We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Fabulous Taste, Exceptionally Great Service!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Souza Lobo

Souza Lobo
Calangute Beach, Near Calangute Residency | Goa, Calangute 403516, India
0832-2281234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 274 Restaurants in Calangute
Price range: $1 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Fabulous Taste, Exceptionally Great Service!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Anyone visiting Goa should not miss out to eat at Souza Lobo, this is one of the finest restaurants of Goa. I had visited here with my family twice, once during the off season and for the second time during Christmas season, during both the time, this place was over crowded but we got exceptionally great service. Anything you order in Souza Lobo will not take more than 5 - 7 minutes to reach your table, whether it may be a starter, main course or be it the desert. The staff at Souza Lobo is very courteous and very friendly. The varieties of dishes that are available at this place are fab and each dish is worth trying once. This place has its own charm. I strongly recommend this place for both vegetarians as well as non vegetarians!!! Souza Lobo is an experience in itself !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    385
    118
    46
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“No second visit forthcoming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The walk to the restaurant along a dark, dirty path and then along the smelly beach threw me off immediately. It was hard to enjoy anything after that. The state of cleanliness overall even in the resto surroundings and interior left a lot to be desired. Maybe it was due to the influx of the New Year crowd but it dampened my appetite. If you do want to tick it off the box- like I wanted to- then order the Goan fish curry. It's thick, aromatic and tasty to have all to oneself.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Goan Food on the Beach in Calangute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was the only restaurant we visited twice in Goa. Located on the beach, it has tremendous food at very reasonable prices. It's a little hard to find. From the traffic circle, walk straight down towards the beach. Just immediately before you get to the beach there's an alley to the left (with a great geode shop). Go down the dark alley and Souza Lobo's at the end. There are two seating options - indoors with A/C and outside with a view of the Arabian Sea. The chicken biryani was outstanding as was the prawn curry rice and the chicken xacuti. I think you have to be a local to appreciate the sausage fried rice. The wait staff are great and they have a full bar (but steer clear of the Chardonnay). Had the ice cream twice with no ill effects. Best biryani in Calangute - Infantaria; best fried calamari - Redondas; but best overall - Souza Lobo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very good Goan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

we ate here on a recommendation from the guy who owned our hotel in Candolim. We took a taxi along to Calangute and walked down a bumpy beach track which was dark an uninviting, though once inside we were pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere was lovely, service was good and the view over the sea was beautiful.
I don't remember all that we ordered, though I do remember a chicken kadai and a pork vindaloo which were both excellent with a nice blend of spices. Bill was really reasonable and we wouldn't hesitate to eat here again should we return to Goa.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baga, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best goan food place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

When in doubt about goan food places, go to Suza lobo. In all likelyhood you would have to wait for a table in December but the food more than makes up for the hunger pangs. We ordered the masala fried prawns and licked the platter clean and then promptly ordered another plate of masala fried prawns. Its is the best dish and Suza lobo is the most apt place to consume it. The service is quick and the food never disappoints you.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souza Lobo also viewed

 

Been to Souza Lobo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Souza Lobo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.