We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santiago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santiago to your Saves list
Hotel Santiago
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cobrawaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Simply love Santiago & all it,s lovely staff From Raj the manager to the Philip the pool man / gardener ... This year was our 5th time at Santiago stayed at Sunvillage once Our son & daughter in law came with us this year & we have all booked for a month next year . The food at the hotel is really good but there are plenty of recomended places to eat The Kineman especially just a short walk away . Try Love shack on Baga beach the boys there are great .. Just lie back & watch the world go by ... & do your shopping at the same time .Any taxi man will take you to a number of beautiful beaches Vagator & Mandrim are well worth visiting .. don.t do the reps trips just ask any taxi you will get there for a fraction of the price !! Give Santiago a go !!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    69
    28
    16
    18
See reviews for
40
133
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SCOTLAND
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Was very wary about staying in India for the first time but all my worriies soon vanished. This hotel is basic plus but the staff are the very best. Very friendly and very helpful. A big thank you to Pitesh, Paul, Christopher, Ness and David who made our stay perfect. Great service and they all remember your name and your tipple. It has a chinese restaurant which is lovely. No complaints about the food but???? the snacks they serve are boring in afternoon. Lunch was great as was dinner. Visit there sister hotel Santa Rica the food here is great also.Nice change of scenery. Two weeks and no bad stomach ( except for trip to Delhi, would never go there again ). Perfect stay in Goa and I will be going back soon. Will defo be staying at Santiago.

Room Tip: Dont be afraid to haggle down everyone even taxis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

The accomodation is fairly basic with AC and TV in every room. good service is a positive. The reception staff are pleasant and cheerful and always helpful. thai rest. is good.briyani and tandoori can be tried at indian rest. but as in goa most of the time we were outside so didnt try much in there.

Room Tip: good if with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

The Santiago is a very odd place. My 1st allocated room was dark, dank and depressing so I requested a change. The 2nd one next door was bearable, but still took some getting used to. From those experiences I have to flatly dismiss the claims of cleanliness claimed by others, at least where my 2 rooms were concerned. The sheets on my bed were thankfully clean, but I'm afraid the rest of the dwelling was in dire need of a good face lift. This was a major irritation for me, simply because so very much could have been improved for so very little outlay - a simple lick of paint, a replacement for the mouldy shower curtain, freshen the place up a bit and for god's sake.The photos on this page are old promotional ones. My apologies for not having the foresight to take some of my own.
During my stay I heard of many new arrivals being unsatisfied with the general condition of their rooms and subsequently asking to be moved, a request the desk staff seemed always willing to accommodate if logistically viable.

Which brings me to the main plus point you have seen mentioned previously and often. THE STAFF. A fine bunch of lads and ladies who really do try their very best to make you feel at home. The restaurant food off the menu is pretty damn good too. Breakfast is buffet style - simple, but a perfectly good start for the day.
Hotel laundry service is not good at all. Best to arrange this yourself. Beaches are within walking distance to the hotel. A lot of tourists hire a moped to get around. Expect to pay between 200-300 rupees a day. Prices obviously can vary depending on season and hire place. If you intend to take the thing for longer than a week I would suggest trying to shave some more off the daily rate.

The hotel nightly entertainment was truly awful......really poo, as was much of what I saw outside too. Most cabaret evenings you were confronted by a lone 'entertainer' and his synthesizer, woefully pumping out the kind of hits that make you grind your teeth in agony whilst simultaneously contemplating how to dispatch yourself with the table cutlery. One night, the guy was having to read the lyrics off a song sheet because he didn't know the words to any of his repertoire, some of which including material from that traditianal Indian musical genius Shakin' Stevens. Another night we had a trio of African acrobats............welcome to the Twilight Zone. This particular episode was so deliciously bizarre it was actually almost enjoyable. Not one sign of any traditional Indian music or dance, which for me is totally unforgivable. A country historically so very rich in musical interpretation, but no, Hotel Santiago decides to give us an Indian version of Midge Ure meets Billy Ray Cyrus..............and yes I did have to endure not 1 but 2 separate renditions of Achy Breaky Heart, performed by different acts on different nights. Stab me repeatedly now - PLEASE!
There were times it felt like we were in a club on the Blackpool Golden Mile or the Costa Del Sol rather than Southern India. During daytime the is piped through the bar stereo and it varies hugely, but no local sounds. Any kind request to at least mix up the music a little prompts the equally polite response that if they do this people tend to complain. Why so? well, apparently because they don't understand the indigenous music..........hmm

