We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sea food!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Souza Lobo

Souza Lobo
Calangute Beach, Near Calangute Residency | Goa, Calangute 403516, India
0832-2281234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 274 Restaurants in Calangute
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing sea food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We just could not stop eating sea food....prepared really well. Could not taste the main course well, as sea food that was ordered as starter made us full...nevertheless...the blue berry cheese cake was amazing.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    387
    118
    46
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Found a fly in our food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We went to the restaurant since it's been much spoken about, with very high expectations. Unfortunately, there was a fly cooked in the naan. Had it fallen in the food after being placed on the table, we wouldn't blame them considering the weather . But but ... The fly was 'tandoored' with the naan. Obviously we complained and had to send the rest of the vegetable away since my appetite was dead. However, they charged for the vegetable in the bill even though it was returned almost full, by saying that there was no problem in it per se. Which was ridiculous since what would I eat it with. After asking us to wait for 20 minutes for the manger (which we agreed) the waiter returned and said that they would take the veg off the bill and only charge for the rest ( a fish starter, a fish and prawns main course, a mocktail and a cocktail). It could happen to any reatatrant in the monsoon and we understand, but measly compensation spoke volumes about the restaurant and the management. Will never ever suggest not revisit this place. There are others which are as good or even better .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mettupalayam, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“TRADITION STANDS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had some of the best BABY KING FISH, CRAB MASALA in the traditional go an style . And their in house desert CREPE SOUZA LOBO which was awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not much to expect”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Visited this place with family in June First week.

There is nothing gr8 about the place, Over priced for below average quality food.

The prawns curry we ordered was terrible hence moved on to another restaurant for the rest of the meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Good food, need better service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We prefer bringing food home rather than all of us going out, so while yesterday was another popular restaurant, today was our Souza Lobo's turn.
We ordered 2 plates of sweet and sour pork, 2 of garlic chicken, few pois (goan bread) and 2 mixed fried rice. After a wait of about 40 minutes which I feel is too long for off season, since I could see only 2 other tables occupied, our order was brought, only to realise that the bill was lesser than my estimate. On checking the bill again, we saw that instead of 2 plates of the gravies, we were brought only 1 of each. While mistakes do happen, if the waiter had to repeat the order, this could have been avoided. Maybe I have to make it a point to have the waiters repeat the orders in case they forget.

This may be a very rare incident, but otherwise this place is very famous and during tourist season, they put tables in the open air and they are also full. Dont miss this place if you are at Calangute Beach.
Most of the dishes are priced between rs 200 - 500 and the quantity is good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souza Lobo also viewed

 

Been to Souza Lobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souza Lobo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.