serve is surely fresh and whatever is available on that given day..actually our plus points are a great location, good cottages, fresh food and good caring staff..so I am amazed you didn thave such a good time..anyways, thanks for your review...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    14
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
69
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheddar Valley
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Dwarka is paradise found. 10 large eco huts built on a terraced coconut plantation. The huts are well spaced apart for plenty of privacy. Huge comfy beds, adequately equipped bathrooms and mesmerising views from all the huts. We stayed for a week and only left once to take a boat ride to go dolphin spotting, though they can also be viewed from the beachside bar. The beach is frequented by a handful of daily day trippers (and a few cows) but it's a small price to pay for being in paradise. The food was simple, tasty and plentiful. The outstanding staff are so accommodating, friendly and cheerful that we felt more welcome at Dwarka than anywhere else we've ever stayed. We really didn't want to leave and are already planning our return.

Room Tip: They are all great. Ours was further away from the beach on the upper level and provided some wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A friend and I recently travelled to Goa for a weekend whilst working in India. We were greeted by a warm reception and imediately offered a lovely breakfast by Clemente's wonderful staff. The huts are very clean and tidy, staying nice and cool in the evenings. I had the best nights sleep for a long time and didn't get attacked by mosquitoes once. The resort is incredible, located by a fresh water lagoon and the Arabian sea, it looks like something from a movie set! We had all meals included, everything was so tasty and very fresh, it was lovely. I had a massage every day, I cannot recommend them enough! I have never felt so relaxed! Clemente, his wife and their staff gave us a home from home, talking with us as if we were old friends, I cannot thank them enough for giving us a well needed, relaxing weekend. We'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I recently went on my first ever trip to India with one of my best friends and we had the good fortune to spend four nights at Dwarka on Cola beach in Goa.

I originally chose it because of its location; it is in the beautiful south of Goa and although relatively isolated it is very easy to get to busier beaches like Palolem and Agonda by boat. But we soon realised that we didn't want to go anywhere else!

Cola beach is comprised of three small shores, the one that the resort is set on is perfect, a strip of sand flanked by the Arabian sea on one side and a beautiful fresh water lagoon on the other, I have really never seen anything like it.

The place is stunning and beautifully calm, to make things even better the rooms are gorgeous, the food is lovely and cooked with care and the staff are some of the kindest people you could ever meet. We felt so at home and so well cared for, it really is somewhere we would both consider returning - please choose here if you are looking for somewhere in the south of Goa, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

A friend of mine and I visited Dwarka for the weekend. I was only worried that our expectations were too high but I had been worrying in vain. The place is peaceful and magical - beyond words. The staff are all nice, very kind and polite. The accomodation is clean and cosy and we were not bothered at all about the lack of hot water etc. No mosquitoes. Food was nice - fresh and simple. We felt literally as quests to Clemente - very much looked after in a nice and unobtrusive way. A big THANK YOU to him, his wife and all his staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place this is. The moment you walk down the hill after a hot and bumpy taxi ride you're struck by the beauty and tranquility of the palms, the birds, and the lagoon.

The huts are huge with lots of storage space in a lockable cupboard. There are great big beds with no mosquito nets - because there are NO MOSQUITOS. Complete heaven for someone who suffers at the mouths of the critters.

Each hut has its own terrace or veranda and its own hammock - perfect for lazing around.

Don't expect lots to do because there is nothing to do except sit and watch the plentiful wildlife, gaze at the water both in the lagoon and the sea and chat to whoever else happens to be staying there. Although I can recommend a massage - just that little bit extra help to get to a state of total relaxation.

The food is tasty and there's lots of it - and despite the fact that you're a captive audience the drinks are very reasonably priced.

If you want luxury 5 star accommodation with room service, air con, wifi and all the other trimmings then don't come. There is no hot water in the rooms - sometimes the lights don't work and you will need a torch. The paths are uneven and there are no handrails on the steps.

But if you want peace and tranquility and a chance to live with nature then come and experience the charms of Dwarka.

We'll certainly be back to see it again

Thanks to Clemente and the boys for looking after us so well.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Dwarka for 5 nights in January and it was a wonderful place to start our holiday in Goa! This is the place to go if you want to escape from the stress of life to a little haven of peace that feels very personal and off the main tourist trail.

The cottages are basic but tastefully done...nice and cool in the heat, very clean and cover all the necessities, including 24 hour electricity. Beautiful setting around the lagoon with views of the sea...we stayed in cottage "A" which meant a little walk to the beach and restaurant but it was more private and with a fantastic view. It is great that Clemente and Arlene have kept the number of cottages down even though there is room for more as it gives the resort a more exclusive and private feel.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was fresh and delicious - if you fancy any extras just ask...we had a coconut picked specially and extra chillies were happily provided.
Supper on the beach around a bonfire was fantastic & my favourite part of the stay - chatting to Clemente, Arlene & extended family with a few drinks, great food and in such beautiful surroundings! It feel like we were visiting with family rather than staying at a resort!
Do take a cardigan or jumper as it does get a bit chilly at night.

We were lucky enough to see dolphins, both from the beach and on a little excursion on a local fishing boat! Aside from that it is more a place to unwind and totally relax (you can have a massage which I believe are great although did not have one myself) rather than a place for excursions, parties or lots of activity!

I would definitely recommend Dwarka to anyone who wants to escape from it all!

Room Tip: We specifically chose cottage A which meant a little walk around to the restaurant & beach but g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dwarka Eco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwarka Eco Beach Resort

Address: Ambelim Beach, Mattimol | Cola Beach, Canacona 403524, India
Location: India > Goa > Canacona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Canacona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are a very exclusive 10 eco cottage property, having attached showers/toilets. we are spread over acres of land, providing lots of privacy, touching a virgin beach and a fresh water lagoon. If you want to completely cut off from this crazy world, and if you need a little nourishment for your soul.....you will love Dwarka!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dwarka Eco Beach Hotel Canacona
Dwarka Eco Beach Resort Goa/Canacona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dwarka Eco Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.