Would I stay there again? In all honesty, no, not in a million years, but I have to recognise the fact there are reviews submitted here by those who enjoy themselves so much they return as regular guests., some of whom I met during my stay. From our conversations together I was able to better understand things from their point of view. For them the Santiago ticks most if not all boxes, for myself not. It's all simply down to preference and what you want from your holiday, as is the case with any individual choice.

Airport transfer. If you have to arrange transfer from the airport yourself DO NOT go to the so-called 'approved' prepaid taxi desk inside the Arrivals terminal. They are more expensive. Just walk outside the main exit, bear left and you will see another prepaid taxi desk showing you a clear list of all Goa destinations and prices for A/C and non A/C cars. They charge less. Granted, maybe just 100 rupees saving, but that is still a 100 there and back you can use elsewhere on a 'I love Goa T-Shirt' for your loved one, or a few beers. Transfer to Baga/Calangute at time of this post was 800 rupees (non A/C)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

This hotel is without a doubt a maximum of 1 1/2 stars at best and without its good staff, it would struggle to muster 1. The rooms are dirty and out dated. So many people we spoke to went to the supermarket and bought cleaning materials and disinfectant to clean their room. The 15 sunbeds (for 150+ people) are invariably taken by the same people every day as are the dinner tables. The sunbeds/tables/chairs are in a poor state of repair and even dangerous. People using them even thought it amusing to have reclining wicker chairs. The Russians pinching the cheese/bacon/rolls at breakfast to make their lunch is commonplace. This hotel is apparently full all season round yet the re-investment is not plainly visible. The hotel is revamping some rooms and when I asked to look at one I was told that we were in one. A large number of guests go to Hotel Santiago year on year. If you haven't been before be prepared to be left out of the cliques. Please do not expect anything from this hotel, but very, very basic amenities and good staff (though not all staff are good) . I would not consider returning to this hotel or Baga. The beach is good as are the beach shacks. The main drag through Baga is made dangerous by the cars, bikes etc and there are very, very few decent restaurants. I have been going to India for over 20 years and love the country. I first went to Baga 8 years ago. I am sorry to say that it has got worse compared to my original visit. Goa has many lovely places, but Baga is no longer on of them. Baga is not India, it is not even Goa, it is Skegness with sunshine.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011 via mobile

The room was very basic, bit dirty. Had to complain 5 nights running of A/C not working ! This was never fixed properly and is a MAJOR factor !
The Pool only has 15 sun beds ! And unless you are actually sad enough to want to get up at 0700!! On your holiday! Your not going to get near one !! The food was below average, we went AI but gave up in the end ! Dinner around the pool is another sore point! Desperate fight to get a table !! The Only real + is they have a few really good bar Staff , but that's not going to win my return trip !

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Hotel is basic, but staff and service first class. Hotel is clean and secure, pool is nice, food is as good as local restaurants. Also check out the onsite tailor and dressmaker for fantastic handmade suits, bags and dresses.

We have stayed here three years running and will do so again next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santiago

Address: Cobrawaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Santiago 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the pulsating stretch of the Baga main road, one is transported to the palm-treed sanctuary of Santiago. Its cozy charm and superb location are a large part of its enduring appeal. Each air-conditioned room has a twin/double bed, a wardrobe and an en-suite bathroom. Other amenities include a tea/coffee maker, fridge, telephone with intercom facility and satellite T.V. There is a separate living room and an attached balcony. "Bamboo Bistro" by the poolside offers varied snacks, mini meals and beverages through the day. At night "Las Masalas" serves an intriguing combination of Spanish, Continental, Mediterranean and Indian dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santiago Hotel Calangute
Hotel Santiago Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santiago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.